We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hands Down The Best in Calgary”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Hands Down The Best in Calgary”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I have worked in the hospitality industry myself for years, and stayed at almost all the hotels in the downtown core of Calgary, from Le Germain to Hotel Arts to your regular Hyatt's and Westins.. and by far Hotel Elan has stood out far beyond the rest.

A quiet and well kept secret sitting just off the bustling 17th avenue, Hotel Elan was the hidden gem everyone should seek! From the moment you walk into the lobby the brightly colored artwork and the funky furniture and designs make you feel like you're not in little YYC anymore! The staff was so friendly and took the time to have a chat with me and my friends each morning and made sure we had absolutely everything we could possibly need to enjoy our stay. The heated toilet seats, comfortable beds, and incredibly sound proof rooms really stood out, we honestly couldn't hear a THING and our room was right by the elevator and facing the busy 17th ave.

The breakfast was delicious and had tonnes to choose from, all complimentary as well as the secured underground parking. The hotel really blew us away for being a luxury place, it didn't cross the line of being pretentious and truly made all of us feel welcome and at home. Thanks for everything Hotel Elan, we will all be spreading the word about this awesome property!

Room Tip: Just don't forget to turn on the heated toilet seat... what a treat when you have to go in the m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MelGerry12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 9 October 2013
Thank you so much for your detailed and flattering review on your comparison of Hotel Elan with other hotels in the Calgary downtown core. Every review is so important to us. To receive such a positive response from someone who is so knowledgeable on the whole market like you and receive your comments is very much a compliment to our entire team. As you say we are here to welcome you and assure your stay is one of comfort yet allowing our guests the space they deserve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    457
    120
    25
    2
    4
See reviews for
102
247
22
161
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013 via mobile

Very clean and modern. Four women stayed and we couldn't decide what the best part of the stay was.. The heated toilet seats won first.. Then the amazing ambiance in the tub was loved by all... The shower was wonderful and lots of room and must say the heated floor was a pleasant surprise. The kitchen supplied anything we needed right down to salt and pepper shakers.. The beds were so comfy after a long day of exploring the downtown core...the views of the city from the balcony were absolutely stunning it was so quiet was hard to believe we were in the city ... The staff was so friendly and efficient we will definitely be spreading the word to all our friends and family ... Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CMcColl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 7 October 2013
I can hear the excitement in your voice through your review! All of us at Hotel Elan are so pleased to hear that your stay was so enjoyable. After a long well deserved day of shopping there is nothing like the spa feeling of our Chromotherapy tub and heated bathroom floors in our two bedroom suites . We look forward to your next shopping visit to Calgary. Thanks again for choosing Hotel Elan. Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming, United States
Level Contributor
66 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2013

This hotel is a little out of the way but WELL worth it. The price is fair and the décor top. The staff was great (special nod to Lewis in the breakfast area). We didn't get in till 230 am (trouble with my tow truck log books) but no problems checking in. After a long day my wife and I were exhausted, then went to the room.......WOW.....she was oooohhhing and aaahhhing all over the place......from the pillows that were labeled firm and soft.to the dual shower heads( one like rain) to the all light controls all over the place, heated/lit toilet seat.....and on and on.....great breakfast of cheeses eggs sausages fruit grains very good coffee...and more........cant say enough about the place except WELL DONE Hotel Elan staff..........

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greggory F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Great to hear how we were able to assist you at the end of a long and challenging day. We work very hard to make sure that our guests can feel at home from time at check in to that of departure. The busy schedules of our guests leaves little down time but we make every effort to ensure an enjoyable nights rest for all. Safe travels to you both and we hope to see you again if your business brings you back through Calgary. We will be watching for that colorful tow truck on it's next trip north!
Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gillette, Wyoming
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great stay at Hotel Elan! The hotel is very modern and clean. The bed was extremely comfortable with very nice pillows. The breakfast had many options and the coffee was outstanding. The front desk was very polite and very helpful. I highly recommend Hotel Elan, great value for all the ammenties you get and the smiles from the staff.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jamie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 1 October 2013
Our team at Hotel Elan enjoys what we do! This is shown in the smiles of our welcoming staff through out the hotel. One of the great rewards is meeting guests such as yourself who repays our smiles with their smiles! Thank you for choosing Hotel Elan and we will have a fresh cup of coffee ready for you when you return next time!
Lewis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 September 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Elan for the first time this past weekend. We were very impressed with everything! From check-in with Braden and Joe to the free continental breakfast the next morning everything was top notch. Our stay included free underground parking which was great. We found that because the location was so good we were able to walk everywhere we wanted to go while our car stayed secure in the parkade. The televisions in our first room did not work so Braden quickly upgraded us to new room. The view of 17th ave and the sunset was great from our balcony as we shared a glass of wine. The room finishing a were very high end. The beds were very comfortable and the linens were very luxurious. The tub and shower were the nicest we've experienced in any hotel. My husband is a techie and really appreciated the z-wave technology used in all the lighting and the usb ports for charging out devises. I appreciated the Philosophy brand toiletries. The kitchen area was well thought out and would be useful for meetings or to prepare a meal in. I really did not want to leave. We'll be back!
Alice & Derek

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scoobycat6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
I want to thank you Alice for taking the time to submit your review. Our team focuses on the details of making sure all of our guests have the enjoyable stay they deserve. On occasion challenges like a unwilling TV to work will occur(new cable box fixed the problem) It is how we handle those challenges successfully that matter. Thanks again for recognizing Braden for his efforts in making sure your stay was an enjoyable one. We look forward to your next visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami, Florida
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Having never been to Calgary before, I had no idea where to stay so was basing my decision on blind research and location. Man was I ever right on the money with this choice....starting with the perfect location 1 block off of 17th Ave. SW in the heart of the Mont Royal. This neighborhood is very hip and trendy with tons of great shops and some of Calgary's best restaurants all within easy walking distance. The building itself is an older apartment building which has been beautifully reimagined as a funky, off-the beaten path boutique hotel complete with on site restaurant, concierge service and 24-hour doorman.

My partner and I were celebrating a very special occasion and man did Michelle and her front office team go above and beyond to create the ultimate guest experience for us. There were rose petals strewn about upon entry, chocolates and a handwritten note wishing us a great stay and offering her personal assistance should we need it. All of the suites amenities were top-notch including thick robes, amazingly comfortable beds and bed linens, upgraded bathroom amenities, heated bathroom floors and toilet seats......I could go on and on.

The whole team at Hotel Elan truly made my first trip to Calgary and our stay one to remember. If you are heading to the city for business, pleasure or special occasion, I cannot recommend this Hotel enough.....you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chad6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Chad thank you for choosing Hotel Elan for your special occasion. Our entire team was pleased that we could assist in making your stay in Calgary a memorable one! Please be sure to let us know when you are planning your next trip to our great city so we can welcome you back in our true Hotel Elan style!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#19 of 109 in Calgary
2,118 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#7 of 109 in Calgary
839 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#31 of 109 in Calgary
1,033 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Hotel Clique Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Property: Hotel Elan
Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TravelClick, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing