We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ho hum”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 6 October 2013

My difficulties began with my reservation. The group number I had was not recognized by the telephone agent. I booked anyway, then phoned a direct contact person (at my cost) who corrected the reservation rate and upgraded my room (nice). At arrival at 6 p.m. There was one desk agent on the phone and 3 people waiting to check in. The room was as promised. But had some servicing shortcomings: crumbs on floor, packet of decaf only and an empty toilet roll holder (there was a backup). When I called at 10 p.m. for a wake-up call (twice) there was no answer. Servicing the next day was deficient also. My soiled towel (left in the tub) was left, but the clean bath mat was taken and not replaced. There are mostly just fast-food/Denny's within close proximity.

Room Tip: Top floor should be quieter. But the elevators are slow
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

113 - 119 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We booked a Corporate King Size Suite with bedroom and living room. There is also a small kitchenette with microwave and fridge and complementary coffee and tea. Bathroom is small. Check in and check out were fast. Receptionist is nice and helpful. They have a small gym and swimming pool. Our room was overlooking to the Olympic Park and it was nice sunny. Bed was convenient. My complaint is the cleaning. Hairs are everywhere; the towels, linen, floor, carpet….everywhere. And this is very disgusting. The carpet is overused and dirty. There was no vacuum cleaning in the room during our 2 nights. I think the cleaner just changes the towels she did not remove the used coffee filters from the coffee machine either.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Krisztina234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2013

Location is close to some of the main arteries of Calgary and since Calgary is so spread out you have to drive almost anywhere you plan to go. Front desk staff were very helpful. Standard rooms do not have a fridge which my husband requires for medicine. Instead of bringing a small fridge to the room we were upgraded to a suite which had not only a fridge but small microwave and dishes. Windows opened. Small pool and hot tub that we didn't use but we did get to the bike in the gym. Breakfast was a bit complicated until we bought some things for our room. You need a car for this location.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrinketTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Great location clean rooms excellent beds, no bath, shower only. Suggest fridges in room none in mine. Close to highway #1 and not too for from shopping. Denny's restaurant attached lots of parking. Seems to have a lot of teenage hockey teams using hotel, but they were well behaved

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Haggisbasher1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

The front desk staff was excellent and very helpful.The rooms were clean,mattresses were very comfortable,Location is excellent,close to perimeter highway and shopping was an easy 10 minute drive in a new outdoor mall.I would suggest that the rooms be equipped with a min-fridge for traveling convenience.Air conditioning did work,in our room,but,the lobby and hallways were like a sauna;I pity the staff who have to work in those conditions.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BrianSandy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2013

Just returned from a week in Calgary and we stayed here at the Sandman opposite the Olympic Park. Location is very easy to get to, plenty of free parking, and also easy to get to rest of Calgary from here, 10 minute drive to downtown or easy access on to all major trials. We stayed in a ground floor room which had a double and 2 twins, bathroom and kitchen facilities with fridge and microwave. Each bedroom had a TV which worked well having a nearly 3 year old with us, so times we were in the room she could watch the childrens channels. Good service here and rooms cleaned and made up daily, Denny's next door was good for breakfast but there are also other restaurants at same location. Hotel has a small pool and hot tub which we used and a also a gym which we didn't use as on holiday :-) Overall we had a pleasant stay only bad point was the room even with the aircon got warm as the windows were afternoon sun facing and we had hot weather (which was nice). I would stay here again, it had everything we needed.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UK_Fell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights (July,26,27,28/2013). The service was very good & pleasant ,friendly. We were very busy ,in & out as many wedding activities to attend.This was the choice hotel for most of the guests attending the wedding including some from Germany,Toronto,Ottawa,Kelowna & many parts in between.There were always apples & granola bars out for the taking & rooms were comfortable. As it was a wedding there was a discounted rate which was quite reasonable given this was prime summer time.The Denny's attached to the Sandman was exceptionally busy given the time of year & all us rowdy wedding guests.They did a great job taking care of us all @ breakfast times(our group of 16 & various other smaller groups @any given time) thanks Denny's staff for your great service!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelbit07les
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 110 in Calgary
700 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #84 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £61 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing