We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My favourite Calgary hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Drumheller
Level 6 Contributor
92 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“My favourite Calgary hotel.”
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Back again, love the west side location that gets me on the highway to Banff easily. Great room, squeaky clean as usual and had a great sleep on the sofa bed. Thanks Sid for your hospitality. Your staff are always "the best" in the industry.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pzwolfDrumheller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 17 May 2013
Thank you for your time and kind words regarding your stay. Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    59
    65
    30
    38
See reviews for
77
61
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Manitoba
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I wish I could give this zero stars but since I can't, it gets one. My family had booked in as part of a group staying there, I was impressed with the actual building and lobby. Thought things looked good. It started to go downhill from there. Our room was cleaned ONCE in the 4 nights we were there, I had to locate towels everyday myself for my family of 4 as they never once left me towels. Once they would only give me 2 becausse they were "short of towels". When I found us towels/cloths they always had hairs on them still, nothing you want to wipe your face with.One of the male housecleaners smelled to Body Odor so badly you could smell it down the hallway from where he was working! When I tried to explain this all to the night manager he didn't want to hear any of it...just kept interrupting me and telling me to tell this to the housekeeping staff or the day staff. He wanted nothing to do with it. I usually understand if this happened one day or you had a couple of things go wrong from what you expected. But this happened to more than just my family in our booking group of about 12 rooms. I thought the Denny's was actaully pretty good, staff was pleasant and prompt, food was good. But the staff looking after the hotel need to all be replaced or trained in how to clean, supply a hotel room and deal with customers!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebT69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback. All rooms a cleaned and checked by the Housekeeping Supervisor daily. The reason for any room not getting done daily is when a guest leaves a Do Not Disturb Card on the door requesting privacy. This can always be corrected as we do have evening staff in housekeeping so if the Front Desk staffs was contacted anytime during the stay we could have corrected this. I personally welcome the opportunity to discuss this further so you can contact the hotel directly at 403-288-6033.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calgary hotels

Melita, Mb
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Hotel looked great from outside and were greeted nicely, stayed 4 nights and whole place got worse and worse as we stayed! Cleaning staff is BRUTAL, Lazy, and never around! Garbage never cleaned inside or outside of Hotel.. Staff at lounge and Dennys classless and ignorant!!
No management anywhere in the hotel. You asked for a review and you got it, would never stay there again if it was the last place in Alberta!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bert K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melita Mb
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

I really wish I had looked on trip advisor before booking our hockey team in here. It was close to the rink, but at a horrible cost to the team. There is an access door to the hotel on the ground level with the glass broken out of it. Cardboard is taped in its place. The key card doesnt work on the door but thats ok because it opens with out it. Who knows how many non hotel guests have taken a stroll through the hotel. Rooms were dirty, not messy but unclean and unhealthy. ours went 2 days without being cleaned. Mildew is present in the grout in the shower. General manager was non existant throughout our stay. Service in pub and restaraunt was horrible. Staff were quoted as telling my 10 year old that it was too late to stop running in the hall as they had called the cops on him. He cried all night. Pool had way too much chlorine in it. Had to buy eye drops for the kids. Awful staff. Awful ammenties. Unfortunately, awful hotel chain now too. Never again will I try this chain. Too many choices to bother risking it again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stinger-Nation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 4 April 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for taking the time in providing your feedback. All rooms a cleaned and checked by the Housekeeping Supervisor daily. Regarding the concern about the General Manager not being on site it has been noted. However there is a Manager on Duty all weekend long to handle any such concerns. As per the concern regarding the pool, we have to check the pool chemical levels twice a day as per local regulations and submit samples to the local health board. If there were any issue we would have been contacted by them. The only reason for any discomfort for a 10 Year Old would be due to excessive use of the pool. Any other concerns please feel free to contact me at 403-288-6033 to discuss further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

Have stayed here on business trips 3-4 times and each time got progressively worse. The final stay was the worst. Most of the lights in the room didn't work. Broken desk tools for computer equipment. No complaints about the customer service. But still wont stay here ever again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank M B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this review, 2 March 2013
Thank your time in providing the feedback for your stay. I apologize that you had a bad experience for your last stay with us. Please contact me directly at 403-288-6033 so we are given an opportunity to correct what hapened with your stay and to ensure you that it will not be repeated for any further stays.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

I don't usually write reviews but feel compelled to do so in this case. From the moment we checked in, to the moment we checked out, this hotel disappointed significantly. We expected a decent, clean hotel that would be good quality for the reasonable price. We were travelling with a group and had booked multiple days for dozens of rooms. Instead, what we found were dirty rooms (some beds had hairs in them upon arrival), numerous people had to change rooms after checking in, very smelly rooms (either smelling very bad or overly perfumed to hide the bad smell), and even leftover dirty clothes in drawers. Bathrooms were not cleaned each day, towels were not consistently provided, and they actually ran out of towels at the hotel and had to go out and buy them. Our numerous complaints to the front desk staff were not met with any kind of a service orientation. One of our group had flowers delivered to them and the flowers sat behind the desk for over a day without notification. Yes, it was a good location and had a nice lobby, but that is where it stopped. The carpets were dirty, chesterfields in suites were smelly, and rooms smelled to the extent that everyone in our group slept with the windows wide open in February in Calgary! The meeting room we had booked in advance was not made available, and the list of issues goes on on and on. Bottom line, I would not recommend this hotel for either individual or group stays.

Room Tip: Our room overlooked the beautiful view of the ski hill. That was lovely but because the rooms smelle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patti E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

We only stopped over for one night but had a good time in the brief stop to recoup. Raced off the Calgary Tower for dinner and had a large room overlooking the Olympic Park for the 1980's (I wasn't born yet, but around then). Great reception staff and experience Denny's for breakfast. Well recovered we continued our journey.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#46 of 109 in Calgary
674 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing