We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super hotel in a great location”
Review of Hotel Elan

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Elan
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, UK
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Super hotel in a great location”
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Friendly check in staff, great location for the lively 'entertainment' district along 17th Ave and a really comfortable room with some nice touches: bed was large and comfy, large TV, iPad docking station, nice coffee maker and a funky bathroom with rain shower and heated seat toilet! Free wifi and would you believe, free international calls to many countries.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank WorldTravellerTony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
As you mentioned Hotel Elan is situated in a great location just off of the 17 Ave entertainment district. So many options for dining and shopping you need a few days for sure to see them all! I am pleased to see you enjoyed the free wifi and free international phone calls to over 70 countries worldwide. Yes our rain shower and heated toilet seat remain hits with all of our guests! Thanks for taking time to submit your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    130
    26
    2
    4
See reviews for
119
264
25
162
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed 29 July 2014

Walking distance to funky restaurants. Room was good size for one. Could have used more drawer/closet space but that was it. Breakfast was great and staff were friendly and helpful. I'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Tanya thank you for your review. I see that you got to enjoy our expanded complimentary hot continental breakfast as well as visit some of our great restaurant selections within just a couple of blocks from the hotel. Our friendly staff looks forward to your next stay! Thanks for choosing Hotel Elan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

One of the last hotel rooms available during the annual Stampede. Walking distance to the festivities and all the bars/restaurants along the main street. Room itself was plenty big for four people to share (one separate room and pull out couch), deck for enjoying the weather and one of the most modern shower experiences ever. You'll get a kick out of the toilet.

Breakfast is included in the price but not parking which was a reasonable fee. Very friendly staff. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Great to hear that you got to enjoy Stampede as well of one our spacious one bedroom suites. The private balcony, large sitting room as well as the expanded wet bar with microwave, mini fridge and minibar make for a great stay. Thanks for choosing to stay with us at Hotel Elan and we look forward to seeing you next Stampede!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We really enjoyed the stay. It is located in a downtown area accessible to shopping and great cafes and restaurants. Our room was large, modern and very clean. Their continental breakfast was much more than what you normally get.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zlatan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
At Hotel Elan we pride ourselves on a modern style hotel that is kept very clean. Our double thickness in walls allows for all our guest to have a restful sleep. We welcome them in the Orchid Room every morning for our complimentary breakfast. Yes the selection at breakfast is much more than a traditional continental breakfast which is our way of making sure all our guests get off to a great start in their day! We look forward to your next visit to Calgary!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We were delighted with our choice after some initial concerns .We had booked a one bedroom room and when we arrived we were a bit concerned that it would be very cramped for 4 nights with not much room around the bed and little drawer space we would have had to leave most of our clothes in our suitcases and continually step over them .We enquired about the cost of an upgraded room and the lovely receptionist upgraded us to a one bedroom suite without additional cost .That had acres of room with a separate lounge/kitchen area which was great when my jet lag woke me in the middle of the night I could watch tv next door without waking my wife ! The room had a balcony we could sit out at night -unfortunately it was at the back and looked into adjoining apartment blocks-but hey we got the upgrade free so who cares !
Excellent breakfast which even though it was described as Continental always had egg and bacon available as well .Very helpful reception staff who gave good tips on eating out .
We were a bit concerned about being slightly out of the Centre but if anything we thought the bars and restaurants were more interesting than those in the centre-17th Ave was interesting and lively and we never felt unsafe .
We found Market restaurant which was probably the best meal we had during our trip to Canada (including some high end restaurants in vancouver ) .
All in all an excellent hotel I wouldn't hesitate to choose again-maybe pay a bit more for one of the suites or hope you strike it lucky !

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a better outlook
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KSlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
So pleased to hear that your stay at Hotel Elan was enjoyable. Yes our one and two bedroom suites are very spacious and well worth the modest upgrade fee. Since we are a boutique style hotel with a selection of 8 hotel room and suite types but limited inventory in each category I recommend booking the unit that works for you ahead of arrival. I am glad that the complimentary upgrade was offered for your four night stay however very seldom is this available. I will certainly pass along to the "Market" restaurant your kind words on your meal with them!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Converted apartment building to boutique hotel. Very modern, clean and good value the night we were there. Bathroom was very cool and had a led lit, heated toilet seat. Came with free continental breakfast too but worth the walk to get your coffee at Cafe Beano.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank physiodude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Our location works very well for those planning a night out rather than a taxi home. I am pleased to read that you appreciated the good value of your stay that includes our complimentary hot expanded continental breakfast. Thanks for making Hotel Elan your stay cation choice!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando
Level 6 Contributor
188 reviews
172 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Nice design, new, contemporary, well appointed and spacious rooms within walking distance to all the restaurants and shops on 17th Avenue. Balconies provide great outdoor sitting and everything in the room trends toward sleek techno, even/especially the toilet. The secure, undercover parking kept us from hauling all our stuff to the room. We were just here for a night as we passed through Calgary, but it was a great base. At first wished had been closer to downtown, but ended up liking the proximity to 17th Avenue restaurants.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlieOrlando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lewis S, Public Relations Manager at Hotel Elan, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Well appointed and spacious within walking distance of 17 Ave certainly describes Hotel Elan and our location! When a guest books a one or two bedroom suite they are guaranteed to have their own private balcony. We hope that your travels will bring you back through Calgary on more occasions and that yet again Hotel Elan can be your base!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
The Fairmont Palliser
#21 of 109 in Calgary
2,231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
869 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Elan? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Elan

Property: Hotel Elan
Address: 1122 16 Ave SW, Calgary, Alberta T2R 0T6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Beltline
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Elan 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Elan is a luxury boutique hotel in Calgary's stylish and happening Beltline Neighbourhood. Located just off the renowned 17th Avenue Retail and Entertainment District, the hotel is just minutes walking from some of Calgary's best shops and restaurants. With 62 rooms and suites and spa-inspired bathrooms, there is a room for every occasion or need. Included with all rooms is complimentary deluxe continental breakfast, with hot, cold, and gluten-free options available, as well as free international calling, and free wireless internet throughout the property. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Hotel Elan reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing