We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We spent there couple of nights. The place was calm, clean and siituated near main road - great if you are in Calgary for sightseeing. Friendly staff, standard breakfast and Boston Pizza just across parking lot.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wicio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for taking time out of your busy schedule to write a review and assist others with their travel plans.
We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 5 December 2013

Our room was okay. Not modern at all but for the price it was alright. The adjacent room had the squeakiest matress springs that I have ever heard. It was hilarious.
The pool was out of order. The service was good. The continental breakfast was average.
Over all a 3/5

Room Tip: All rooms were similar. Upstairs you can hear everone walking by on the metal outside walkway.I don...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scoblorby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

I apologize that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We strive to ensure that our guests stay meets their comfort level. Our pool is an outdoor pool so it is not open in the off season. Unfortunately, Calgary does not have a long summer season... or one that you can count on.
Our continental breakfast usually is enjoyed by our guests. It is not a hot breakfast; however we find most are happy with selection of muffins, danish, turnovers, toast, bagels, fruit, cereal, juices and coffee and tea.
We do appreciate hearing from our guests and look into matter brought to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Stayed at this hotel so my husband could attend remembrance parades at local legions with the pipe band he plays with and meet up with a fellow soldier he served with and hadnt seen in 25yrs. The hotel is a little bit dated but this only gave it character. To many modern hotels look so alike you wouldnt even know what country you were if not for the views out the windows.On checking in we met the receptionist and the manager. Both were exceptionally nice women and definately contributed to a lovely stay.They made us feel like we were old friends rather than customers and couldnt be more helpful in helping us find our way around Calgary. The evening receptionist was a very nice gentleman who directed us for food at a very late hour . Overall this hotel although it may need some updating in places was great value for money,the rooms were clean,nice and warm and spacious,but it was the staff who made this one of the best hotels I have stayed in worldwide ( and I have stayed in many all over the world some 4 stars some minus 4 lol )

Room Tip: Rooms further away from main road and reception will be quieter but we had no probs sleeping right n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dunnersmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your very kind review of this Canadas Best Value Inn. We try very hard to make sure that your stay with us is memorable and a positive experience. Our property is older; however our main goals always remain.... clean comfortable rooms and polite, friendly,professional staff. We believe in great service and and importance of a friendly face in the hospitality industry.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

very basic hotel. Clean, comfortable, quiet. And close to the university (~15 minute walk). About what you'd expect. Good for the price. I'd definitely stay here again. Why do I have to type 200 characters here? ok, taking up space, taking up space….

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank g-wrobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Thank you for your brief but informed response. Your comments contained lots of information to assist future guests in making a lodging decision.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We stayed at this hotel October 19th, 2013.
Found it to be very outdated.
Poor housekeepting with long black hair on top of toilet tank.
No bottled water or coffee in room and not much of a breakfast selection at office either.
Room not worth cost no value for money spent on this accomodation.
Would not stay again.

Room Tip: There are far better hotels in Calgary for the same cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013 via mobile

For the price we paid, it was nice hotel. The staff were exceptional though. Very friendly and accommodating. Although the hotel is a bit outdated, we had a clean room, wifi was ok, and breakfast was ok. We will consider this hotel again when we go back to Calgary.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Ditto917
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2013

Situated in the University district where accommodation options sit side by side. The motel provided adequate accommodation. The room was of good size and featured a flatscreen TV, two tables, microwave oven, and refrigerator (but no iron or ironing board). The room was clean but a strong smell of cleaning fluids when we first entered. Both the door to the unit and that to the bathroom stuck. Our unit was on the ground floor and we could hear other guests in adjoining and higher units quite easily. Breakfast was provided but is served right alongside check-in and is limited in space. There is a good pool. Complimentary internet access provided. A number of dining options are within metres of the motel including Boston Pizza, Phils Restaurant, Dennys and MacDonalds.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John_M255115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 October 2013

Thank you for your review. I apologize that you were not given a courtesy phone call after checking in as we would have been able to provide you with an ironing board and iron. These items are available upon request. We understand how valuable these reviews are for future customers and your honest review will be of assistance for them.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#92 of 109 in Calgary
201 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Address: 2416 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £48 - £61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing