We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“History comes to life!”

The Military Museums
Ranked #10 of 302 things to do in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Military Museums. Discover the victories, tragedies, and sacrifices of the Canadian Forces. Experience life at the helm in a Second World War ship's wheelhouse, walk through a First World War trench, and witness a bomber squadron's mission over enemy territory. The Military Museums is dedicated to representing Canada's navy, army, and air force, and educating the public, particularly youth, about Canada's military. Admission: Adults $10, Seniors $5, Youth 7-17 $4, Family $20, Children 6 and under are free. Free admission for veterans and Canadian Forces personnel. Hours: Weekdays 9:00 AM to 5 PM, Weekends & Statutory Holidays 9:30 AM to 4 PM. Closed Christmas Day, Boxing Day and New Year's day. TMM is a Canadian Forces tri-service history, heritage, art, research, and educational institution. It is composed of the following organizations: * Naval Museum of Alberta * Army Museum of Alberta * Air Force Museum of Alberta * Lord Strathcona's Horse (Royal Canadians) Museum * Princess Patricia's Canadian Light Infantry Museum and Archives * The King's Own Calgary Regiment (Royal Canadian Armoured Corps) Museum * The Calgary Highlanders Regimental Museum and Archives * The University of Calgary Military Museums Library and Archives. The Museum of the Regiments was officially opened by Her Majesty Queen Elizabeth II on 30 June 1990. The Queen Elizabeth II Atrium was dedicated to Her Majesty during the visit of Her Majesty and the Duke of Edinburgh on 25 May 2005. The Military Museums was renamed “The Military Museums” (TMM) by Her Royal Highness The Countess of Wessex during the visit of Her Royal Highness on 3 June 2006.TMM’s $18.5 million capital expansion and renovation has seen the facility grow from 52,000 sq ft to 104,000 sq ft, making it the second largest military museum in Canada. The expanded facility is now tri-service and includes the relocated Naval Museum of Alberta and the newly-created Air Force Museum of Alberta.TMM’s education programs are tied in with Alberta’s provincial education curriculum and have won both provincial and national awards of excellence.
Calgary, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“History comes to life!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

The history of war and the military might not be everyone's "thing"; but, in the immortal words of someone more famous than I (and smarter), I could be paraphrasing somewhat here: "If we don't understand out past, we're bound to repeat it!"

The Military Museums in Calgary have done a wonderful job of putting the history of Canada's military into an interesting and engaging way that draws you into their numerous displays. If you only have an hour or two, you can fly through it and get a real sense of what our military experience was during various wars. In two hours, you won't have time to read everything but you'll get a true sense of the history. If you more time, you could probably spend hours experiencing and reading everything on display in the museum.

Well worth a visit if you can. It's relatively easy to get to and there's lots of free parking. If weather is cooperative, there's some outdoor exhibits (tanks, planes, and other vehicles) too.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RDeanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    110
    15
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Excellent museums!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This is six museums combined into one - 4 army regimental, Air Force, and superb naval museum. Serving military, veterans and spouses get in free. There are some armoured vehicles and a rather tatty CF-5 outside. The naval section was great with lots of models and numerous gun mounts. The regimental museums are top notch filled with history and memorablia. An Army major was wandering through the Patricia Regiment Museum and we had quite the one-on-one discussion about arms and tactics (he just returned from Afghanistan). The Air Force museum was disappointing.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
“A MUST for travelers and locals”
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

This place is amazing! I am shocked that there were only a handful of visitors. Educational and humbling experience. I was suprised how big it was. Cost to get in was very reasonable (after we left a donation too). This is now by far the top place to visit when here! I used to say the zoo - but this is even better. Leaving there makes me proud to be a Canadian.

Helpful?
2 Thank Corimarnell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Family Fun!”
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The military museums seems like a bit of a dark horse for a family outing at first thought, but wow were we surprised! It's not just for remembrance day folks! Our kids really enjoyed seeing the planes and tanks (of course) but they learned a lot too. It was an affordable, engaging, and fun visit for all of us...with just one complaint...there's no way to see everything in just one visit! We suggest getting a membership. It's a great rainy day (or too hot day) activity. Keep up the good work!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“military museum at its best”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

this museum is a wonderful exhibition of all things military - be sure to plan enough time to see everything

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BreKir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Military Museums also viewed

 

Been to The Military Museums? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing