We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Brunch Venue” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant

Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #64 of 3,490 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$32
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Bow Valley Ranche is a magnificent historical landmark tucked into a corner of Fish Creek Provincial Park, only a short drive from Calgary's downtown. Our intimate dining rooms highlight the elegant architecture of the site's original ranch house, constructed in 1896. The exquisite ambiance of the Bow Valley Ranche's tranquil setting is suited to any occasion, whether a celebratory family dinner, a romantic wedding or a special night out. Whatever your reason for coming to the Bow Valley Ranche, you will be enchanted by the elegant country atmosphere and dazzled by the fresh, locally-sourced Canadian cuisine.
Calgary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Brunch Venue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

An interesting and varied brunch menu. Our group had traditional eggs benedict, French toast and venison hash, all tasty and very well-presented. The service was good and the setting, on a spring day, very lovely. It's a great place to take out of town visitors, for something a bit different.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank carmcl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowValleyRanche, Public Relations Manager at Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for your comments! We hope you can come down and try us for lunch or dinner as well!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    34
    16
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
40 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Mother's Day Gong Show”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

We have been patronizing the Ranche for over 4 years on Mother's Day. Throughout this period we have enjoyed great food and service in the spectacular setting. We even had our wedding there! The Ranche has changed hands within the last year and we hope this past Mother's Day was not a sign of things to come.

Arriving well before our reservation time, we were faced with a looooong line out the door and down the walk. There was confusion among patrons as no staff were there to explain what was going on. Were those in line without reservations? Turned out EVERYBODY had reservations. I booked a private room upstairs almost 3 months ago (family tradition) and we ended up being herded into a side area with dozens of other diners and waited over 30 minutes to be seated -- and not where we booked. The staff seemed to be doing their best to cope (especially the fabulous maitre d' Donal) but it was a madhouse. Felt very badly for the grandmothers caught in the crush and left standing. We overheard people so frustrated, they were considering leaving.

There was food on our chairs and under our chairs. The buffet was outdoors out back under a tent. It seemed that an outside company assisted with the catering, judging by the trucks lined up beside the tent. Plates were ice cold, which meant any hot entree was too, by the time you got to your table. The selection was ok-- what you would hope to expect for 35$/plate. What was disappointing was the display of the food. Most of it looked like wolves had ravaged it. BIts and pieces everywhere. NOT appetizing!

The service was solid, as we have come to expect from the Ranche- although whomever answers the phone needs to be coached on manners/professionalism. I could have been calling a truck stop diner.

Although the food was fine, what did leave a bad taste in our mouths was the Ranche charging for coffee! It was fantastic coffee, but really, it ended up looking like a greedy corporate grab. Is that really worth the 2$ per person?

It was sad to see the Ranche sacrificing its integrity and charm to milk the Mother's Day crowd.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Withingmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowValleyRanche, Public Relations Manager at Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thank you for your feedback. We did face some challenges that day and learned from that experience. We very much value our patrons and we work hard every day to give you the best experience. We hope to be able to continue hosting your family on such an important day and maintain the tradition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Okotoks, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Unique country restaurant within city limits!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I have lived in the Calgary area for 26 years and biked passed this spot many times. I finally took my family there for Mothers day and it did not disappoint. The building is amazingly kept and I love how there are descriptions all around the properly giving information on the history. The food was absolutely great and prepared with the utmost of care. We had a seat beside the fireplace next to the window. Amazing ambiance for a romantic meal. On this occasion however (mothers day) service was a bit slow however this in understandable seeing how busy they were. We will definitely be back!

  • Visited May 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rsinghphoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowValleyRanche, Public Relations Manager at Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Thanks for your fantastic comments! We hope to see you again sometime soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
1 review
“Very Disappointing!”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We arrived for a family birthday celebration last evening to find a wedding in progress. The meal was ruined with screaming yes screaming children who where placed in a room beside our dining area for their entertainment. On two occasions overhead music was disrupted with the piping in of wedding speeches. We were constantly up and down out of our chairs to close the door to our dinning area just so we could hear each other talk. The noise level and disturbances were not addressed throughout the meal but rather at completion -where a staff member offered $25.00 gift certificate to come back at a later date. Very disappointing and certainly not an establishment that values good service!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank 223She
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowValleyRanche, Public Relations Manager at Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for your feedback. At the Bow Valley Ranche we are committed to providing a pleasant dining experience for all of our guests, we highly regret that this was not the case during your most recent visit. We agree that the noise levels that day were not acceptable, unfortunately the situation slipped out of our hands and it became very challenging for us to control the behaviour of our younger guests that day. We had originally planned for the group of kids to be upstairs to avoid any noise disruption, however things didn’t turn out how we intended. Thanks to your comments we have identified a few areas where we can improve and as of now we are implementing new procedures, such as informing customers if we have a wedding or another type of event happening that day before making a reservation, so that the customer is aware well before their visit and has the chance to proceed with the booking or make other plans. In addition we will be monitoring noise levels more closely during these events.

We also realize that our staff could have addressed the issue earlier in the evening. Aside from the noise levels, we trust that the quality of the food was great, so we hope that you can give us another try and surely next time around your experience will be much more pleasant and your next review will be more positive. We would like to offer you a special arrangement, please contact me directly at marketing@bvrrestaurant.com or 403.256.7150.

Regards,
Jessica Penalver-Cote
Marketing Manager - Bow Valley Ranche
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
248 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 142 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

Met some great friends for dinner at the Bow Valley Ranche, our first visit since new ownership, and it was outstanding. We arrived at 6 with reservations and greeted and seated very quickly. We started off with a little bubbly, an excellent suggestion from Jason, our server. After an hour of chit chat we ordered 4 beet salads, and we all raved. The salad was exellent, fresh, light and delicious. We then moved onto the spagheti squash ravioli with lamb loin, which we shared, which was very nice.

We ordered a bottle of wine with dinner off the extensive wine list. We settled on a medium priced wine, however the wine list has a very wide selection of quality and price.

For mains 2 of us had the Pecan Crusted Pork Tenderloin which we both agreed was excellent. The mushroom risotto accompanying the tenderloin was done to perfection. The other 2 in our party had the seafood dish, Artic Char, and both agreed these entrees were also very good.

We did finish our meal off with sweet desert.

The service and atmosphere at the ranche was excellent. The restaurant did fill up but we never felt rushed to give up our seat, and in fact we were amongst the last to leave.

Overall, great meal, great atmosphere and great service, highly recommended.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowValleyRanche, Public Relations Manager at Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience with us, David. The beet salad has been a big crowd favourite, we're glad to hear you enjoyed it as well. We hope you and your friends can come back soon to sample some of our other delicious items!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Bow Valley Ranche Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing