We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just the ticket”
Review of Tuxedo House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuxedo House B&B
Ranked #6 of 57 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 9 August 2013

This B&B is situated 20 mins walk from calgary city centre but if you dont wish to walk at the end of the road is the bus straight into town. our room and the house in general is over the top english decorrated with tea sets, english furniture and embroidered linnen but this makes it fantastic! Glen is the host and feeds you well, gives travel advice and assistance and has a charm which is driven by honest pasion, not just the room fee. Couldnt fault.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank charlie y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (100)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 46 of 100 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2013

Me and my husband stayed in Tuxedo B&B during June 2013. Our first impression was that we had found a lovely B&B with a wonderful host. Our last impression was even better, since we had already experienced Glen Grey's amazing hospitality and his delicious homemade breakfast (different every day for variety). Glen has a wonderful home that chooses to share with his guests, very beautiful, very well maintained and very clean,with a beautiful garden in the back, that one would be lucky to be there on a sunny day and be able to enjoy it! The pictures of Tuxedo B&B displayed are definitely not giving it the credit it deserves. It is even more beautiful up close. The rooms are very clean, with lots of space. The rooms are located on the first floor of the house, where there is also a very cozy small living room and a small kitchen with coffee and tea makers for the guests to use. We never had to use them though, because when we went downstairs to have breakfast in the dining room, everything was ready on time and the coffee was freshly brewed! As far as other amenities are concerned, there is parking space for the guests, though we never used it, as we were using public means of transportation; there are many bus stops one block away from the B&B so the communication was excellent. All in all, me and my husband would definitely recommend this B&B. We could definitely say that, for our taste, it is even better than a hotel! P.S. The bathroom is shared, but there is a washbasin in every room if you want to wash your hands, face or teeth etc. Normally that would bother me, because I don't like sharing my bathroom with others, but it was so clean and well maintained that I didn't even think twice to use it!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mika-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2013

I stayed in Tuxedo House with Glen Grey as our host in 2013. The house was clean, welcoming and cosy, you felt comfortable very quickly. Glen was the perfect host; attentive to your needs, knowledgable on the Calgary area and is a lovely man with a lot of charm and character. Not to mention his beautiful four-legged sidekick, Missy - who stole my heart <3
I would not hesitate to stay at the Tuxedo House again and whole-heartedly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeA55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2013

A lovely stay at Tuxedo House and a charming host to match, Glen. A very well kept home, clean and comfortable. The rooms were spacious and decorated nicely to make you feel right at home.
Glen was very accommodating to assist with tourist & restaurant recommendations.
We stayed during the Calgary Stampede & I would definitely recommend this B&B which offers a very reasonable rate. Oh and the breakfast each morning was lovely also.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Edwina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2013

What a treat it was to stay at the Tuxedo House B&B in Calgary. Glen was such a fantastic host, from greeting us at the door when we arrived to leaving a message on our phone to wish me a happy birthday, which he knew was the day after we left the b&b. Glen's home is comfortable and immaculate and the breakfast with homemade jams (some from fruit from his garden) was wonderful. I'm gluten intolerant and he happily accommodated this.
Although the contact doesn't seem to currently be on trip advisor, it is easy to find the website by googling the name.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 4ontheroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

This is a FANTASTIC bed and breakfast! The decor is warm and comfortable, the garden is stunning, the host (Glen) was a perfect gentleman, everywhere is kept immaculately clean, the breakfast was delicious, and the property is located close to many great restaurants (within walking distance). I honestly don't think that the pictures of the place posted online do it justice. It's a very sweet place with great attention to detail everywhere you turn. We had packed many activities into our short holiday in Calgary (e.g. restaurants, movie, dinner theatre etc.) but both found that our favourite part of the trip was enjoying relaxing time spent on the balcony of this beautiful property enjoying the sights and sounds of nature on a gorgeous summer morning. All of the 'Excellent' reviews that this property has garnered are well deserved.
N.B. It's easy to access from downtown. It's basically a drive down Centre Street. People can take the No. 3 Sandstone bus down Centre Street if they'd prefer to save themself a car rental.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CanadianCruiseGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Tuxedo House. It's a lovely bed and breakfast with great amenities and close to all attractions. Glen, our friendly host, cooked delicious breakfasts and provided helpful information about the attractions in and around Calgary. However, we were so sorry to hear that Missy, his beloved dog, passed away, and we had read so many positive comments including what a terrific addition she was to the bed and breakfast. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TrippingRound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#23 of 110 in Calgary
2,390 reviews
Mission
Calgary Westways Guest House
Hillurst
River Wynde Executive Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Along River Ridge
Along River Ridge
#5 of 57 in Calgary
116 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxedo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxedo House B&B

Address: 121 21 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 57 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing