We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Ottawa, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Comfortable and convenient”
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Location is close to some of the main arteries of Calgary and since Calgary is so spread out you have to drive almost anywhere you plan to go. Front desk staff were very helpful. Standard rooms do not have a fridge which my husband requires for medicine. Instead of bringing a small fridge to the room we were upgraded to a suite which had not only a fridge but small microwave and dishes. Windows opened. Small pool and hot tub that we didn't use but we did get to the bike in the gym. Breakfast was a bit complicated until we bought some things for our room. You need a car for this location.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    59
    65
    30
    38
See reviews for
77
61
16
42
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Surrey, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location clean rooms excellent beds, no bath, shower only. Suggest fridges in room none in mine. Close to highway #1 and not too for from shopping. Denny's restaurant attached lots of parking. Seems to have a lot of teenage hockey teams using hotel, but they were well behaved

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Haggisbasher1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emerald Park, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The front desk staff was excellent and very helpful.The rooms were clean,mattresses were very comfortable,Location is excellent,close to perimeter highway and shopping was an easy 10 minute drive in a new outdoor mall.I would suggest that the rooms be equipped with a min-fridge for traveling convenience.Air conditioning did work,in our room,but,the lobby and hallways were like a sauna;I pity the staff who have to work in those conditions.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianSandy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just returned from a week in Calgary and we stayed here at the Sandman opposite the Olympic Park. Location is very easy to get to, plenty of free parking, and also easy to get to rest of Calgary from here, 10 minute drive to downtown or easy access on to all major trials. We stayed in a ground floor room which had a double and 2 twins, bathroom and kitchen facilities with fridge and microwave. Each bedroom had a TV which worked well having a nearly 3 year old with us, so times we were in the room she could watch the childrens channels. Good service here and rooms cleaned and made up daily, Denny's next door was good for breakfast but there are also other restaurants at same location. Hotel has a small pool and hot tub which we used and a also a gym which we didn't use as on holiday :-) Overall we had a pleasant stay only bad point was the room even with the aircon got warm as the windows were afternoon sun facing and we had hot weather (which was nice). I would stay here again, it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank UK_Fell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peachland, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (July,26,27,28/2013). The service was very good & pleasant ,friendly. We were very busy ,in & out as many wedding activities to attend.This was the choice hotel for most of the guests attending the wedding including some from Germany,Toronto,Ottawa,Kelowna & many parts in between.There were always apples & granola bars out for the taking & rooms were comfortable. As it was a wedding there was a discounted rate which was quite reasonable given this was prime summer time.The Denny's attached to the Sandman was exceptionally busy given the time of year & all us rowdy wedding guests.They did a great job taking care of us all @ breakfast times(our group of 16 & various other smaller groups @any given time) thanks Denny's staff for your great service!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbit07les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Dee
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Our family of 5 booked a room for the night to be able to visit Calaway Park on the tail end of our holiday. We checked in with wonderful service, and was pleasantly surprised at how nice the lobby was, we walked off the elevator got into our room and the room was nicely decorated, looked very clean. We changed and went swimming in the very TINY pool, the hot tub was glorious, the water was nice and hot but unfortunately it was dangerous getting in on the ladder and I cut my foot open on the tiles. We went back up to our room where we discovered what we think was mouse droppings on the top cover of the bed, as we spent more time in the room we discovered that the room was very run down, the base boards were damaged in places and had splinters coming off of them, the coffee pot was horrible to try to get working and I had to dust it off to be able to use it, the microwave's door kept popping open while being used and the tv was to big for the stand and you couldn't even see it from all the seating in the room. The beds were extremely uncomfortable and the pillows were cheap and so tiny that your head was pretty much on the mattress. The next morning on our way to check out we discovered that one of the elevators was stuck and couldn't be used so the wait was long. Check out was easy and the service was friendly but overall our experience was that this hotel is an over-priced disappointment. Next time will will pay a few more bucks and stay across the street at the Four Points!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedDeerfamilytrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auburn, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

The hotel is a real steal. Our accessible room was very comfortable and well designed for a wheelchair traveler. The limited room service (from the attached Denny's) wasn't something I thought we'd need but it ended up coming in handy. Denny's is...well, Denny's...but having a 24 hour restaurnat attached to the hotel is nice. The front desk staff, however, was the highlight of our visit. My wife had to write a tribute for the funeral of her sister in law (our reason for making the trip) and while she had her laptop computer, we had no easy way to print it off. We could have gone to the business center but that would have taken time that we did not have. The front desk agreed to have her email her talk to them, and they printed several copies for us while we got ready to race to the funeral. No charge. That act of kindness and consideration was a rare bright spot in what otherwise would have been a tough few days. The rates were extremely fair...less than I would have expected to pay for the quality of the place. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Face away from the Trans Canada Highway...the noise isn't bad but sirens go by frequently.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#46 of 109 in Calgary
674 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Property: Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Southall Travel, Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing