We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not much shakin”
Review of Shakers Fun Centre

Shakers Fun Centre
Ranked #29 of 88 Fun & Games in Calgary
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Shakers is a year 'round destination for anyone who likes to have fun! Go karting, mini golf, laser tag, wall climbing, huge arcade and more are here for you to enjoy! Host your birthday party, corporate event, team party or Christmas party with us!
Calgary
Level Contributor
92 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“not much shakin”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

The Shakers Family Fun Centre is a GREAT idea, unfortunately nobody has put any new energy into since the day it opened. Their token system is computerized now instead of punching out coupons, which truth be told was half the fun. The accumulation of tokens buys you precious little at the redemption counter. Too many of the machines are broken or malfunction when credits are applied leaving most kids with a disheartened response to a waste of tokens. The climbing wall is OK, the gym for little tots is fairly limited compared to Let's Play in the south of Calgary, the Laser Tag is OK, but becomes redundant quickly, the go carts for the children under the height limit are slow and pointless. The line up to the normal go carts is usually long and unrewarding.

I will not go back until someone at the ownership level agrees to change things up and/or fix what they have. It feels like patrons are being milked without them spending a dime on maintaining the place. Sadly this is the standard complaint for most family fun centres in Calgary, this is why Shakers was a breath of fresh air 5 years ago, sadly they have become the poster child for what ailed the other centres.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank hybridfuels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    24
    20
    16
    8
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Go Karts all day!”
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I came one day during the week with a couple friends and had a great time. It wasn't busy, so we didnt have to wait much for anything, which meant a ton of laps on the adult carts. Definitely worth your while to buy an unlimited pass for the day, especially if you stop and get it at the grocery store - It's $28 bucks at the centre, but the gift cards we found at Sobeys were only $22!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice place to spend a hot summer afternoon”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

We visited Shakers as a family. We found the staff to be very good. Attentive, helpful. We went mid-week, so it wasn't very busy. Hardly any wait and very few time limits. We also went using our Groupon deal which did make it good value for us. Generally the facility is clean, especially considering the number of people that must go through there. Outside the grounds could use more trees, shade is always a good thing!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KDKelowna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pricing”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Went there with the kids.
Decided I was going to buy a chocolate bar. The sign where all the food is listed said 1.50. I get to the till and the girl decides it is now 2.10. I ask her why and she said that's what the till said. I then asked her why she doesn't have a problem with the fact that they advertise one thing and charge another. Basically got a run around and then talked to the manager. For the most part the same thing she now seemed disappointed by the fact that she now had to spend tommorrow changing the board because someone actually noticed they were charging more than what the food board said. Amazed me.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Bonha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good but could use some upgrading”
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Took my 2 kids to Shakers. Personnel is good. Facilities are good ut could use some more attractions.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ALMarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Shakers Fun Centre also viewed

 

Been to Shakers Fun Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing