We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Canadas Best Value Inn
Ranked #67 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Winnipeg, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 3 May 2014

I stayed here for 5 days. Great place to stay. Staff is outstanding. They are friendly and very helpful. I was impressed by level of cleanliness the hotel maintains. Breakfast was good. I found the cheap rate using value club card. Just be the member of value club and you will get the discounted rate which is cheaper then all other third party websites.!! Overall I enjoyed my stay without any trouble.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Vaib83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for staying with us on your stay to Calgary. Our Housekeeping department works very hard at ensuring that a clean and comfortable room is their number one priority.
We are glad you joined the Value Club Program. The program is free to join and the savings are worth the couple of minutes it takes to join on line or at the Front Desk.
Please remember it can be used at over the 1000 properties across North America.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    39
    91
    50
    21
    19
See reviews for
53
69
24
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Pros:
Good enough if you're not looking for something fancy but just for a place to sleep.
Rooms are reasonably priced, warm and very clean.
The stuff is extremely friendly and helpful, I was impressed.
Good enough fridge, TV, beds and shower.
Location close to everything that I could think of for a two nights stay.
Join their club to get cheaper rate.

Cons:
Continental Breakfast is ok, though from not highly-processed food there are only coffee and milk.
It was frustrating that the rate online was cheaper than at the counter and I had to spend half an hour trying to book it from my slow phone Internet while already being inside the office.
You can hear people in another rooms like they are in your room, bring the ear plugs.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vptrsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to visit Trip Advisor. I will look into why there was not a rate close to the rate that you ended up getting by booking on-line. We cannot match all rates; however we know the rates of the third party sites and usually do our best to assist the guest. The total customer service experience is important to us and we want your stay to be comfortable and not frustrating.
Our continental breakfast does provide toast and bagels in addition to various breakfast pastries of danish, turnovers and muffins. We do have 3-4 types of cereal, juice, coffee, tea and fruit.
We strive to provide a variety for the continental breakfast.
We hope to see you on a future visit to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cranbrook, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Even though this is an older place and in desperate need of updating, it was very clean and comfortable. The beds and pillows were soft and inviting. The room was too warm and didn't cool down much even though we ran the air conditioner all night. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The building itself isn't very soundproof between rooms but we didn't hear any outside noises. The water in the shower went from scalding hot to cold within a few seconds and the "cold" tap water was more like luke warm. We didn't have the breakfast but it looked very good with fresh pastries, bagels and bread. All in all, it was an alright place for the price.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the upper floor as the rooms aren't very soundproof and you could hear...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tacey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for taking time to visit Trip Advisor. Our building is definately older; however we work very hard to make sure the rooms are extremely clean and that we have helpful and friendly staff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

I'm really kind of torn on how to rate this place.
First off, the staff is outstanding. We had an issue with the first room we were put in, and the lady working the front desk was very apologetic, friendly and addressed the issue right away. Very helpful during check in, everything was outstanding.

But the condition of the place needs to be addressed. The issue in our first room was the hot water in the shower. The tap was extremely hard to turn, and when eventually we got it moving, there was a slight trickle of hot water and nothing else. The rest of the bathroom wasn't in great condition either. Caulking along the side of the sink was half peeled up and desperately needed to be redone. Water damage marks on the ceiling. Just not well maintained

Like I mentioned, we were moved and second room had no water issues, but still needed some work badly. The bathroom roof had a large chunk missing from what looked like water damage that just wasn't patched up. And the bathroom floor...it was tile, but was uneven and the tile though still stuck to the ground was shattered in hundreds of pieces that you could feel move as you walked on it.

I do a lot of home renos and renos for rental companies, and this is easy fix stuff. Caulking a bathroom can be done for cheap in a couple hours. Re-tiling a small bathroom floor takes some more work than that, but still isn't an overly expensive/difficult fix. I do get that the place is old and dated, and I have no issue with that. The wood paneling on the walls might be ugly, but it was clean and maintained. But some of the easy to address stuff being ignored is troublesome.

We only had a one night stay and the bedding was clean, beds decently comfortable, and though it seemed noisy during the day we had no issues at night. I want to rate it higher based on the staff and having an ok sleep at a decent price, but this place needs some work.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We appreciate your honesty and we thank you for acknowledging the hard working front desk staff. We understand your frustrations and in this industry we realize that the entire guest experience is what is important. I have made special note of your review and have passed this one on to ownership. It is important that everyone be aware of particular concerns and areas that can be easily addressed as you have noted.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014 via mobile

First if all the hotel is outdated, old and stingy. The staff are very rude and the beds are uncomfortable. Upon check out we were told we had to pay a $200 fine for a 8lb dog in a no dog room which we had specifically told them we had a dog. This is unacceptable! We will never be staying at a canadas best value inn ever again!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Frizzleys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
I am sorry that your stay with us was not up to your expectations. We are clearly identified on our various websites that we have "designated" pet rooms. We specifically have room types that do not permit pets. We have a limited number available to accomodate guests with pets and as well those guests that have specific allergies, sensitivities and are are here on medical issues at the local hospitals that require very strict room requirements. This concern will be further explored. as this reservation was not made with us directly, and although the request for a rollaway cot was clearly stated in the comment section, there was not mention of a pet room requirement. We do want to work well with our reservation partners and if there is an area that can be improved upon we need to explore that. I always recommend to guests that if someone has a specific request whether it be a request for a pet room, main floor requirement, credit card type of payment or other concern that you always follow up with the property prior to arrival to ensure that any special request can be accomodated. This almost always will eliminate any difficulty or potential problem at check in.
I was very surprised at the comment of an uncomfortable sleep and that the staff are very rude. I understand your frustration; however we work very hard to provide excellent customer service and have always had favourable comments on our beds and a comfortable sleep.
I regret that you did not give our staff a chance to review policies that are posted at our check in counter when you checked out. We would have gladly moved you to a different room that was available at check in - if we knew that you were travelling with a pet family member.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turner Valley, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

I had a peaceful problem-free stay, the staff was friendly, and the accomodations were clean and well kept. Great place to stay if your not looking for ALL the bells and whistles. I am a simple person that enjoys simple things, no complications. Thanks fro the warm stay guys, I enjoyed myself!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your review of the Canadas Best Value Inn in Calgary. We are glad that your stay with us was a positive experience.
Our staff are truly dedicated to making sure your experience and stay with us is memorable.
Hope to see you again - and thank you for staying with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woodbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

The hotel is very old and have some outdated furniture. However, i was very impressed by level of cleanliness the hotel maintains. I have been to few hotels in Calgary with higher rating, but failed to pass outstanding cleanliness level. C.B.V don't have much to offer, but it makes it up to you by providing clean room and unbeatable cheap prices. The location is convenient to travel to downtown, and Denny's and other restaurants are just a walking distance. The hotel is good for tight budget. Besides good rates they also offer free continental breakfast which does help out to save on little cash.

Room Tip: I was in second floor and i liked the view not the best, but better than first floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FedGates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LoriCLM, General Manager at Canadas Best Value Inn, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Thank you for your honest comments and review of the property. It is very helpful to future guests to have other guests provide them with the information that will help them in making the best decision for their needs.
Our primary goal is always a clean and comfortable room and all of our staff are committed to that. Hope to see you again on a future trip to Calgary.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Northwest Calgary
Calgary North Thriftlodge
Calgary North Thriftlodge
#94 of 109 in Calgary
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#47 of 109 in Calgary
666 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Canadas Best Value Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Canadas Best Value Inn

Property: Canadas Best Value Inn
Address: 2416 16 Ave NW, Calgary, Alberta T2M 0M5, Canada (Formerly Royal Wayne Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Canadas Best Value Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Canadas Best Value Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Canadas Best Value Hotel Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing