We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Hidden Gem.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A Hidden Gem.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

There is absolutely nothing to complain about in this old apartment building turned hotel. Staff were great and I loved the heated toilet seat with a nightlight inside of it. Rooms were spacious and fully equipped. I would def. return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tshelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Thanks for posting your review. We are pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Elan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    422
    111
    22
    1
    4
See reviews for
93
231
21
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel Elan is a small and very modern hotel. It is one block from 17th street which has a number of cute restaurants and shops. It's about a 5-10 minute drive from the city center or 30-40 minute walk.

The hotel has a number of great qualities including the following: Heated floors, heated toilet seat with a nice blue light, free wireless internet (very fast), and free phone calls to anywhere in the world. Our room (suite) was large and very spacious. It had a bedroom with large TV, a sitting room with large TV, a kitchen with a nice size table and chairs. The kitchen had a microwave (including dishes and utensils). There was also a balcony. The free breakfast was good, and seemed to change daily. The staff were all professional and friendly. Parking is available for a fee.

Room Tip: We stayed in a suite (room 704).
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kitty32655
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Yes our location is perfect for a comfortable walk on 17 Ave to all the restaurants and shops. Our 15 MEG complimentary high speed internet to all guest rooms certainly keeps our guests linked in to their busy lives while traveling. Thanks Kitty for choosing to stay at Hotel Elan while staying in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

Hotel Elan, in my opinion, is one of the best hotels for avid travelers in Calgary. They totally get business travel. The hotel is a refurbished apartment building - yet all of the rooms are laid out well, USB chargers everywhere, HDMI into the TV's from laptops, and very high speed internet for getting work done. It's 1/2 a block off of 17th Ave - lots and lots of choice of restaurants. The staff is amazing. We loved it so much, we decided to make this the "official" hotel for our company when people travel to Calgary. Great hot breakfasts in the lobby in the morning.

Room Tip: I haven't stayed in a bad room yet
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoelFromCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
The transition from an apartment building to Hotel Elan meant a complete interior to all guest room and suite floor plans. All interior walls are not only new but double thickness to insure a quite and private stay. Yes, Hotel Elan gets the business traveler with the ample USB charger outlets conveniently located by the work stations as well as the night side stands. Joel we are very happy to hear that your company has chosen Hotel Elan to be your official hotel in Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
49 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2014

Hotel Elan is advertised as a luxury boutique hotel with a full breakfast buffet included. The building is freshly modernized and very clean. My hotel room was spacious and had many high tech features, even in the bathroom which boasts a lighted toilet bowl, adjustable heated toilet seat, heated floor and very nice shower system. The bedroom is outfitted for the business traveler, but everything in the room is out in the open so it makes the room feel quite cluttered. There is no closet; instead a short clothing rack is suspended on the wall next to the bed at a height 6.5 ft, a bit too high for me to easily reach. The ironing board and iron are hanging on the wall next to the door as you enter the room. The walls are very thin; I heard every word of a telephone conversation in the guest room next door. There are two windows in the room, one has clear glass and can be opened about 2 inches and the other has frosted glass, so while you get the light, you cannot see out. I think it looks onto the balcony of the room next door.

On the plus side, the room has a Keurig coffee maker, microwave and mini-bar fridge with a few snacks and drinks (extra of course). The room offers a choice of pillows: soft or firm, this is nice. The bed linens and towels are good quality and everything appears fresh. The bed itself was very comfortable, and I slept very well during my stay. WiFi is fast and easy to access.

The neighborhood is a bit of a mix, certainly not the business or downtown core, my cab drivers didn't seem to be aware of the hotel. Nonetheless, the neighbourhood was pleasant enough with some very good restaurant options. I believe Hotel Elan used to be an apartment or condo building, so it doesn’t have some of conveniences one expects of a traditional hotel. For the most part, the staff were friendly and helpful, but the woman looking after the breakfast buffet was downright surly. Hotel Elan is a good option for its comfort features, but except for the price, I wouldn’t call this a luxury experience.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MagmamanCan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
So nice to hear that you enjoyed our modern and spaciously styled rooms. Our dedicated complimentary 15 MEG internet certainly is convenient to our guests. So glad to hear you slept very well in our Serta bed complete with our pillow menu of both soft and firm pillows. Thanks for choosing to experience our boutique style hotel for your recent stay in Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bentley
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Hotel Elan is wonderful. Just spent a night there for a little get away in the City. Spent the afternoon touring 17th ave enjoying the sites, coffee shops, etc. The rooms are large, modern and beautiful. Got a kick out of the heated toilet seat that doubles as a night lite! Bed are very comfy and finally a hotel with a choice of firm or soft pillows. Morning breakfast was good. Will definitely stay here again. Only downfall was there was no hot tub to enjoy. A roof top hot tub would have been perfect.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hippothekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Thanks for choosing to enjoy your over night in Calgary at Hotel Elan! Sounds like you had a great time exploring 17 Ave so full of coffee shops, shopping and dining venues. Our selection of both firm and soft pillows (easily identified by their embroidered labels) along with our heated toilet seats add to the pampered stay. No we do not have a guest hot tub but perhaps next time you will get a chance to check out one of the Chromotherapy tubs in a two bedroom suite? Choosing from one of the 8 different color light settings - let me know your favorite!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014 via mobile

Only a year old, in a converted apartment building, near downtown. The outside doesn't look like much, but the rooms are amazing! Very modern, clean and beautiful. I had a living room, kitchen and dining room- all separate from the bedroom. They don't have a full restaurant or bar- just a breakfast buffet that was pretty good. However, there were plenty of choices within walking distance. Area seemed a little run down, but very eclectic- and only 5 min cab to city center.
The front desk people were all very nice and helpful.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank global5000pilot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
I always appreciate hearing that our front desk team were very nice and helpful. We are all very proud of Hotel Elan and work very hard to make sure our guests are well cared for and enjoy their stay with us. Our location is so convenient as you say with easy walking distance to the popular 17 Ave shop and restaurants with a 5 min cab ride into the center of the city. Our clean and modern hotel awaits your next stay! Thanks for choosing Hotel Elan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

I recently spent a weekend at Hotel Elan with friends. We rented the 2 bedroom suite which had a kitchen, living room and dining room. The suite was spacious, bright and clean. It even had its own exercise room with equipment, floor to ceiling mirrors, wall mounted TV and yoga mat. the bathroom was luxurious with a large tub, huge walk in shower with rain shower head, separate WC with heated toilet seat. the beds were amazing - one of the best mattresses I've ever slept on. Breakfast was included in the rate - there was a selection of hot and cold items served buffet style. We came down a bit late the first morning and there wasn't much left and no one offered to replenish the food items. however we were able to make do with what was there. the décor is very modern and sleek . our unit was totally wired for any type of electronic equipment. there was a large balcony leading off the living room looking out towards 17th Avenue. the weekend we were there was very cold, so we couldn't sit out but it would be great in the summer. the location was very convenient to all the restaurants and shops on 17th Avenue. I always like to open windows when I'm staying in a hotel and all the bedroom windows opened to let in fresh air. There were no closets in the room except for a hanging rod and wall mounted drawer and some shelves. so if you were staying for a extended time frame, it might be a bit difficult to store all your items . for a weekend it was fine. the living room came equipped with a sectional sofa which accommodated 3 people but it was a bit small. the only other seating was office type chairs around the dining table. The room was large enough to accommodate a couple more comfortable chairs which would have been nice given that it is a 2 bedroom suite. overall, this was a great place and I will book this the next time. I am out to Calgary frequently so am really pleased to know about Hotel Elan.

Room Tip: rooms facing 17th Avenue will be noisier, especially on a weekend.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CWiebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Great choice on the Energizer suite for your weekend stay at Hotel Elan. I agree with you it is always nice to be able to open windows for a little fresh air access. All of guest rooms and suites offer this European style turn and tilt feature as well as individual air conditioning in each of the living areas. Our private balconies off each of the suites will be very popular in the warm sunny days ahead we are now experiencing in Calgary. Thanks again for choosing to stay at Hotel Elan!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 812 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Property: Hotel Elan
Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelClick, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing