We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WALMART QUALITY” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Midori Japanese Cafe

Midori Japanese Cafe
Ranked #1,306 of 3,497 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Japanese, Asian, Sushi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Beltline
calgary
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“WALMART QUALITY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2012

We didn't have much expectation but the food was shockingly bad.

The sushi was o.k ( not wow) but the ramen was just a shock.
They use a dollar instant noodle and the flavor and charge over 9$ for ramen.
This was the worst japanese ramen in my life ever in and out of canada.
Total ripped off.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank susan s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    3
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
334 reviews
201 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Slow service but good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012

This restaurant can be hard to spot as it's a small cafe but judging from the number of people that constantly came in, I could tell it's a favourite amongst people. Inside there just a few booths and seating by the counter and we were lucky to snag the booth right by the door around noon. The waitress came by with menus and it took some time for our tea to arrive.

Since I wasn't very hungry, I ordered the teriyaki chicken rice and miso soup to share with a colleague. My other colleagues ordered the sushi, with chicken or beef, rice, and salad. The food took a little long to arrive so it's not ideal if you want a quick lunch. I like the rice and decent number of pieces of chicken. The sauce wasn't overwhelming and just enough tang to give it good taste.

Our meals all came to about $14 including tea. I would certainly come here for take out if there were no seats for eating in or I didn't have time to wait as it was about an hour we were in the restaurant. Next to try is the sushi!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LovingSunandSand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“One a week!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2012

When I lived in Calgary I came to this place once a week at least. I used to go to Momo Yama when I lived by Mount Royal University and then I moved to Mount Royals and could walk to this amazing sushi place! I recommend the Midori roll, seriously delicious! The only thing that is negative about this place is its very small and gets full fast. Other than that, its the place I kissed my new husband for the first time! I love it there!!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KJBKKKHK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“competent sushi and decent Korean dishes too. Fantastic spicy tuna rolls!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2008

competent sushi and decent Korean dishes too. Fantastic spicy tuna rolls!

Helpful?
Thank jfmanzo
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“Not too bad. My friends...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2008

Not too bad. My friends like it more than my wife and I do.

Helpful?
Thank sixcolors
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Midori Japanese Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Midori Japanese Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing