We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Food and Service”
Review of Cactus Club Cafe

Cactus Club Cafe
Ranked #6 of 3,533 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Brunch, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northeast Calgary
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
Reviewed 20 October 2013 via mobile

I was really impressed with this place. Upon walking in, I wrongly assumed that the attractive staff was a front to cover a mediocre food selection. Wrong was I. The menu selections were plentiful and the food was excellent. I enjoyed the beers they had on tap. A very nice atmosphere with an extremely friendly staff. I will definitely go back to the Cactus Club next time I'm in Calgary.

Helpful?
Thank diamosd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    298
    225
    37
    12
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Definitely not disappointed”
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

The calamari served with 2 sauces, a tangy spicy and a dill sauce for dipping was absolutely perfect.
The main course was the creole chicken served on a bed of mashed potatoes and steamed asparagus was more than awesome.
You just knew as soon as you cut into the breast, this was going to be tender and juicy
Our server was Tyler and he was great.

Definitely not disappointed.

Can't wait to come back to Calgary

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Homeytheclown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
66 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Can you keep it to a dull roar please??”
Reviewed 13 October 2013 via mobile

I don't want to sound like i repeat myself here, but wow, nice place! Since this is a review tho, I will rant for a minute about how loud it is in there! Wow. Definitely not the place to be for a quiet meal with your significant other, unless you want to hear everyone else 's conversations. The food and the service were both very good and the server was both professional and talented at his job. Trust me, restaurant waiters and waitresses go through alot more then you may think! This place was packed and he was going non stop. But everything we asked for was well executed and served. Very ambient atmosphere. It was a $157 meal for 4 people. No dessert. Pricey, maybe overpriced for the style of restaurant. Lets face it, Moxie's beat you guys to it. Sorry to disappoint!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great restaurant near Calgary airport”
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We were fortunate to find this restaurant near our hotel in the Calgary airport vicinity and enjoyed two delicious and healthy salads (rocket salad, raincoast greens salad) and glasses of wine from BC the evening of our arrival. Upon our return to the area to fly home, we again visited and enjoyed the same exact meal! Service was attentive but not intrusive, atmosphere was quite good. We like being able to order wine in either 6 oz. or 9 oz. portions, something we wish restaurants would do everywhere.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sanr0n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
90 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great vibrant atmosphere ...”
Reviewed 1 October 2013 via mobile

Nice resto/lounge that is perfect for a meet with a friend to catch up and or a romantic date. Stuck to finger foods and what was on tap and the drink special. The appy Ravioli dish was amazing! Service attentive but not over bearing which made for a good night. Busy vibrant place that may be difficult to get a table at!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BertiBoy52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cactus Club Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Cactus Club Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing