We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Li-Ao Sushi

Li-Ao Sushi
Ranked #122 of 3,512 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: This Sushi House is new to south Calgary and it is an incredible experience.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great food and service”
Reviewed 15 November 2013 via mobile

The staff at Li-Ao are always amazing and friendly. Henry is amazing with our daughter too! The food here is great, and they have a good selection of sushi. When we lived in the area, we would visit at least once a week. We were HOOKED! Now that we live further away, we are unable to visit as much, however, we still try to make it there at least once a month as the food is great!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gemz1013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    13
    3
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Li-Ao Sushi-Average Sushi, Great Service”
Reviewed 26 September 2013

This restaurant is definitely not the most traditional sushi house, though for a westernized version it is one of the best. All of the servers are wearing kimonos and the décor shouts out Japan and sushi. The sushi is delicious, and if you are not big on sushi the other menu items such as teriyaki beef, asparagus tempura, etc.
The severs are very energetic and the service is extremely quick.
Overall, I recommend this for a cheap sushi outing.
And for families with children, a very friendly server offers Pocky's to kids.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Matthew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Sushi Deep in the SW of Calgary”
Reviewed 18 August 2013

Hubby and I were in Calgary and looking for sushi for supper. Li-Ao got a high rating on another rating site, so despite the 20 minute drive from downtown, pointed the car to the deep SW to the Shoppes at Bridlewood with Li-Ao Sushi in the middle of it all.

First impressions: The welcome was traditionally warm, the floor under our booth had artifacts from previous diners, and it was freezing from the air conditioning.

We enjoyed the complimentary deep fried wonton with salmon to start with. Our first round of food was dragon and BC rolls. The dragon roll was okay, the BC roll a bit chewy.

Next up we ordered tuna, mackerel, and unagi sushi, as well as a round of gyoza and assorted vegetable tempura. We were really impressed with the freshness of the sushi. The tempura veggies were yummy with a light crispy batter. The gyoza was alright, but not our favourite.

The place is noisy and family friendly. The booths are comfortable for large and small. Would not recommend this for intimate dining, but for a quick sushi fix, it would be the place to go.

Staff were super friendly, and the evening ended with a splendid flourish complete with gift. That's when the penny dropped and we figure how they get such good ratings. We left feeling great, and pleased with our visit. We wish Li-Ao Sushi every success.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cathy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Sushi Lover's Dream”
Reviewed 11 July 2013 via mobile

This place is quitte simply awesome. Thé good is excellent and well priced. Definitely check it out.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hoquester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Ironing out a few kinks...”
Reviewed 17 June 2013

We've eaten in and have done take away at Li Ao. Both times our order was misunderstood. Fortunately, the staff at Li Ao are eager to right a wrong and compensated us appropriately in a friendly and professional manner. (They even drove far from their location to drop off a missed item from our order).

The food itself is fine-- we recognize many of the chefs from Kinjo, so the quality is pretty much maintained, as was the menu. The cost seems a bit lower.

In summary, good sushi and service that is trying hard, but still working on ironing out the kinks.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Li-Ao Sushi also viewed

 

Been to Li-Ao Sushi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing