We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grey Eagle Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Grey Eagle Resort
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Invermere, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

We enjoyed the newness of this hotel and the adjacent casino. Unfortunately they allow smoking in the casino. Good service, easy access from Highway 1, mountain views. Lots of free parking too. Would stay there again no problem.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swalli1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Swalli1

I am happy that you enjoyed your stay at the New Grey Eagle Resort, it is very unique and easy to have a good time! Your correct the casino is smoking, but only 1/3 of the casino there are areas where you can go without having a problem with the smell.

We hope to see you soon!

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

536 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    149
    37
    6
    4
See reviews for
115
202
27
93
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (87)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Absolutely amazing. Walked in to the room and I was just stunned. The bathroom was beautiful and so was the general set up if the room. Slept like a rock. It was so peaceful and quiet. The staff were all friendly and they made our stay worthwhile. We will definitely be coming back.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank JennM456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello JennM456

Thank you very much for the response, it is very easy to fall asleep in our high end bedding as many others have commented.

I hope to see you soon, please let others know about our new property!

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
La Crescent, Minnesota
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This was a wonderful hotel.
It is a very modern hotel with impressive decorating. The best part was the beds and bedding.
We had a great night sleep. So comfortable!
There is a nice pool and hot tub area. A breakfast buffet is included.
The casino is next door.
I love this hotel and would recommend it!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lilac59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Lilac 59

I greatly appreciate the positive response thrilled you enjoyed yourself that is our goal. Please come visit again soon!

Sincerely,

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was a great hotel. Very friendly staff, great rooms and comfy beds. The restaurant in the casino was great and the included breakfast buffet was delicious. It was a wonderful experience and I would highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Glennis B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Hello Glennis B

Thank you for the review, I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I look forward in your next visit!

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

We recently stayed here for 3 nights on route back to the West Coast. I came across this hotel while searching out others in the Calgary area. We were drawn to the prospect of an affordable hotel. The fact the hotel is new well we hoped meant clean and lovely and we were absolutely not disappointed!
This hotel is conveniently located near Glenmore park and overlooks the beautiful foothills of Calgary to the West. We did not take advantage of the casino or casino restaurants but we had a wonderful dinner in the hotel restaurant - bison spareribs were melt off the bone delicious. Our waitress in the dining room was sweet but not very experienced in opening a bottle of wine. This might upset some travellers so small point for improvement. Complimentary breakfast in the morning was well done. Our room was on the 5th floor - was exceptionally quiet and spacious! Accommodations on the second floor for smokers is present and this smell does linger a bit in the elevators. The bathroom in our room was well appointed with a spacious walk in shower. Clean white tiles. Bed side lamps are well positioned for reading. Incredible in room storage. The only thing we would change would be a brighter light over the bar area in the room or front entrance. We took advantage of the bike rentals $10.00 per hour so close the trails it made for a fun adventure. Would recommend some cushioning on the bike seats if possible they are a bit hard for middle aged folks (minor issue). Loved the fresh lemon water in the lobby and on one occasion saskatoon berry lemonade it was delicious. Check in and out was efficient and everyone was friendly.

Room Tip: If you are a non smoker stay on one of the higher floors. Be sure to ask in your reservation. I lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Hoop007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. You mention we are close to the Glenmore Reservoir we are actually attached to the Weaselhead Flats the largest park in the city of Calgary ranked #21 on TripAdvisor for attractions in the city. This is a major highlight if you like to bike, hike, cross country ski, jog or to have a picnic in the park. Our staff in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful, you are right there are a few that need to learn how to open a bottle of wine. We have hired a sommelier to come in and help us work on getting better. I hope to see you soon when you travel to Calgary next!

Sincerely,

Kevin
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

Confession: I didn't have great expectations but I was wrong. This is a great casino hotel. Rooms are a great size. Everything looks brand new. Not so close to downtown though. A great deal that includes free breakfast and Wifi. Honestly, as nice a hotel as some of the more pricey resorts we stayed in throughout this trip!

Guest Services and Housekeeping are great. They go above and beyond to meet your expectations. Front Desk agents were little slow in check in & check outs.

Highly recommended hotel.

Room Tip: Corner Suites are large
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Inderpreet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Inderpreet S

Thank you very much for your response, we greatly appreciate your stay at the Resort to try us out. In your review you mention that we are far from downtown, actually we are one of the closest hotels outside of the downtown core to downtown. If you take Crowchild Trail by the hotel it will take you directly into downtown. You mention that our Front Office was a little slow, during your visit it was and I apologize as we were going through some training at the time, we are completed training and ready for your next visit.

See you soon I hope!

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The room was gorgeous and the decor was lovely. Any questions we had were answered cheerfully and resolved quickly. The food at the restaurant was superb. And room service was expediant. Casino was clean and very lively. There was a live band which also added a fun atmosphere.
A short drive to shopping centers, the zoo, and the science center were a bonus.
We will definitely be back again.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GERC-Management, General Manager at Grey Eagle Resort, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Thank you Andrew M for the review and your comments. The food at the Hotel Restaurant "Little Chief" is very good, along with our 3 other restaurants throughout the Resort. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your visit, we look forward in welcoming you back soon!

Regards

Kevin Yates
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Freeport Inn & Suites
Hotel Le Germain Calgary
#10 of 109 in Calgary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 809 reviews
The Fairmont Palliser
#20 of 109 in Calgary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,037 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grey Eagle Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grey Eagle Resort

Property: Grey Eagle Resort
Address: 3777 Grey Eagle Dr, Calgary, Alberta T3E 3X8, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 109 Hotels in Calgary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Grey Eagle Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 178
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The New Grey Eagle Resort and Casino, located in Calgary's SW and only minutes from downtown, here you will be sitting on the Doorstep of the Rockies with unparalleled comfort and amenities. In addition to our resort a 2400 seat Event Center for Concerts, large Trade Shows, conventions, and meetings. The resort offers complimentary parking, Wi-Fi, indoor pool, outdoor hot tub, deluxe hot breakfast and a spacious state of the art fitness centre with digital equipment. Our casino is one of Alberta's most popular, which features a modern design with elegance that flows through the entire resort. The resort has everything you could need at a home away from home. Attractions nearby Chinook Centre Mall, The World Famous Stampede Park, Calaway Park, Canada Olympic Park, Calgary Zoo and Heritage Park, Glenmore Reservoir, Trail System, Kananaskis Country and much more. Welcome to a completely new experience here at Calgary's new first class resort and casino. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Grey Eagle Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing