We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Inconvenient Truth: Don't Stay Here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This hotel seemed to have everything going for it (on paper): location, wonderful staff on check-in, and the lobby/hallways are clean and modern. As other reviewers have said though, it all stops here.

Our room was what you would expect from a highway motel. Wallpaper is wilting/peeling on all walls, our lampshade had mysterious brown spray on it, our carpet and mattress had major burns on them (see my photos). The bed linen was clean thankfully, but once we settled in to sleep, a -terrible- constant and loud (drilling?) sound started. We were on the top floor in a corner room, and the sound was clearly from the exterior, though I can't imagine what would cause it. At this point, I popped onto Trip Advisor (which i honestly wish I had done before booking) and saw the mountain of terrible reviews pointing out all of the same. Having just witnessed another guest complaining in the lobby to the poor woman who was so helpful and courteous during our check-in, we decided not to even bother calling down about the sound or state of our room. Why bother the helpless front desk staff who undoubtedly hear all the same complaints regularly?

Considering the other reviews here, and witnessing the issues first hand, I don't see this hotel improving at all. If you have the foresight to read this in advance, just stay away. I'm sure the hotel will continue to have a steady stream of unsuspecting passers' through, Travelocity bargain hunters, and young undiscerning snowboarders. Spend the extra cash, and stay at Four Points.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kristin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am terribly sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. I would like to investigate the issues you addressed; however, without guest name or room number, I am unable to look into this further. I would like to speak to you about the concerns you addressed, so that I can remedy them. Please contact me directly at 403-288-6033 or you can email me at gm_calwest@sandman.ca.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 11 February 2014

The room was dirty - there was a dirty towel hanging on the back of the washroom door, the nightstand had food all over it, there was garbage from the previous occupants left on the lower shelf of the night stand, the windows didn't open and the thermostat didn't work, the bathroom light flickered all night until I finally took out the bulb and the room smelled stale and dusty - we had to run the air conditioner all night to try and get some sort of air circulation but we couldn't lower the temp and so we sweat all night and wished we had earplugs for the loud fan.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helen O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gm_calwest, General Manager at Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West, responded to this reviewResponded 13 February 2014

Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. I am sorry to hear that your stay with us was not enjoyable. Unfortunately, without a guest name or date of stay, I am unable to look into the complaints further. Housekeeping standards are very important to us; room inspections are conducted on a daily basis by both the Housekeeping Supervisor and myself, the General Manager. The housekeeping deficiencies listed in this complaint are not our usual standard. Helen O., if you could contact me directly, I would like to discuss your stay with you. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The lobby is very nice, modern and inviting. Once you get into the hallways to the rooms, the journey begins. Dirty, cold, old carpet, can't imagine the last time they were vacuumed! We changed rooms 3 times because they were all dirty! Their standards for "house keeping" are pretty low indeed. Dust balls in the closet, on the bathroom shelves and under the end tables were so big they couldn't be missed. Once again, the carpets in the rooms appeared to NOT have been vacuumed, obvious "stuff" in plain view. Dirty glasses and mugs as well as a wet dishcloth (stinky). Bathroom sink had toothpaste splatters on the mirror and stem of the tap. Black gunk behind the tap had not been cleaned off for some time to have gotten to that point. Furniture looked like they picked it out of a thrift shop: dated, chipped, gouged & fraying fabric. All 3 rooms were in the same condition! We will never stay at another Sandman again based on this experience. Go to the Four Seasons across the street...

Room Tip: Sorry, no good rooms here...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 3under
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2013

Stayed at hotel for 3 nights in december and the hall ways were very, very cold. I usually keep the temperature set around 18-20c when I got into my room on the 4th floor, (ok view of highway and COP) the temp was set at 22 and the room was 27, alright i will drop the thermostat and open the window but the window has been bolted shut and after setting the temp to 18 2 hours later it was down to 26c. This let to my first interaction with the very pleasant and helpful desk staff who ended up using a power bar as a extension cable to get the power cord for the air con to reach a different plugin because the normal one did not work, while admitting that they know lots of things are broken but management doesn't seem to care. Lastly for some ungodly reason all of the inner doors are locked were locked all of the time, even the main ones right in front of the desk and nether the key reader or the being "buzzed" in by the people at the front desk causing them to run around and open the door for after a short wait. Good people, Slow internet, lots of kid noise a little pricy for the room you get.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

This hotel looks to have had some renovations recently. Pretty evident as older carpet was in the hallways. Good to see these hotels keeping up with the times, have to hand it to Sandman.

Very close location to the Calgary Olympic Park (right across the street) and very handy if you are looking to leave Calgary to the west or hit the Stony Trail to the south.

If you've been to Sandman you know what to expect however it's clean, comfy and doesn't disappoint.

Customer service was excellent as the person running the front desk asked questions I've never been asked in high level quality hotels. Very impressive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaunEdm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2013

This is a convenient location if you're going to be spending a lot of time at the Olympic Park for team events etc. It is slightly further back from the highway than the Sheraton across the street and so a but quieter. As noted in other reviews it is a tired looking place. The King suite we stayed in wasn't much of a suite. The "living room" was long and narrow and so it was hard for 4 people to create a space for conversation. The hotel hosts a lot of teams and can be noisy at times. The Denny's restaurant in the hotel is always crowded and noisy and we found the hotel bar to be a much better place to eat. Hotel seemed very warm considering the time of year. We turned off the heating and opened a window to maintain an appropriate temperature. Of course, the open window let in a lot more noise at night. Bed was okay but the pillows were not. Small but functional exercise facility.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Trans Canada have highway noise. Rooms facing the back have truck activity. Proba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Harry J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

The hotel needs a facelift. Rugs in the hallways are stained and the sofa in my suite was showing its age. TV in the bedroom was small and had a dark picture. The price was right, a king bed suite for $159 CAN, but it feels old.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlbertaboundEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northwest Calgary
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
Days Inn Calgary Northwest
#48 of 109 in Calgary
698 reviews
Northwest Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites By Hilton Calgary- University Northwest
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northwest Calgary
Best Western Plus Village Park Inn
Northwest Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Calgary NW-Banff Trail
Northwest Calgary
Travelodge Calgary University
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West

Address: 125 Bowridge Dr NW, Calgary, Alberta T3B 3R6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northwest Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #83 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range: £65 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West 3*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located across the world-class Canada Olympic Park, along the Trans-Canada Highway, and only a short drive from downtown Calgary, Sandman Hotel Calgary West is the perfect choice whether travelling on business or pleasure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sandman Hotel & Suites Calgary West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandman Hotel And Suites Calgary West
Sandman Hotel Calgary West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing