We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Food, A culinary experience”
Review of Downtownfood - CLOSED

Downtownfood
Price range: US$30 - US$30
Cuisines: Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: 5th st SW
Transit: We are located very close to the LRT line on 7th ave, with a station at 5th St. Several buses stop on 5th St and 8th, including the #3 bus, which runs frequently, and the 300 bus that runs from the airport.
Description: Located on Stephen Ave's west end theatre district, this modern bistro on 8th is the home to some of the most innovative cuisine in Calgary. A forward thinking restaurant with an eye on sustainability, dtf proudly plays host to our great city's first fully integrated rooftop ecosystem the urbanagproject from which the restaurant sources its honey and over 40 different types of vegetables, herbs and fruits. More here #growfooddowntown As seasonal restaurant, dtf's menus changes regularly in order to explore, serve and showcase ingredients at their best. downtownfood makes everything in house and lovingly supports local, organic and small producers. This philosophy culminates in our "true Canadian cuisine." By utilizing Canada's ethnic heritage, we can apply those flavours to Canadian sourced produce. In this way, downtownfood aims to achieve true innovation harmony and fusion in our cuisine
Calgary
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, A culinary experience”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The food at Downtown Food is amazing and when ever possible their food is locally sourced and most veggies and herbs come from their roof top, eco-driven garden! They serve Canadian cuisine with ethnic flavours hat exist as part of our cultural mosaic. All the food is made in house but the chef's and they even have a pastry chef on staff. It's not rare to get a visit right at your table from Darren the owner and head chef.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank FunSunGoddess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    16
    1
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“best in Calgary”
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My husband and I are used to go at least once a month..
the food is delicious and the combination of flavors is always surprising and audacious.
the service is wonderful.
Last time we tried the sushi made with scallops..amazing!
this is not a bistro..this a fine dining restaurant and definitely unique in Calgary.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank valeventotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
“I stack every dining experience up against this one!!”
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Not much on the outside, go in, that's where all the magic happens! My boyfriend and I enjoyed dinner here right before Christmas with two other couples. It was incredible! They brought everything to our table in one go and presented it all once each course was served telling us about ingredients and how the food was prepared. I remember someone saying the wine list needed a little effort as they were (I think) all local wines and it's nice to have a wider worldly selection. This was a non-issue for me however. This restaurant puts a lot of care into their food, they have a beehive on the roof and harvest their own honey, they cure their meats. They have a garden. It's a wonderful experience and we will go back (hopefully many times).

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Marlian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
730 reviews
421 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 264 helpful votes
“Very good but ......”
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Ate here with a large group, service was friendly and attentive but drinks painfully slow to arrive. Appetizers (duck) was very tasty, other choice was very small, bread didn't arrive until after appies. Main course pork chop was very nice but ordered it because it was cooked sous vide so really expected it to be fall apart but it was normal texture and if anything a little tough. Tiramasu was exceptional so all in all a good meal but just not as good as it could have been

Rob

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OmanRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Something different in Calgary!”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Food is great... a combination of Mediterranean and Asian taste.
The service is very careful and servers are very kind.
The restaurant is fancy and modern.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank valeventotto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Downtownfood also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing