We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sushi Lover's Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Li-Ao Sushi

Li-Ao Sushi
Ranked #122 of 3,512 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Sushi House is new to south Calgary and it is an incredible experience.
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sushi Lover's Dream”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This place is quitte simply awesome. Thé good is excellent and well priced. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoquester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ironing out a few kinks...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We've eaten in and have done take away at Li Ao. Both times our order was misunderstood. Fortunately, the staff at Li Ao are eager to right a wrong and compensated us appropriately in a friendly and professional manner. (They even drove far from their location to drop off a missed item from our order).

The food itself is fine-- we recognize many of the chefs from Kinjo, so the quality is pretty much maintained, as was the menu. The cost seems a bit lower.

In summary, good sushi and service that is trying hard, but still working on ironing out the kinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Biggest and bestest :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2013

What a wonderful place! Staff is on it. They have fun together and are very interested in making your visit great. Now for the food...the pieces are HUGE. The biggest I have found in the city. And super fresh to boot! We ordered way too much food, expecting the usual portions. My salad for $2.65 was full sized and delicious. Miso soup FULL of all the fixin's for $1.65. Giant sushi and sashimi pieces $1.65-$2.00. Definitely won't waste our time anywhere else in the near future! Thank you!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank CostaRicacrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
103 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Perhaps the Best Sushi in Calgary”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 May 2013

I visited this restaurant the first day it opened and keep coming back. They have now expanded the place, and it is more than double the size to accommodate the customer flow. And now wonder!! The sushi here is great, staff is friendly and Japanese green tea the best! I really enjoy their Miso Soup, it's made just right. The oysters are reasonably priced - $7.99 for 4, and are served with a tasty sauce. The house salad is the bomb - home made dressing is very good (somewhat sweet, and reminds me of 1000 Islands), ingredients include avocado, strawberries, arugula and other greens. Hot rolls are very good as well.
Basically, try anything on the menu and you'll most likely love it!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kotbar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great food, great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2013

Very well done, good food presented well, great service. Only thing that could be better is lighting to much daylight from front windows, gives it a cafeteria feel, even with the modern Asian decor

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Li-Ao Sushi also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Li-Ao Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing