We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tournament Travel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Deerfoot Inn and Casino
Ranked #49 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
48 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Tournament Travel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

The upside: Easy access off the Deerfoot in south Calgary. Conveniently, located across a large parking lot from a sports facility, which provided an opportunity for parents to get some exercise walking to/from games during a long weekend of riding the bleachers. Arrangements were made for team to eat at buffet for breakfast as part of room rate which saved time and hassle of feeding teens before early games. Standard fare, fruit salad, bacon, egg, potatoes with the quality you would expect for roadside hotel.

Room amenities include bar fridge, brand name single cup coffee maker and Bath and BodyWorks products.

Downside: While the WIFI was free, access was not password protected, seem slowed and I had trouble downloading documents needed for work. The "business centre" is comprised of two computers and a printer, monitors faced out to the lobby. The security updates were not up to date at the stations. I experienced the same challenges here trying to deal with urgent work issues.
The service staff was excellent, though we tired quickly of food here. If you have a vehicle you will find many options off either of the 2 exits south along Deerfoot.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TEDtours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear TEDtours,
Thank you for your recent review of your experience at the Deerfoot Inn and Casino. I was pleased to read that you and your family enjoyed the property and in particular the in room amenities. I apologize that you did have issues with our complimentary WIFI during your stay with us.
I hope that the next time that you are in Calgary that you will choose to stay with us again and thank you for your review.
Sincerely,
Jason Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    110
    52
    25
    19
See reviews for
79
65
11
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
164 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

It is sometimes hard to find hotels that will accept teams participating in tournaments but the Deerfoot Inn welcomed us with open arms. The rooms were modern and clean and the Kuerig coffee maker in the room was a nice touch. The lobby was large and decorated in a Rustic Calgary theme. Staff at the front desk were polite and helpful and the included breakfast, while not fancy, was more than adequate and again the restaurant was very "team" friendly.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bernard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Bernard E,

Thank you for your recent review of the Deerfoot Inn and Casino. I was very pleased to read your comments as we frequently house a variety of sporting events and are pleased to be a sponsor for many of these tournaments in our area.
I was happy to hear that you found the hotel to be well appointed and our staff polite and helpful.
We look forward to seeing you again the next time you are in Calgary and thank you for staying with us.

Sincerely,
Jason Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2014

My son and I stayed at the Deerfoot for a second time while competing in a Volleyball tournament this past March. While the Casino attracts one crowd the Hotel's proximity to sports facilities draws a lot of families. This creates an 'interesting' mixture of guests. The Deerfoot Inn is your typical highway inn. Rooms are well maintained and clean, but it's the staff who make a difference. On both visits each time I required assistance etc. they bent over backwards for me. From the resto to the checkin to the housekeeping staff, everyone was sincere and helpful. I don't know who's running the HR dept at the hotel, but keep up the good work.

Room Tip: An upgrade to the King Executive adds more room, amenities, and a few perks that we really appreciat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AvidTravelerEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear AvidTravelerEdmonton,

Thank you for taking the time to share with us your recent experience at the Deerfoot Inn and Casino. I was pleased to read a review from a repeat guest and thank you for staying with us.
I appreciate your positive comments about our staff, in particular our housekeeping team. I will be sure to share your positive comments with the team as they work hard to ensure that our guests have a great experience.
We look forward to serving you again the next time you are in Calgary.

Sincerely,
Jason Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Travelled with the family and a dog. Front desk was friendly and welcoming, daughter was given a surprise bag (coloring book, puzzle, balloon). Hotel was quiet and clean. We stayed in the family suite and it was great having the bit of extra space and the kitchenette plus water bottles and cookies. Pool was a little cool for my liking but had a great kids area, a waterslide and 2 hot tubs, well maintained. Ordered room service and it was decent priced, delivered timely and tasted good. Casino was a fair size and convenient (we took turns checking it out since we had the kids with us so it was nice that it was attached to the hotel). Would stay there again with or without family.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ReginaJaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear ReginaJaw,

Thank you for staying at the Deerfoot Inn and Casino and we appreciate your feedback. I was pleased to read your review and to learn that you had a positive experience. The family suite which you stayed in is perfect for larger families and yes, we are pet friendly.
We look forward to serving you again in the future and thank you for your business.

Sincerely,

Jason Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

My husband and I do a lot of local tourism. We often stay overnight in our own city or within close proximity when we are between "real" vacations. On Feb 22nd, we took advantage of one of the many fantastic Deerfoot Inn and Casino concert packages. $350 bought us two tickets to a really great concert in their Chrome Showroom, a $50 food credit at the hotel/casino, and a room the night.
The room was average with a King Size bed, flat screen TV on the wall, a loveseat and chair. Pretty basic room, but great amenities. Loved the mini fridge (handy), loved the Keurig and supplies for our morning coffee (good coffee is a must for us), and loved the Bath and Body works toiletries. The walls seem a little thin as there were several children on our floor and we heard almost all of them. But I assume they were in bed by the time we came back from our concert because we were not bothered by them all night. We didn't go for a swim, but the pool looks like a nice place to relax if that's what you like to do. It's open later than other hotels we've stayed at, 11pm. The Mohave Grill has pretty good food from our past experiences, but we do prefer the bar/pub inside the Casino which has live bands on the weekend and so we chose to eat there. There is also a cafeteria style food place beside the pub and we took advantage of a couple of meat pies and some sweets to take up to the room for later (that's where the mini fridge comes in handy!).
Check out was noon, so we did enjoy being able to take a little extra time in the morning without feeling rushed. That counts for a lot, especially if you have enjoyed the previous evening a little too much and want to sleep in a little!
Experience at the Deerfoot Inn and Casino was pretty good overall. I'm not sure if the room is worth as much as they charge, but it was fun and convenient and we will very likely do it again!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stallica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 15 April 2014
Dear Stallica,

Thank you for your review of the Deerfoot Inn and Casino. I was happy to learn that you stayed here for a quick get -away and enjoyed a concert in our Chrome Showroom. Concert Packages are great for a night out and there is good value with all of the inclusions.
Your detailed review provides readers with a good summary of some of the offerings at the hotel and casino. I hope that it will not be too long before you come back for another quick get -away and thank you once again for taking the time to provide a detailed review.

Sincerely,

Jason Clark, Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

We booked a business board room at the Deerfoot Casino for my daughter's birthday party. The idea was to take the kids swimming for 1 1/2 then have pizza and cake in the room. Check in was great they even gave my two children little gift packs and when I requested an additional table in the room to fit 8 kids they were very quick to bring it up along with extra chairs. However, we had a terrible experience with room service. At 2:00pm we pre-ordered pizza to be delivered at 5:15. At 5:25 my husband called room service to see where the order was and was told from a lady that it wasn't ready and it will "get there when it gets there". Well, if you are a parent you can image what it's like to tell 8 hungary kids to be patient. I called again at 5:40 to check and again a lady answered; she could have cared less. Her end answer "well I thinks it's on the way". My husband spoke to the front desk staff at check out and was told they would look into our complaint and get back to us by 3:00 but we did not receive a phone call. I would recommend this hotel, room was great and so was the pool but don't rely on room service or your complaint to be answered.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familytravel09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear familytravel09,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. I would like to apologize regarding the issues and quality of service you received relating to your room service order. I was a bit surprised to read this feedback actually because we typically we don’t have issues with our room service delivery times. I am very sorry that the quality of service you experienced from the restaurant was less than satisfactory. We would like to discuss this with you more personally so our Executive Chef will be contacting you directly. Thanks again for your feedback and we will look forward to your next visit to Calgary as an opportunity to show you they standard of service we are so well known for.

Warm Regards,
Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
67 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed two nights on a business trip. Service and the faculties were excellent.

I used the gym both days, and found the equipment and facilities clean and tidy for a hotel gym.

The beds were phenomenal, the rooms wee clean and the wireless speed was the best I have seen in a long time.

I would stay at this property again .

Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank Ranga_72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bryce R, Guest Relations Manager at Deerfoot Inn and Casino, responded to this review, 5 February 2014
Dear Ranga_72
Thank you very much for your stay with us at the Deerfoot Inn & Casino. We are thrilled you decided to share your experience with us. It is our goal to provide the best level of service to our guests, and we are grateful you have allowed us to show you our interpretation of Calgary hospitality. We would love to welcome you back for another visit any time.
Warm Regards,
Bryce Reid
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 541 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Southeast Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Deerfoot Inn and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Deerfoot Inn and Casino

Property: Deerfoot Inn and Casino
Address: 11500 35 Street SE, Calgary, Alberta T2Z 3W4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Casino Hotel in Calgary
#41 Business Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Deerfoot Inn and Casino 3.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Deerfoot Inn and Casino reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casino Calgary
Deerfoot Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing