We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice quiet rooms, excellent amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
Ranked #50 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Canada
Level Contributor
66 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Nice quiet rooms, excellent amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2011

This property offers a great value on the south side of Calgary. Nice rooms, good customer service. Lots to do, with regular shows and the onsite casino

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gr8Canadian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    109
    51
    25
    19
See reviews for
77
65
11
100
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2011

I was impressed with my stay. No complaints, really. The rooms are not well sound-proofed, but I sleep with ear plugs so it wasn't a problem for me. There was a convention when I stayed there with a rowdy group on my floor. When I contacted the front desk to complain they handled it promptly.

The Mohave Grill was not great.

Loved the Starbucks coffee in each room! Much better than the usual nabob!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charmsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sherwood Park, Alberta
Level Contributor
153 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2011

We stayed for one night for a conference. Upon arrival, staff had 3 of us staying in one room, although 2 were reserved. Once she got it straightened out, there were two of us in a single room.

On the whole, the rooms were clean, although a presonal belonging of a previous guest was left in our room. Rooms are quiet and beds comfortable.

The restaurant in average, at best. Service is lacking. It was as though we interupted our waitress by coming in for supper. We orderred $100 worth of wine, and I guarentee the server has never been trained how to present and pour. Food has little taste. No one in our group was impressed.

Overall, if this is a destination to gamble, then that it is, but it would not be my choice as a hotel again.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pyke88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 31 March 2012
Dear Pyke88,

Thank you for sharing your experience here with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are very sorry that your time here with us did not meet your expectations. We appreciate your positive feedback regarding the cleanliness of our hotel rooms as we take a lot of pride in the upkeep of our property. We try to ensure that all our guests are able to enjoy the unique experiences we have to off as Calgary’s only Hotel and Casino. I apologize that the service in our Mohave Grill was less than satisfactory. Employee training is a very big part of our attempt to exceed our guest expectations and I feel like you and your guests unfortunately we not able to experience that. We hope in the future we could have the chance to show you the quality of service that we have become well known for here in Calgary.

Best Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2011

This hotel is one to miss when in Calgary. If you want to stay someplace where everything you want comes with a NO, then this is the place for you! We were there 4 days and whatever we asked for, it was NO!. When pushed, they try, but only because they have to. Watch out for Kristin in the restaurant/room service, as she doesn’t like people! Then, we asked for a 4am alarm call (the alarm clock in the room wouldn’t work) and we had a flight to catch – It never came! (luckily we woke up). The toilet blocked up 3 times in the 4 days. We asked for a soft pillow and were told there were none - then after we said we would have to change hotels in that case, Tanya amazingly found 2! The Mohave Grill served up excellent food, but be sure to check daily opening times, as if you want something to eat after 9.30pm the answer’s ‘No’ – ask Kristin. If you ask the staff for anything, you will get a different answer from every single one of them. The decor is dowdy, bordering depressive. They require a decent manager and training! If visiting on a weekend, be sure to like, or have kids, as there are lots! This hotel has a casino, a pool and a fitness centre, but we didn’t use them. It seemed to us that they are concentrating on the gambling next door and forgetting their manners and hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2010

Overall the cleanliness, the room size, the fun kids pool, and the service were excellent. Casino is fun with lots of fun machine, and although not alot of tables.. they have a large poker room, and lots of blackjack tables. Not too many things to do within walking distance of the hotel.. but the hotel does offer free parking so if you drive there, its only a 10 minute drive to DT Calgary. Lots of different restaurants in the hotel too.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bucatime23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Dear scochelle,

Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled you decided to share your experience with us. It is our goal to provide the best level of service to our guests, and we are grateful you have allowed us to show you our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. We would love to welcome you back for another visit any time.

Warm Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
129 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

Helpful staff made this stay worthwhile. You can spend some time gambling and getting around the hotel is easy. Pool area is a little to kid friendly.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brewski00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Brewski00,

Thank You for sharing your experience with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled we were able to meet your expectations. It is always very satisfying knowing that we have pleased another of our guests and we are able to extend our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. Thank you again for taking the time to share your satisfaction. We look very forward to having you back as our guest on your next visit to Calgary.

Best Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2010

I have now stayed at this hotel 3 out of the last 4 summers for a July Soccer Tournament, with the majority of our youth soccer team (usually 14-17 room reservations) and have found the hotel to be very accomodating to our needs. The rooms are extremely comfortable, although the mini fridge in the room can be a little noisy. In the past, I have found service at the Mohave Grill to be a little slow, so we have needed to take this into account when planning meals for the team, but on our most recent stay during the Calgary Stampede, the complimentary breakfast was fully supplied, with no waiting. The hotel remarkably quiet. Despite the Casino, smoke is not a problem. For anyone needing a facility for their youth team, I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel. It is not the least expensive that I have stayed in, but overall, over the years my team has had a very positive experience.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Soccermom096
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Dear Soccermom096,

Thank You for sharing your experience with us here at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled we were able to meet your expectations. It is always very satisfying knowing that we have pleased another of our guests and we are able to extend our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. Thank you again for taking the time to share your satisfaction. We look very forward to having you back as our guest on your next visit to Calgary.

Best Regards,

Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfoot Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Property: Deerfoot Inn and Casino
Address: 11500 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Calgary
#41 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerfoot Inn and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Deerfoot Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Calgary
Deerfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing