We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice new hotel!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grey Eagle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grey Eagle Resort
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Grande Prairie, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice new hotel!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

I was worried about noise because the hotel is attached to a Casino but the room was very quiet. Everything is very clean and the staff were very friendly. The pool is fairly small so it is meant for adults but that was very nice for us.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Desi2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Desi2001

Thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in this August. Some people are concerned about noise as we are attached to a casino and a multimillion dollar Event Centre that hold large events/concerts. The Hotel is completely separate from the other areas that make up the Resort, this is why we are a great destination for family's too.

I look forward in your next visit, thank you very much for the business!

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    343
    149
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
116
203
27
94
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We spent one night at the Grey Eagle Hotel. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hot breakfast was very good. The room was big, modern and very clean. We asked for a mountain view when booking and was nice to see that our request was granted when we checked into our room. The king size bed was extremely comfortable. the rooms are reasonably priced. We will be staying here on our next trip to Calgary...

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank KerriW6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello KerriW6

Thanks for staying at the new property, I am very pleased that we could accommodate your request with the best Mountain Views in Calgary! Make sure to request a mountain view on your next visit, I am sure we will be able to accommodate.

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

Very nice and spacious rooms with modern furniture, the hotel and rooms were very clean, we received excellent service from all employees from concierge, front desk and restaurant; the personnel was courteous and helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolelajeune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Nicolelajeune

Thank you very much for your message, we greatly appreciate your feedback and are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I will make sure to pass on the wonderful message to all the staff at the Resort.

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

We spent 3 nights and days in the Grey Eagle hotel. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Many of the staff is First Nation, which gives a special touch to the hotel. Breakfast is very good, with a bit variation in the buffet from day to day. The room was very good, really good beds and the curtains keep the light very well outside.
The pool seemed to contain too much chloride, the outside hot tub was too hot, the room was not really clean under the beds. We mentioned this to the staff, and they would take immediate action. They really want to be one of the best hotels around, so our impression was that everyone really did their best.
There is a casino around the corner, but except seeing it, we hardly noticed that it was there.
The staff at the reception was very helpful with maps and showing us the ongoing activities in the area.
It is very recommendable!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark63L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Mark63L

We appreciate your stay with us at the resort. We have approximately 35% of First Nation for staff which we are proud of. In regards to the Chlorine in the pool, I have spoken to our Facilities Manager at the Resort and he has adjusted the level. Thank you very much for your comments, we look forward to seeing you soon!

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

To have this superior Hotel up and running in such a short period of time is amazing! Breathtaking view of the Rocky Mountains with nothing to see but natural landscape. The room was so spacious and modern, loved the fact there was no carpet. Staff were so helpful to our requests. Outside Hot Tub with the mountain view ... very relaxing. Our stay included a complimentary breakfast buffet! We will be back!!!!! Try it out!

Greg and Susan

Room Tip: Select a room on the WEST view side to look out at the Rocky Mountains. Sixth Floor View was specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Susan M

Thank you very much for staying at the New Grey Eagle Resort. I am please that you can see the beauty of where the Resort is situated, backing onto the Rocky Mountain and still only 10 minutes from the downtown core.

We look forward in your next visit.

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

The hotel had been open just a few months and we were very impressed with how smoothly everything was handled from reception to the service in the restaurant/lounge. The staff always had a smile and a pleasant good morning/afternoon. The room was large and very clean and the king sized bed very comfortable. The breakfast buffet was excellent. We had a social function in the area so the resort was very well located ( in the southwest area of Calgary) and easy to access. . Note: If making reservations thru Booking.Com the check in time on the confirmation is listed as 11:00am but in reality is 3:00pm. Thanks to the gentleman (sorry did not get your name) at reception who took care of us when we arrived early (complimentary breakfast brunch and tickets to the entertainment in the casino) We would highly recommend the hotel to family and friends

Room Tip: If possible request a room on the west side as the view of the foothills and the Rocky Mountains are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JWB1617
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Hello Rainier17

Thank you very much for your feedback in regards to your recent stay at the hotel. I have looked into the check-in time with Booking.com and have corrected the problem. I hope that you have an opportunity to stay with us soon, we greatly appreciate the business.

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plains, Montana
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We had business in Calgary and was lucky enough to stay at this place!! It just opened in May and you can still smell the new! They have done a nice job separating the casino and the hotel. But they are connected so you can still walk to the casino and play. Skip the breakfast for $1.99 in the casino. After 50 minutes I still didn't get my food and was charged $6.00 for coffee and orange juice. But, they don't have anything to do with a hotel, just giving you a heads up!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 2 August 2014
Dear Sheila M

Thank you very much for your response. I apologize that you had to wait at the Casino for your breakfast as they should be faster thank that and usually are. I will make a point to bring this up at our Managers Meeting next week. Included in you night stay is a complimentary breakfast in the hotel restaurant that is a full hot Canadian breakfast that is delicious!

I look forward in your next visit, all the best.

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,038 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Eagle Resort

Property: Grey Eagle Resort
Address: 3777 Grey Eagle Dr, Calgary, Alberta T3E 3X8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Eagle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Grey Eagle Resort and Casino, located in Calgary's SW and only minutes from downtown, here you will be sitting on the Doorstep of the Rockies with unparalleled comfort and amenities. In addition to our resort a 2400 seat Event Center for Concerts, large Trade Shows, conventions, and meetings. The resort offers complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, deluxe hot breakfast and a spacious state of the art fitness centre with digital equipment. Our casino is one of Alberta's most popular, which features a modern design with elegance that flows through the entire resort. The resort has everything you could need at a home away from home. Attractions nearby Chinook Centre Mall, The World Famous Stampede Park, Calaway Park, Canada Olympic Park, Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park, Glenmore Reservoir, Trail System, Kananaskis Country and much more. Welcome to a completely new experience here at Calgary's new first class resort and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grey Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing