We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BEST HOTEL I HAVE EVER STAYED IN !”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 February 2014

What an amazing hotel !! No point staying anywhere else in Calgary as you will never have a better experience than at hotel Elan. As you walk in, friendly staff greet you and you are made to feel welcome in a beautiful relaxing lobby area. The hotel is spotless and the amount of detail that has gone into this hotel is mind blowing. We stayed in the Serenity 2 bedroom suite, it exceeded all expectations we had. The rooms are so clean you could eat off the floor and they are beautifully decorated making you feel like you are actually at a beach front resort in Mexico. The bed is super comfortable and you even have the choice between soft and firm pillows! The hotel is perfect for couples, families and business trips as Hotel Elan have thought out every detail to ensure they can cater to all needs. Do yourself a favour and stay at this hotel, you will never stay anywhere else!!

Room Tip: Serenity 2 Bedroom suite was a beautiful room with a beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucyd1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Good Morning Lucy,

What a great way to start my day by reading your review! So glad to see that our many hours of planning, careful choice of materials and attention to detail have come together to make Hotel Elan the delightful experience you received. The other part of our success as you pointed out is our incredible team who all take pride from welcoming our guests and maintaining our hotel in the spotless condition which is our property standard. Since you stayed in one of our Serenity Suites I am sure you enjoyed our Chromotherapy Tub with 8 different light selections. What was your favorite color? Safe travels home Lucy and thanks for choosing Hotel Elan while visiting Calgary.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (729)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

683 - 689 of 729 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2014

Very nice stay, loved the heated toilet seat and heated tile floor in the bathroom. Great excerise room, it is spacious and well equipped. Also, I really appreciated the two data ports and two plug ins right by the bed side table. Plus you can be in bed and turn off all the lights with one switch, great Idea. The bed is very comfortable and had very nice linens. I like modern decor, the heated secure parking and the location. The breakfast (included) is very good and there is something for everyone and enjoyed in a nice bright modern room. There is a wide variety of cereal, fruit, boiled eggs, cheeses, pastries, juices, yogurt, make you own toast, bacon, sausage and hash browns. The only improvement would be the scrambled eggs they were a bit cold and tasted very premade and salty.
Definitely will stay again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sandy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2014

Thanks Sandy for your excellent review. The Orchid room is one of our fine features that we take pride in offering to our guests. The bright, open and modern room welcomes all of our in house guests to our daily complimentary breakfast. As you menitoned there is a wide variety of menu choices to our complimentary expanded continential breakfast. We are constantly looking into how we can improve and will certianly look into your comments on the scrambled eggs. Very pleased to hear that the list of inroom guest amenities such as the linens, heated bathroom floors, heated toilet, heated secure underground parking and easy access data ports on the night stands (one of my favorites) were all details that made your stay so enjoyable at Hotel Elan! We look forward to your next vist at Hotel Elan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

This new gem in Calgary is a fantastic hotel. The location is great, very short walking distance to 17th Ave and many trendy restaurants as well other amenities. I really liked the secure underground parking as well the decor is modern, bright and very clean. There is a little restaurant on the main floor where they offer a first class breakfast buffet with some hot items. The gym is first class with top of the line equipment . The rooms are amazing with a lot of thought put into every aspect, super comfortable beds and pillows which offer choices of soft to firm. I must say the most enjoyable thing was the heated and lit toilet seats :) The shower was wonderful as well. We only stayed one night in a 1 bedroom suite which had a lovely balcony however I could have easily stayed longer. Friendly staff that really made our stay enjoyable as well. I've stayed at a lot of hotels during my 30 plus years involved in travel and I would have to say this is a new favourite. First Class hotel in my opinion.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are fantastic and spacious. You can't go wrong with any size. I do like the ide...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2014

Good Morning Margaret from Kelowna! So very pleased to read your comments how Hotel Elan has impressed you to now be your favorite hotel. Your 30 years of travel has no doubt provided many interesting stories with varied levels of service and products to share with family and friends. You took the time to share your enjoyment of our incredible hotel validates the many hours of planning of so many carefully thought out details and amenities proudly offered to all our guests. Our friendly staff and fantastic hotel await your next visit to Calgary. Thanks again for choosing to experience Hotel Elan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

This new hotel is located in the heart of downtown Calgary in the trendy residential neighborhood known as the Beltline. It opened in June 2013 after extensive renovations converting it from an apartment building to a boutique hotel and the high quality workmanship is apparent from the rooms to the common areas. My room was very large with a great living space, large bedroom and spacious bathroom. The morning breakfasts were included in the room price with an extensive collection of hot and cold items. The hot cooked selection was different every day. The staff were very friendly and helpful plus their knowledge of the local community restaurants and shopping was excellent. This is a very luxurious place to stay in the heart of the renowned 17th Avenue Entertainment District yet close to all the downtown businesses. The ultimate luxury was the heated toilet seat in the bathroom which was a very warm welcome on a cold Calgary winter day. I highly recommend this for a business or vacation visit to Calgary.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony overlooking the Beltline community and facing south to watch the sunsets
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

I am speaking on behalf of our entire team when I say thank you for your positive and detailed review of your recent stay at Hotel Elan! After many months of planning and construction Hotel Elan opened and quickly has become a well known landmark in the trendy 17 Ave district. You are so right that either for business or vacation all of our guests enjoy as you say " the ultimate luxury"! Again thank you for choosing to stay at Hotel Elan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Every cabbie we asked to take us to this location had no idea there was a hotel here. That how new this place is.
Immaculate renovation of a former boring apartment building into a swish modern hotel. We had King suite,the smallest room,and it was massive.
All mod cons, including extra mirrors,extra sink and loads of plugs. Even a large balcony with chairs for your coffee come warm weather.
This a great hotel for families because of the room size and just fun for a couple. Lots of room to chase each other, and great location.
A real find!


Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Debralps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Thanks for sharing our secret! Yes it is hard to believe that all the cabbies as not aware of Hotel Elan as we will have several arrive in the evening delivering travel tired guests and again several arrive in the morning to transport the same but refreshed guests off to the busy schedules and commitments. We look forward to your next visit at Hotel Elan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Modern, spotlessly clean hotel. Lots of nice features in the room and well presented breakfast. The staff were superb. On arriving in our room we discovered the safe was not working - within 10 minutes of letting the reception staff know they were in the room and had fixed it replacing the battery. Helpful hints on restaurants and things to do. Happy to look after our luggage for the day. As a bonus parking is free on a Friday and Saturday.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank a_and_k-deeside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Thanks you for your kind review and sharing your experience while staying at Hotel Elan. We pride ourselves on detail and we all know occasionally things like a dead battery will happen. How our team responds to the challenge is always our priority. I am so pleased to hear that our trained Guest Agent was able to promptly resolve the problem. Safe travels home and we look forward to your next visit to Canada and your next stay at Hotel Elan!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013

What a great surprise. Beautiful, clean, modern rooms. Excellent breakfast. Fast and free wifi. Free heated parking. Great location. Friendly staff. Highly recommend this hotel for anyone. I can't imagine any are better in city!!!!

Room Tip: 2br suite is incredible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roger B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, General Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Thank you Roger for sharing your experience of your stay at Hotel Elan. A true test to how we are doing is recieving comments like yours! So glad to hear that you would highly recommend Hotel Elan to those traveling into Calgary. All the best for 2014 and we look forward to welcoming you and those that find this review helpful to experience Hotel Elan in 2014!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#1 of 110 in Calgary
259 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 110 in Calgary
933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,463 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £87 - £176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing