We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Second stay, changed our minds about this place” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Plymouth, MI
Level Contributor
187 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Second stay, changed our minds about this place”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2011

We were fairly pleased with our room 336, & service the first time we stayed here. Although, the room is very small, we had a pleasant view--it faced the Olympic ski jump area across the street. However, when we booked this hotel 1 week later, our mind was quickly changed. The desk clerk said a new policy was in effect & had to charge us a $250 damage deposit to be refunded when we checked out if the room was in good condtion. We left our room in perfect condition the first time, so past reputation had little influence. This room was on the second floor in the back. The view was of a business parking lot. The hallways were very hot, & the room air conditioner kept shutting off even when in the continious fan mode. Not quite the same. Both rooms are very small,the furniture is shabby & slightly beat up. Carpet needs to be replaced. No breakfast is served in the AM. It was a quiet hotel when we stayed both times.
There are many fast food restaurants within walking distance, plus a Denny's that really looked shabby. It is very close to major highways.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Teachall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    37
    55
    61
    30
    37
See reviews for
73
60
15
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2011

I stayed for one night only in a standard king size room. The bed was actually very comfortable. The view out of the bedroom was of the parking lot & the Olympic Park, the TV's could use an upgrade, and the living room furniture definately needs to be upgraded. Bathroom was nice. Everything looked clean so there were no issues there, the only thing that bothered me was that there was an instant smell of what I call "old ladies getting a perm" when I entered into the room. That was a little unpleasant but by the morning the smell either went away or I got adjusted to it. Other than that I had no issues. The staff was very friendly and answered all my questions.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CroChic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

My wife and I block booked a handful of rooms for our guests. Sandman management told us if we hit a certain 'quota' we can get a discount.
My wife and I got to the hotel around 1230am on the Sunday, the service was quick and the room we had was big and amazing. Jacuzzis and a nice shower was very nice.
We left early on Sunday morning too check out. Guest Services charged us on our credit card, then about 30 minutes later Sandman called me and told me it was a free because we exceeded our quota. I am amazed by that for being honest.
I would recommend this hotel too anyone who needs block book for weddings or family events!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marko P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, B.C.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2011

We arrived on Friday, August 26 for a two-night stay. The hotel was picked because of the proximity to a wedding we were attending and a special group rate had been given. On entering the lobby, it looked as though this tired, old hotel may have been renovated. The lobby was bright and obviously had new flooring, lighting, etc. We checked in and were shown to our "corporate suite", right across the hall from the swimming pool - not a good location. Upon entering the room it was evident this was a very old hotel that was in dire need of updating. The carpets were filthy and smelled. When I entered the bathroom there was hair on the floor and in the sink. The mirrors on the cupboard doors had obviously not been cleaned and had smudges and dirt all over them. My husband and I promptly walked to the front desk and advised that we would not be staying. There was no manager on staff as it was "the weekend". Pretty bad for a hotel to have no management available over a busy summer weekend. Even the reduced price was too high considering that no breakfast is included either and the overall condition of the hotel is deplorable. We left the hotel, drove to the nearest Hampton Inn, got a clean, updated room for the same price that included a hot breakfast. Sandman never again!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JVandJC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2011

I don't usually make reviews but this one made us a little upset so I thought I would warn people!
So first of all we booked our hotel stay through Expedia and were told we had only a few hours if we needed to make a cancellation. Well for the first time we needed to cancel. I called expedia and he told me to call sandman and I did And they told me expedia needs to cancel so when I called expedia they said we could not cancel. There not sure why the guy that booked us said we could cancel cause they do not cancel for any occasion!
When we got to the hotel the guy at front desk did not need my confirmation number just my visa.. Then gave us the keys.
We got to the room and it's not what we booked on expedia! It was two double beds and super small! The Expedia guy told us we could not book anyother room cause we have a baby under the age of 1 yr. We had to book the corporate king. I called down and the guy told us this was an upgrade from the corporate king. I said I paid for a king I want a king. ( through expedia they charge you the second they get your credit card #) so we had to go down and finally we get our room.
Next thing the lights and air conditioning did not work. But tge room was nice.
So in all the corporate king is Pretty much what you pay for. It's a really nice room.. When everything works! Service is horrible!

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ajukilo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

The service here was great and the room was very clean. We will definitely be back again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Matthew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2011

The hotel is in a great location and has a nice bar/food downstairs, but the room we wee given was small and getting a little tired with a noisy a/c unit.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank turaguides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#45 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites, Calgary Airport
Northwest Calgary
BEST WESTERN PLUS Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing