We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
131 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“great hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

decided to stay at something different instead of the brand name hotels. this is a really nice place. I had a one bedroom suite and it was wonderful. we'll decorated and there is lots of room. decorations are very modern. I will stay there again..

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul-Sue-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
As an independent luxury boutique hotel we are able to offer our valued guests an incredibly unique product rarely seen in the accommodation market. Our spacious and modern suites are very popular with our guests. Thanks for sharing pictures of your suite in your review. Hotel Elan's knowledgeable team enjoys assisting our guests with exceptional customer service insuring a memorable stay. Thanks for your kind review, for taking a leap of faith outside the brand names and sharing how well it all worked out for you. We trust we will see you back on your next trip to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

565 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    425
    112
    23
    1
    4
See reviews for
95
232
21
143
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 402 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

Trip Advisor is 100% correct: Hotel Elan is the #1 rated hotel in Calgary for many reasons, and it totally deserves it! We stayed in a Cascade King One Bedroom Suite from June 22 - June 27. It was on the 8th floor and faced west. Since it was the start of summer, the sun shone brightly into our room until after 9pm and did not set until after 10:30pm. It was rather novel to go to bed when it was still light out and we enjoyed the long hours of sunlight during our visit to Calgary.

The room itself was spacious, contemporary and extremely clean. There were very tasteful paintings in the room which contributed to a soothing ambience. There was plenty of space for 2 people. The sofa in the living room could be turned into an extra bed, which meant that at least 3 people could stay in the room with tons of space for everyone. The small kitchenette was well-equipped with a fridge, microwave, Kurig coffee maker and plate & glassware.... like home away from home! There was a nice dining table as well. We made use of it a few nights when we opted for takeout food from the nearby shopping & restaurant district on 17th Avenue (tip: for good sushi, try Midori around the corner from Hotel Elan on 17th Ave!).

The bed was a comfortable king-sized with pillows marked Firm and Soft- your choice. We had read about the infamous heated toilet seats at Hotel Elan and got to experience it firsthand, definitely worth all the hype! The rainshower had the perfect temperature and water pressure and we appreciated the great toiletries and fluffy towels.

Breakfast is included in your stay at Hotel Elan. It is a typical contintental style breakfast with a selection of prepared items served buffet style (eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, toast, etc). I think it would be nice if they offered a larger variety of fresh fruits, but we still enjoyed our breakfast every morning.

Service at Hotel Elan is outstanding. The front desk staff was so helpful and accomodating. They are a friendly and service-oriented group of people. Thanks to everyone on staff for making us feel welcome. If you are a guest, please be sure to join Lewis on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings for happy hour at Hotel Elan. Lewis is a great host and it was wonderful to wind down after a long day with drinks and nibbles!

All in all, we were so pleased and delighted with our visit to Calgary and Hotel Elan. It exceeded expectations in every way. I totally recommend the hotel for anyone travelling to Calgary, whether for business or personal vacation. Hotel Elan is definitely the #1 place to stay in Calgary!

Room Tip: If you are a CAA or AAA member, be sure to use it when booking a stay at Hotel Elan. We got a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank J_M_S_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
To read your review on how Hotel Elan is definitely the " #1 place to stay in Calgary" is very rewarding for our entire team. We do our very best to make our guests stays " their home away from home" as you experienced. So glad you were able to attend our in house guest complimentary happy hour. I enjoy this opportunity to meet our new in house guests and welcome back returning guests. Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and as I say you all make up our Elan chosen family!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, ON Canada
Level Contributor
78 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014 via mobile

If you're looking for a modern boutique hotel, this is it. We totally enjoyed every aspect for our room: very comfortable bed and pillows, lighting systems, etc. Taking a picture of the bathroom was a first for me. It was exceptional.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Our bedding package and pillow menu of soft and firm pillows certainly is a hit with our guests. However our bathrooms complete with rain shower heads and heated toilet seats delight many and yes even pictures! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2014

My sister booked this hotel for my stagette party and it was incredible. The room was beautiful, very modern and spacious, with great details, from the delicious soaps, to the heated toilet seat, to the to-die-for rain shower and the different types of pillows. The service was great, with the front desk crew being very accommodating to our needs. I just could not be happier with this hotel!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 25 June 2014
Shayley what are great way to celebrate your stagette! To read your review on how you felt that not only your group received incredible service, as well as great value and comfort means that our team has successfully delivered. Our commitment to provide exceptional service to all our guests is so important to our team at Hotel Elan. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Rooms:

Either a 2 bedroom suite or King size bedroom. Both are very modern with free wifi, USB ports, on-demand TV, microwave, percolator, fantastic showers, selection of pillows (handily labeled Soft or Firm), heated and night lite toilet seats, The suites even have a small personal gym, business area and balcony.

Staff:

We couldn't have wanted for more. Many thanks to Lewis, Michelle, Amanda and the rest of the staff, exceptional.

Location:

Situated right on the popular 17th Ave, there's bars and restaurants every half block serving great food (Farm & Cibo are great for both lunch and dinner). It's a 15-20 minute walk or a 5 minute taxi ride to the very heart of Downtown Calgary. If you want to go further a field the nearest tram stop is a 5 minute walk. In about 25 minutes door to door you can get to the Chinook Shopping Mall.

Food:

Breakfast is complimentary and includes hot selections, normally scrambled eggs, a meat option and pancakes/waffles. There are the usual cereals, porridge, bread/toast, sweets, tea and coffee.
Lunch and dinner isn't available.
On a Tuesday and Wednesday Lewis hosts a Welcome Night and serves complimentary wine, beer, sodas and hot/cold nibbles in the evening. This is a great opportunity to meet other guests and for pre-dinner drinks before going out.

Facilities:

Downstairs in the main room are 2 Apple PC's for your business use, underground parking at $18 per week day and free at weekends. Free wifi, 24hr front desk and umbrellas, laundry is contracted out but top notch.

Summary:

If you are coming to Calgary, stay here. I cannot recommend this place more highly.

Thanks for your help in making this a memorable stay!

Room Tip: Any 2 bedroom suite, you'll not regret it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
One of my favorite events in my schedule is the opportunity to host the Tuesday and Wednesday evening reception for our in house guests here at Hotel Elan. This is an opportunity for me to thank and welcome our valued guests staying with us on a personal one on one basis. As you mention this also allows for our guests to mingle. I enjoy the sharing of experiences on favorite dining out venues and recommendations between our guests! Thanks Rob for taking the time to submit your review and most importantly sharing your great stay with future Hotel Elan guests. Our team is all very pleased to hear that we were part of making your time at Hotel Elan a "memorable stay"!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
80 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel is around a 30 minute walk into the centre of Calgary but is situated in a really nice neighbourhood with a number of nice restaurants and bars. The staff were friendly and welcoming. The room was very clean with modern and trendy decor. It has free wifi, a flat screen TV, coffee machine, and microwave! The breakfast was reasonable. We'd definitely stay in hotel Elan again if visiting Calgary.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ewandalby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Trendy and modern certainly describes Hotel Elan! We pride ourselves on having a friendly and welcoming team who insures that the hotel is kept very clean. 17 Ave SW has an amazing selection of restaurants and pubs for our guests. Thanks for choosing Hotel Elan for your recent stay in Calgary and for taking the time to submit your very positive review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Deer
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Elan with three friends for a girls weekend getaway, and it was wonderful! Loved the room, (we had a one bedroom suite), breakfast was delish, they brought us extra coffee for the keurig, and not to mention the bathroom was great! (heated toilet seat!)
They gave us a late checkout without any hassle too. :)
Great location. Close to lots of shops and restaurants.
The only downside was the outside noise on the saturday night. The people leaving the bars were crazy loud, and the cars ripping up 17th ave till early morning were annoying.
That being said, I WILL stay here again and would recommend it for sure!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank pixieline82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Our suites at Hotel Elan are certainly spacious. The Vista one bedroom suite with the king size bed plus a sofa bed couch in the living room was perfect for your four girl friend weekend get-a-way. On your next stay may I suggest your group try one of our two bedroom suites? These will have an even larger living area, two separate bedrooms plus a Chromotherapy tub in the oversized bathroom! We are constantly adding menu items to our delicious complimentary breakfast which you will be able to sample on your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Palliser
#22 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,056 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Property: Hotel Elan
Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelClick, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing