We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did not get sick from eating here!”

Hi-Ball Restaurant Licensed
Ranked #1,644 of 3,607 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: US$1 - US$16
Cuisines: Chinese
Description: All You Can Eat Lunch Buffet Monday to Friday, Dinner Menu Tuesday to Sunday, Take-out and Delivery available during all business hours, Free Parking, Friendly service, can cater to parties as well.
Restaurant details
Description: All You Can Eat Lunch Buffet Monday to Friday, Dinner Menu Tuesday to Sunday, Take-out and Delivery available during all business hours, Free Parking, Friendly service, can cater to parties as well.
San Francisco
Level 6 Contributor
1,307 reviews
612 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
“Did not get sick from eating here!”
Reviewed 9 January 2014

Absolutely nothing special.
Food wasn't flavorful.
Shrimp with Black Bean Sauce was bland.
Chicken Fried Rice wasn't bad, but wasn't great.

Diet soda was acceptable.

There's got to be a better Chinese restaurant nearby.

Service was excellent. Staff was great.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 7268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    11
    3
    1
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Saturday Buffet”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

We went to Hi-Ball on Saturday for a Buffet. Very few selection and most tray was empty. Had to wait for the buffet to refill for half an hour in order to eat. The food was cold and not very tasty. When we told the waiter, owner that the food is cold she told as a nonsense that the people leave the door open etc. Not even an apology. Never go back!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kathy A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
371 reviews
251 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Good food fair price”
Reviewed 14 June 2013

This has been a favorite lunch buffet for over 15 years. They always know what are my favorites are. I love their salt and pepper squid, green beans as well as how they do their brocolli. Yes they have chicken balls, ginger beef, wings, spring rolls, dumplings, noodles as well as wonton soup which are all good. I tend to fill up on my favorite three. Yesterday we got there as the buffet tables were low on content however when I asked if more beans and squid would be available they happily made more..nothing like fresh made.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank grassislander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manila
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
143 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“the best chicken wings I've ever tasted!”
Reviewed 12 April 2013

The dishes offered by this Chinese restaurant are a bit hit-and-miss, with some really tasty ones and some so-so ones. Their fried chicken wings are really good, though, and are the ones I focus on when I go there for their lunch buffet. I like them so much that I order them ala carte for dinner as well. The salt and pepper stuff is also good (squid, shrimp, spareribs), and so are the noodles. You can give the soups a miss, but the other items are generally yummy.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cutie888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level 6 Contributor
297 reviews
167 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
“Been around forever, and for a good reason”
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This restaurant has been in the same location, the Stadium Shopping centre for at least 35 years and maybe longer.

It is quite large and comfortable but not luxurious. The bathrooms in particular could use a renovation.

The food is delicious, my favourites are Salt and Pepper Squid and Special Fried Rice. The service depends on the waiter and on how busy the kitchen is, I have experienced great service and so-so.

  • Visited April 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank niemand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hi-Ball Restaurant Licensed also viewed

 

Been to Hi-Ball Restaurant Licensed? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing