We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great - A must see part of the world...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Great - A must see part of the world...”
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We ttok a trip to Calgary in September for a wedding and decided to stay here as it was close to the ceremony and where our friends lived. I had of course read the numerous reviews on here and I was very apprehensive about paying good money to stay in a sub standard Hotel. We booked the jacuzzi room for the four nights we were in Calgary and this room was really comfortable and spacious. The Hotel is opposite the olympic village and this was our view from the bedroom, we were offered what side of the hotel we would like to stay on and this is the side to pick as the view form the other side is a bit industrial. This was my first time to Canada and as with everywhere we went the people were the most friendly I have encountered on my travels, the hotel staff being no exception, they were courteous, friendly and extremely helpful with any query. We really liked the room, air con was brialliant as it was high 20's and 32 degrees the day of the wedding. In saying this though, the heating and humidity in the hallways and the elevator was unbearable, we also heard a couple complain that it was worse down at the swimming pool. We didnt complain about this as we spent very little time in the Hotel so maybe there is a perfectly reasonable explanation for this.
We ate in the Denny's attached to the Hotel on a couple of morning's, WOW they do big breakfast's - will keep you going for the day. There is also a Bar attached to the Hotel, we popped in here on two nights and had a ball with the staff and locals.
Overall, we really enjoyed our stay at this Hotel, spotless room, great size and very practical for heading into the Rockies, Banff etc...
P.S. This part of the world is a must to see...Banff is like a town from a disney movie - I can only imagine what it is like with snow...

Room Tip: Jacuzzi room facing the Olypmic village is my recommendation - they also have rooms with balconies o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank perecallaghan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

225 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    57
    62
    30
    38
See reviews for
73
61
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Leduc, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

After driving across the country this was our last stop before edmonton. Check in was a breeze. Room was small and cramped, hair in the bathroom, strange red mark on the floor by the bed. when my fiance slid into bed he got coated in squished berries. DISGUSTING. room service said they'd call us right back. they didnt. this was 11pm!. we went down and they gave us a key to another room. it hadnt been cleaned. front desk didnt believe us and made us go all the way back up there dragging our things a 2nd time! put us in another room that smelt like pot. the fridge was hard to open from sticky filth. bathroom had face cloths on the floor. Sheets had a hole. Were told manager would help next morning. we were given a 30 dennys gift card. which didnt even cover our meal. night. from. hell.

Room Tip: dont stay here. period. unless you want to be surrounded by filth.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cherri75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 September 2012

In all my travels, I have never experienced such rude service from a front desk staff member - his name is Jeremy.

I was told that if I did not allow the hotel to put a $250 hold on my credit card for charging privileges, he would not give me my hotel keys - even though my room was already paid for. There was nothing on my reservation email or reservation form that stated I had to allow this and was ridiculous as I wasn't going to charge anything. I have stayed in four and five star resorts that do not do this.

I asked to speak to a manager and was told no one was on duty until the next morning (I checked in at dinner time). However, the in-room directory stated that there is always a manager on duty and to request one if necessary.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel unless you wanted to be treated rudely - especially by Jeremy at the front desk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1035traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 29 September 2012
Thank for your response for your last stay. We have checked your reservation and as the reservation was made online by yourself and not via a 3rd party site like Expedia/Travelocity your credit card was not charged at time of reservation. With all reservations we do require the guests to have a valid credit card along with ID to ensure safety of your information. The $250 as mentioned is to cover the Room and Taxes for your reservation and to provide you with charging privileges for the onsite restaurant and lounge along with pay per view movies and phones. We do apologize for the inconvience this may have caused.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 20 September 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel. When I went to check in a disgruntled employee was complaining about his work place to a friend on the phone. He seemed flustered when he began the check in process with me. When I entered the room there was the sound of running water when I entered. Upon inspection, I discovered the toilet was running because the valve inside the tank was not properly seated (easy fix). Not so pleasing was the pubic hair on the toilet seat and the used Kleenex under the sink. The room itself was spacious and the seating area nicely separated the bed from the rest of the room. Overall the finishes in the room were nice, but the room should have been cleaner.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Ron N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnaby, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2012

I was booked for a family reunion in this hotel and had heard from someone who had stayed at the hotel last year it wasn't a nice place at all. I was pleasantly surprised.

Although there were a few issues - our room type was incorrectly booked by the sandman as a king suite, we had been told we could check in early and our room was ready only to be told it wasn't when we arrived, and finding a dead fly on the windowsill when we first arrived, everything else was good! The room (301) was very nice, clean (except for the above) and while I wasn't impressed that the orginal two bed request had turned into a king and a hide a bed, the sofa bed wasn't too bad after all according to my son. The biggest complaint I had was the wifi was painfully slow, almost non existent. For a company as large as sandman is, this should have been much better than what it was.

Overall, I would stay there again without hesitation and would recommend it.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My family (two kids, two adults) stayed in a Suite. King bed, double sofa.

The hotel isn't the newest, some of the furnature is a bit dated....but it is clean. In the living room area we had an older TV (not flat screen), but in the bed room there was a flat screen mounted to the wall.

The kig bed was comfy, and the kids said the soaf bed was comfortable too. There is a pool and a hot tub (sorry kids, no water slide), but it is close to Calaway Park. It is within walking distance to Denny's (attached), McDonalds and Subway.

Someone complained that in a room this size there are only two sets of towels. That's true, but all you have to do is ask for an extra set or two. If you don't ask, don't complain.

Like I say, average, but really, that's ok!!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dhschatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2012

We stayed here as it was close to Calaway park. We as a family were excited for the room we rented for a night as it was a loft. We settled in and went for supper at Dendys (food could be way better, should of ate at Wendy's). We went back to our room, and then I noticed how dirty the floor was. It looked as if it wasn't cleaned in awhile, the bathroom was even dirtier.. We couldn't check out either as hotels nearby and closer to downtown were booked solid. We had no choice to stay here. It was time for bed and as I pulled back the sheets I found a WORM in the bed. Called front desk and the gentleman was NO help and couldn't change our rooms as they were full too. He came and inspected the wiggling worm, came back with fresh sheets and told us we had to make the bed as he DIDN'T want to. We were shocked and very unhappy at this point and tried to call numerous hotels and couldn't get anything. The gentleman then took the worm and told us he will advise his supervisor of the situation. Good thing we took a picture!!! To our surprise no one at the front desk the next morning knew of the situation... At this point we were pissed and just wanted to leave..... We will NEVER stay here again...

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dene-roots
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 9 August 2012
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time and providing us the feedback on your stay. We have investigated the matter further and this was an isolated issued with the worm you found on your bed. Housekeeping department has also been notified of this situation to ensure that this doesn’t get repeated. Our records do indicate that our staff did try to rectify the concern brought up in the morning by providing 50% off the room rate. If this is not correct please contact the hotel directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#44 of 109 in Calgary
665 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Southeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary South
Northeast Calgary
Sandman Hotel Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #86 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing