We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite area, very modern hotel”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 July 2014

I stayed in the Hotel Elan in June. I spent 4 nights at the hotel doing some exploring of the Rockies and the Praries around Calgary. 16th Avenue which the hotel is on, runs parallel with what is pretty much the busiest street for shopping and nightlife in the city. Having said that, the street remains quiet through the night and is a very very safe area with easy access to lots to keep you busy.

My strongest memory of this hotel is its futuristic look and feel. This hotel is still very new, and you get a feel for that the minute you walk in the door. The rooms are average sizes with a large bathroom and large shower. Breakfast is available complimentary downstairs and is quite nice although the room is rather small. A perk for the solo traveller and business traveller is that the hotel has both high-speed wifi (each room has its own router), and the hotel also allows free international calls from guest rooms which I found very handy.

Overall, a great modern hotel. This is what I imagine 4 star hotels will look like in 10 years time. The hotel needs a little more character which I think it will achieve over time as it is still quite new and feels a little sterile at times. I would however go back to this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Eóin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ServicePleaseYYC, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2014

We are very pleased that you enjoyed our futurists hotel with it's clean look and feel. Our complimentary long distance package is certainly one of the benefit's our international travelers enjoy. So glad that you were also able to benefit from this Elan unique feature plus our complimentary high speed internet that we offer to all our in house guests. Thanks for your review on your recent stay with us at Hotel Elan and we look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (719)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

627 - 633 of 719 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

We staid for 1month in this hotel in 2br suite. The suite had fully sized and equipped kitchen which was very important for the family with the child.

We enjoyed staying there and felt like being at home with some benefits of hotel service (daily house keeping, breakfasts, etc) and a very friendly and helpful personnel.

You won't find there facilities/service like in 5* hotels (pools, concierge service, etc).. but if you're looking for the place where you'll feel at home, Hotel Elan is the one (size of the rooms will impress you)

Would definitely recommend this place among other hotels in Calgary for the families.

Roman

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DzRoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Roman thank you for your review. Every guest stay is unique and separate from the next. That is why our wide variety of hotel rooms, one and two bedroom suites can answer many individual guests in our luxury boutique hotel. The two bedroom suite you had certainly gives lots of room for the family to enjoy. We will miss seeing you little one on his busy daily routine exploring and keeping his parents busy! Thanks again for choosing Hotel Elan.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

I stayed at the Elan during a business trip. The Hotel is new and accomodations are very nice. A good breakfast is included in the rate and on Tuesday's and Wednesday's there is a nice happy hour. The hotel is not downtow but a Taxi ride downtown is never longer than 10 minutes.

The hotel sits on block from 17th avenue which has many shops and nice restaurants. Wireless internet is free and very good.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MLFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

I like your title! "Nice rooms, friendly staff and quiet neighborhood"! That certainly describes Hotel Elan, our team and our location. I personally enjoy being able to meet our guests on Tuesday and Wednesday evening which is a great opportunity to really get to know our guests. Thanks so much for taking the time to write this review and most importantly staying with us on your recent trip into Calgary. We look forward to seeing you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

decided to stay at something different instead of the brand name hotels. this is a really nice place. I had a one bedroom suite and it was wonderful. we'll decorated and there is lots of room. decorations are very modern. I will stay there again..

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul-Sue-Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

As an independent luxury boutique hotel we are able to offer our valued guests an incredibly unique product rarely seen in the accommodation market. Our spacious and modern suites are very popular with our guests. Thanks for sharing pictures of your suite in your review. Hotel Elan's knowledgeable team enjoys assisting our guests with exceptional customer service insuring a memorable stay. Thanks for your kind review, for taking a leap of faith outside the brand names and sharing how well it all worked out for you. We trust we will see you back on your next trip to Calgary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Trip Advisor is 100% correct: Hotel Elan is the #1 rated hotel in Calgary for many reasons, and it totally deserves it! We stayed in a Cascade King One Bedroom Suite from June 22 - June 27. It was on the 8th floor and faced west. Since it was the start of summer, the sun shone brightly into our room until after 9pm and did not set until after 10:30pm. It was rather novel to go to bed when it was still light out and we enjoyed the long hours of sunlight during our visit to Calgary.

The room itself was spacious, contemporary and extremely clean. There were very tasteful paintings in the room which contributed to a soothing ambience. There was plenty of space for 2 people. The sofa in the living room could be turned into an extra bed, which meant that at least 3 people could stay in the room with tons of space for everyone. The small kitchenette was well-equipped with a fridge, microwave, Kurig coffee maker and plate & glassware.... like home away from home! There was a nice dining table as well. We made use of it a few nights when we opted for takeout food from the nearby shopping & restaurant district on 17th Avenue (tip: for good sushi, try Midori around the corner from Hotel Elan on 17th Ave!).

The bed was a comfortable king-sized with pillows marked Firm and Soft- your choice. We had read about the infamous heated toilet seats at Hotel Elan and got to experience it firsthand, definitely worth all the hype! The rainshower had the perfect temperature and water pressure and we appreciated the great toiletries and fluffy towels.

Breakfast is included in your stay at Hotel Elan. It is a typical contintental style breakfast with a selection of prepared items served buffet style (eggs, bacon, yogurt, cereal, toast, etc). I think it would be nice if they offered a larger variety of fresh fruits, but we still enjoyed our breakfast every morning.

Service at Hotel Elan is outstanding. The front desk staff was so helpful and accomodating. They are a friendly and service-oriented group of people. Thanks to everyone on staff for making us feel welcome. If you are a guest, please be sure to join Lewis on Tuesday and Wednesday evenings for happy hour at Hotel Elan. Lewis is a great host and it was wonderful to wind down after a long day with drinks and nibbles!

All in all, we were so pleased and delighted with our visit to Calgary and Hotel Elan. It exceeded expectations in every way. I totally recommend the hotel for anyone travelling to Calgary, whether for business or personal vacation. Hotel Elan is definitely the #1 place to stay in Calgary!

Room Tip: If you are a CAA or AAA member, be sure to use it when booking a stay at Hotel Elan. We got a member...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank J_M_S_Toronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

To read your review on how Hotel Elan is definitely the " #1 place to stay in Calgary" is very rewarding for our entire team. We do our very best to make our guests stays " their home away from home" as you experienced. So glad you were able to attend our in house guest complimentary happy hour. I enjoy this opportunity to meet our new in house guests and welcome back returning guests. Thanks for taking the time to submit your review and as I say you all make up our Elan chosen family!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

If you're looking for a modern boutique hotel, this is it. We totally enjoyed every aspect for our room: very comfortable bed and pillows, lighting systems, etc. Taking a picture of the bathroom was a first for me. It was exceptional.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Retiredactive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Our bedding package and pillow menu of soft and firm pillows certainly is a hit with our guests. However our bathrooms complete with rain shower heads and heated toilet seats delight many and yes even pictures! So glad you enjoyed your stay with us while visiting Calgary!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

My sister booked this hotel for my stagette party and it was incredible. The room was beautiful, very modern and spacious, with great details, from the delicious soaps, to the heated toilet seat, to the to-die-for rain shower and the different types of pillows. The service was great, with the front desk crew being very accommodating to our needs. I just could not be happier with this hotel!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shayley J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Shayley what are great way to celebrate your stagette! To read your review on how you felt that not only your group received incredible service, as well as great value and comfort means that our team has successfully delivered. Our commitment to provide exceptional service to all our guests is so important to our team at Hotel Elan. Congratulations on your upcoming wedding and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
Applause Hotel by CLIQUE
#1 of 110 in Calgary
255 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#24 of 110 in Calgary
2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 110 in Calgary
1,241 reviews
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#9 of 110 in Calgary
926 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £87 - £169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing