We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tuxedo House B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Calgary
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tuxedo House B&B
Ranked #6 of 52 Calgary B&B and Inns
Sydney, Canada
1 review
“Enjoyable stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

I travelled to Calgary for an interview & stayed at Tuxedo House for 6 nights. This B&B had everything we were looking for- emaculately clean, cozy like home, proximity to downtown, very fair pricing, exceptional service by the host, delicious breakfast, and of course- charming dog, Molly :)
I would definitely recommend Tuxedo House!!!
Thanks Glen!
-Stacey

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank StaceyPettipas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    86
    5
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
44
6
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've been there with a friend on a long week end on June 2013. Glen, the host, is very friendly and welcoming. All of the rooms of the house are clean and neat. Excellent breakfast, every day different. Close to downtown (20 minutes walking). Good price. I'll definitely book there again if I'll get back to Calgary.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Simone P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 December 2013

My sister and I stayed at Tuxedo House in Calgary for five nights, as we were attending a family funeral.
Our host, Glen Grey was so hospitable and helpful and he was a font of information about Calgary, its transport, facilities, places to eat in the evening and shops. Nothing was too much effort; if he could do something for you, he would willingly.
The breakfasts were healthy, hot and tasty, with all the tea or coffee you could drink. As previous reviewers have said, he makes homemade jam with a fruit, which we had never heard of called saskatoon berry, very tasty. We never had the same breakfast twice.
We stayed in the twin bedroom, Balmoral. It was wonderfully decorated in lemon and blue with Laura Ashley bed linen. The beds were comfortable and even though at times at night the temperature dropped to minus 20, the duvets and throws kept us warm and toasty. The double bedrooms were equally well decorated and have been developed with much thought and care.
Clean towels were provided and so were lovely soft bathrobes. The bathroom is shared with other guests, but as Glen keeps it so clean, it is fine. The whole house was spotless.
The location could not be better. It's very close (2 mins) to Centre Street, which has a regular bus service to Down Town Calgary or out to the suburbs. Even though it's close to a main road, the house is located in a side street, so it was very quiet at night. Our room was at the front of the house, but we were not disturbed at all.
I would recommend Tuxedo House to anyone looking for a good value for money accommodation. We paid $450 for our 5 night stay. Anyone staying here will not be disappointed. Plus Glen's Australian Shepherd dog, Molly, is so welcoming and will charm anyone.

Julie C and Donna D

Room Tip: There was small area on the first floor landing with tea and coffee facilities and a comfy sofa. Als...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

Just a friend and myself staying for 2 days, but it was a fantastic stay. Glen was a wonderful host, very approachable and fantastic to talk to. He prepared breakfast bright and early both days and ensured we were comfortable. He even had recommendations on local eateries and attractions. The rooms and washroom were immaculately clean had have a uniquely homely charm about them. Transport was very close by. Either a 30min walk to the city or a 5min walk to the local bus stop on 16th ave. We have nothing to complain about this place. You will love the house, the hospitality and Molly the dog

Room Tip: There are 2 rooms with large queen beds and a single room with twin beds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Albert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Altrincham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Tuxedo house is a very well kept B&B. Glen is the perfect host and made us feel very welcome. The rooms are all very pretty and comfortable. The bathroom is great with a big soaker tub. Glen makes a lovely and extensive breakfast with home made jam, fruit salad, egg and sausage. The B&B is far enough away from the road to be quiet but nice and close to the airport. To top off a perfect visit, we got to meet Molly, the famous puppy- what a cutie!

Room Tip: They all look good- we had the twin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JodyPilkington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bonaire
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2013

We have stayed at many B & Bs but this one has set the new standard. Glen is the perfect host. He was more than willing to tell us about the many sites of Calgary and what to see on our way to the Canadian Rockies. The breakfasts and accomodations were exceptional. The location was ideal for going to the Calgary Stampede and downtown. We simply walked a few blocks to catch the bus, never did any driving once we got there. Obviously.....highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 50Chris49Steve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2013

I was in Calgary on a business trip and Glen was great at being just the perfect host. I showed up pretty late but he was up and waiting for me. He made sure I had everything I needed, made me breakfast earlier than normal, and then after his normal hours on my second day.I fell in love with his soft little puppy Molly, liked my delightful room with the chandelier and sink, and loved his jams and breakfast. I wish I could have stayed longer. Would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeeHCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tuxedo House B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tuxedo House B&B

Property: Tuxedo House B&B
Address: 121 21 Ave NE, Calgary, Alberta T2E 1S3, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 52 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Number of rooms: 4

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing