We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't have asked for better!”

B & B on Signal Hill
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
B & B on Signal Hill
Ranked #12 of 56 Calgary B&B and Inns
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is an absolutely delightful B&B situated in the beautiful Signal Hill district of Calgary, which is quiet, safe and has good vantage points from which to capture spectacular views over the city. My friend and I were warmly welcomed by Lou and Helly - they made us feel very much at home (even saying "welcome home" to us when we returned for a couple of nights after a week in the Rockies) and our room was fantastic, a suite on the lower floor with a TV, access to a patio and the garden, a comfortable sofa which doubled up as an extra bed, and a pool table down the hall. Both owners were very social and we were able to have some great conversations with them whilst enjoying superb breakfasts made for us each morning. They gave us great information about the local area and other parts of the city (and provided us with a 2-for-1 entry voucher to the Calgary Tower) and the experience as a whole was top-class - it was a shame we had to leave at the end of it! For those without a car, the train station is a mere 10 minutes walk away, and gets you to downtown in about the same time, for a mere $3. I would recommend this B&B to absolutely anyone visiting Calgary, and definitely plan on returning.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (16)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 16 reviews

Reviewed 3 October 2012

We wanted to stay at a B&B near to our niece.

Lou and Helly's place, at one mile distance, ticked the "location" box - but that was just the start.

The welcome and warmth throughout our four week stay was magnificent.

Large and clean en-suite room looking out on to the patio with a nice sized lounge augmenting a good double bedroom and excellent breakfasts.

We were made welcome from moment one and the local information from Lou and Helly was first class.

Nothing was too much trouble and we felt "at home" straightaway.and, not too long after that, "part of the family" without intrusion in either direction,

A good quiet place to stay and, as with most places in Calgary, you need a car to exploit the city and surrounding area from Signal Hill.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank RetiredAldershot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We spent a lovely quiet night in this B&B. Both hosts were very gracious. Lou has a great sense of humour. He greeted us at the door and made us welcome. The house is very new and has lovely gardens in the back. Our room was a two room suite. There was a good size sitting room with couch, table and chairs and a large TV. The bedroom had a queen size bed which was very comfortable. The area that the B&B is in is close to things but quiet at the same time. Lou made us a map to find the local Chinese restaurant. Helly made us a large breakfast in the morning. Lots of scrambled eggs, sausages, toast and hashbrowns. We had a wonderful stay here and plan to come again when we come though Calgary.

Room Tip: Apparently the area does not let B&Bs put out signs. When we arrived at the house we weren'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Sandy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2008

This was my first time staying at a B&B. It was a wonderful experience and a beautiful location. The Host & Hostess (Lou & Helly) were very welcoming and friendly. When I arrived Lou & Helly immediately welcomed me and Lou took my luggage and showed me my immaculate patio suite accomodations which was, a private bedroom, furnished living room, full bathroom and beautiful patio and well kept grounds. Helly offered me a choice of breakfasts which were great.
It was a wonderful 2 night stay and I would certainly recommend this B&B.

Linda Bernier
Montreal Quebec Canada.

Stayed: July 2008
3  Thank MontrealTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2007

Very, very hospitable. Lou welcomed us, and we rarely saw somebody as nice and friendly as him. He absolutely wanted to help us with our luggages, gave us some infos on the city, and was more than anything you could expect from a host.

The house is fantastic. It's huge. The area is splendid as well, and very quiet. It's located in Signal Hill, a rich suburb of Calgary.

We had a room downstairs, and the shared bathroom became private since we were the only guests. We had 2 small rooms (1 bedroom / 1 living room), and a usually shared room with a pool table, as well as a small fridge and a TV.

The only noise we could hear was around 7.30AM as his wife, Helly, started to prepare the breakfast, but it was nothing to worry about.

She also was very nice. The breakfast was complete and very good as well.

This is the B&B to go while in Calgary. You won't be disappointed, I guarantee!

  • Stayed: June 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steff68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tarzaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank OWL-Touri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Grey Eagle Resort
#15 of 109 in Calgary
950 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Elan
Hotel Elan
#2 of 109 in Calgary
695 reviews
Beltline
Hotel Arts
Hotel Arts
#30 of 109 in Calgary
1,158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southeast Calgary
Carriage House Inn
Carriage House Inn
#32 of 109 in Calgary
1,007 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B & B on Signal Hill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B & B on Signal Hill

Address: 4 Signal Ridge Crt SW, Calgary, Alberta T3H 2J7, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Southwest Calgary
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 56 B&Bs / Inns in Calgary
Price Range: £68 - £72 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your B & B on Signal Hill reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing