We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful patio... fabulous food... great find :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Cilantro

Cilantro
Reserve with OpenTable
Cilantro is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #257 of 3,512 Restaurants in Calgary
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$31 - US$50
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Mission
Cross street: 4th St SW
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
965 reviews
681 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 452 helpful votes
“Beautiful patio... fabulous food... great find :-)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2013

We absolutely loved Cilantro. The food is all prepared fresh using local/organic ingredients where possible and is beautifully presented.

They had some very interesting cocktails, a great wine list and really yummy salads; the nicoise salad was absolutely fabulous.

This restaurant has a wonderful patio and very welcoming and superbly attentive staff - our server had a great sense of humor too, which we really made the evening...

Did we mention desserts? ;-) All home made and absolutely splendid... best chocolate/peanut butter tart and best strawberry ice cream we've ever had anywhere... the pastry chef should be given a michelin star - just superb.... :-)

If you hadn't guessed, we would HIGHLY recommend you visit Cilantro! ;-)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Geoff and Jenni G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    32
    16
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
117 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Nice patio for the rare nice summer evenings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

Last minute reservation.
Nice patio. Took forever to take our food order, but once in, food started flying in.
Food was ok. Mushroom soup seemed like chooped in a blender with the consistency of a sauce, more than a potage.
As for the linguini bolognese, the pasta was more like a bucatini and the sauce was too dry.
Good selection of wine and fairly priced.
Will be back for the patio.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank CeeBee130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Worth the walk...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2013

This was our first time to this restaurant and we enjoyed it immensely. We sat on the patio on a lovely summer evening. The food was great, the service was fantastic and we would definitely go again.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank DAB_LMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
101 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Perfect Patio”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2013 via mobile

This is your date night extraordinaire spot if you can get onto the patio. It's expensive but for the most part delicious. One of my friends ordered the pasta special and basically got linguine with a bunch of mace on it - oddly made you want apple pie.
The lobster bisque is OUTSTANDING but they only make it once in awhile so we were phoning to ask when.
Seriously, the patio is so charming.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AlyssaSaturley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
162 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant but highly priced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

This restaurant was good, not great. As far as expensive restaureants go, this is probably one of the better ones in Calgary... but I still expect a lot when I pay a lot, and I wasn't blown away by the food here. Good atmosphere though.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank USCTrojansFan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cilantro also viewed

 
Calgary, Alberta
 
Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Cilantro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing