We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend Stay - All Good”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary
Ranked #65 of 110 Hotels in Calgary
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Clean comfortable rooms. Good location right by the airport. Free Wifi worked well. Staff were friendly on check in and check out, Cleaning staff always smiled and said hello. Kids loved the pool, adults were allowed to sit in the breakfast area in the evening and relax as a group as long as we behaved. Breakfast good, clean area. No issues/concerns whatsoever.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lightjug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIEAirportCalgary, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2013

Lightjug,

Thank you for the wonderful review. We are grateful for the nice comments regarding the staff here and the facilities. These detailed comments will definitely help a future traveler to Calgary on deciding where to stay, so we truly appreciate it. We are looking forward to having you stay with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2013

This property is a newer one and has a nice setup and decent rooms at a convenient location. During my previous two stays, I have had problems with Wi-Fi internet but not this time. Now those are all the positives. For a Platinum Elite member of Priority Club rewards, this hotel does not like to upgrade people and the standard excuse offered to me was that the hotel is sold out. (I had spoken to the Guest Relations manager a day prior to arrival to this affect). Now that is certainly possible but I do not like to suffer fools. Upon check in, I used my cell phone to call the front desk and asked if a room was available. I was informed that I could have a suite for $195 (I was paying $148 for the standard two queen beds room). I left it that and felt cheated by the Priority Club for its inability to enforce uniform standards. Do not expect anyone to smile at the front desk or to make you feel welcome. It seems that they are all stressed out because of Management policies. The washrooms are good size but the amenities are basic, just towels, soaps and shampoo/conditioner. Do not expect vanity kits, mouthwash, shower gel or shoe shiners unlike other similar hotels of this chain. The quality of food and service for the breakfast was below average. Otherwise the stay was ok. I do not think it is a place where I will return to again.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank psahaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIEAirportCalgary, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2013

Dear Psahaye,


I sincerely apologize your stay was less than perfect, I do want you to know we do value you very much as a Priority Club Platinum Member along with every single one of our Elite Priority Club Members who stay with us quite frequently. We do our very best to honor a minimum of 30 Platinum Members daily. We are a very popular and high traffic hotel of 100% occupancy every Monday -Thursday and are not always able to follow the Priority Club Rewards Rule of PCR Elite Members being eligible for an upgrade if available upon check in, due to us not having the availability. However we are able to offer upgrades in many different ways such as a high floor, being away from an elevator, ice machines, etc and that is something that is always done for our PCR Elite Members.

Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

The holiday Inn express in Calgary is way more than I expected. The room is more like a suite and very well appointed. We have a lovely seating area with two large screen TV'S not that we are here long enough to watch TV but it certainly is a nice added touch

We even had deer visitors last night outside our window

The only complaint I might add is the towels are not that good quality. However the bed more than makes up for towel quality

Room Tip: There is no restaurant in the hotel so you must drive a fair distance for dining
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lmochinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIEAirportCalgary, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you, lmochinski, for your nice review. I will be sure to pass this along to our Front Desk staff as the positive feedback is always energizing for the staff. Us and the deer look forward having you again,Lol. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I travel quite a bit for business trips and usually stay at Holiday Inn Express when available.... I like the club rewards! Generally my stays are excellent, but this stay only okay. No warm fuzzies from the front desk staff at all... not even an acknowledgment when I came in and out. Trouble checking out as well...Corporate credit card was repeatedly declined and announced to the lobby but it must have gone through eventually.. . On top of that... empty apple dish most of the time. I have grown used to the fresh, crisp apples at other locations, sometimes even cookies at the front desk.
At any rate the room was great as usual; clean, fresh and well equipped for business and comfort. Breakfast good too.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lilly003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM_HIEAirportCalgary, Front Office Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Thank you very much for your review. I do truly apologize that your stay here with us was "not what you have come to expect from Holiday Inn Express". I can assure you that it is out of the norm. However you have given us great feedback to pass along to our Front Desk Staff and I promise acknowledging each and every one of our Guest is very important to us and the fact that you weren't acknowledged is not okay.

I apologize that you were disappointed in the empty apple bowl. We do not have a breakfast bar attendant on in the afternoons and it can go empty, as everyone loves crisp apples. Should it be brought to our attention upon noticing it is empty we do have lots to be able to replenish.

We would appreciate if you would provide us with the opportunity to make your unexceptional stay up to you in the future should your travels bring you back to Calgary, please contact myself-Tanya upon your return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

My stay here was not good at all , First we drove three hours to get here for my boyfriends class he had to take in the am. we got here around 7 and the power was out in the hotel we had to walk 3 flight of stairs with our bags in the dark with a flashlight. Our room was pitch black, we left to go eat somewhere came back power was on and I found hair on the bed sheets also the toilet. Wake up in the morning to find the power off once again no alarm went off due to power , they had nothing for breakfast as there was no power . The staff did not offer to send us to another hotel or take money off the room. when it was the day of leaving i asked for a late check out as i was waiting for my boyfried to come back from his class with the only vehicle we had he got off around 230 i got told i needed to have my bags out by two very rudely . you kidding me we paid over 130.00 a night for no power, showering in the dark carrying our bags up the stairs in the dark, no hot tub, no tv, no "free breakfast" and when the power was on the tv had no service half the time anyway , and you couldnt let me stay and wait for a half hour .over all not a good stay left pissed off

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shealyn88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2013

Dear Shealyn88,

Thank you for your review and your recent stay with us. I certainly apologize for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. I have taken note of your comments about the room conditions and wish to thank you for all your valuable comments. These are of great importance to us and allow us to monitor and improve our service continually. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas and take the necessary actions to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future. If there is anything we can do to make your next stay more comfortable, please do not hesitate to ask the Manager on Duty.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

My review is based solely on my UK Credit Card being rejected by the hotels swipe card reader. Rather than attempt an alternative method of entry (like type it in) the General Manager told me to stay elsewhere, no assistance, no alternative payment, and on the GM's instructions they wouldn't accept Debit Card or cash!! Much as I love a walk in the snow these guys were taking customer care to a new low. FYI, my bank advised they type in the card number and it worked immediately. Other than that the place is okay if remote from town or airport.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled on business
2  Thank Desertbootz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2013

Dear Desertbootz,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We’re sorry you received poor customer service from our staff which was unacceptable. We will address this point. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2013

Meetings in the northeast prompted me to choose this location over my usual stop downtown. The building is relatively new and the area is a bit empty but expanding. Keep in mind that Barlow Trail to the airport is closed right now so if you're taking a cab it's not as though the property is a short drive away. They do have shuttle although I had a rental car so I can't comment on that service.

I was on the first floor right by the elevators (rm 114). Despite the location there was very little noise coming into the room except for the moron guests who like to make phone calls while standing right outside a guest room door. Definitely not the hotel's fault but a "quiet please" sign might be helpful. The room has a jacuzzi tub and large desk. It is well appointed but the bathroom is an odd design. Everything was clean and functional but the space could have been better used. The room has a fridge and microwave, flat-screen tv (a bit small) and ample seating and storage areas. The wireless internet seemed relatively stable and fast enough but I opted to dig out the cable form under the desk to use the wired connection.

I found the bed to be a bit too firm but that's a personal thing. Also, the fake fireplace is a bit of a waste in my opinion. A real gas fireplace or some other thing to take up the space would be better. There is quite a stretch of floor tile as well so if you get up to use the loo without footwear on it is a bit cold. Keep in mind that the hotel is a bit out of the way but if you have a vehicle you're less than 10 minutes from a casino, shopping and many restaurants. There is also a Moxies across the way at the Sandman hotel.

Overall I would say it's a very good property that's easy to find, has a large breakfast area and friendly staff. If you're on business or need a stopover point for the airport then you can't go wrong here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Allan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calgary hotels
Northeast Calgary
Hampton Inn & Suites by Hilton Calgary-Airport
Northeast Calgary
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
Days Inn - Calgary Airport
#44 of 110 in Calgary
630 reviews
Northeast Calgary
Radisson Hotel & Conference Centre Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Northeast Calgary
Hilton Garden Inn Calgary Airport
Northeast Calgary
Comfort Inn & Suites Airport North
Northeast Calgary
Lakeview Signature Inn Calgary Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary

Address: 45 Hopewell Way NE, Calgary, Alberta T3J 4V7, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Calgary > Northeast Calgary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Calgary
#28 Romantic Hotel in Calgary
#29 Family Hotel in Calgary
Price Range: £64 - £98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary 2.5*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary’s outstanding guest service and expect a great rest in one of our 101 elegant and spacious guest rooms. Located south of Calgary International Airport (YYC). Hotel amenities include free airport shuttle, free wired and wireless high-speed internet access, business centre, pool and waterslide, fitness centre and guest laundry. Each guest room includes at least one 32” LCD TV, large work desk with ergonomic chair, mini-fridge, microwave, coffee maker and voice-mail. Our complimentary Express Start Hot Breakfast Bar is served every morning in our Great Room – start your morning off right with the world’s best tasting cinnamon roll.Jetting out on a vacation ? - leave your vehicle here unattended for just $7/day for a maximum 7 days. The Holiday Inn Express Airport Calgary would love to be the host of your next corporate or leisure meeting. We have a variety of meeting rooms to accommodate between 10 to 100 people. Family suites and jacuzzi suites available for the perfect weekend getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Airport - Calgary Hotel Calgary
Holiday Inn Express And Suites Airport - Calgary
Holiday Inn Express Calgary
Calgary Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Calgary

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing