We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretentious” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Muse Restaurant - CLOSED

Muse Restaurant
Price range: US$51 - US$51
Cuisines: French, American, International, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Kensington Road
Description: Energized Fine Dining. Composed Dishes. Creative Multi-Course Dining Experience. Passionately Seasonal. New American Cuisine. Located in the heart of Kensington. Unqiue atrium style restaurant. Sexy and contemporary space. Private dining rooms. Private Chefs table. Five course or eight course Chef's Tasting Menus. Extensive wine list.
Calgary
Level Contributor
114 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Pretentious”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

The restaurant has a great location nestled in Kensington and has good ambiance. The waiting staff were slightly pretentious and were not overly efficient – we waited quite awhile for our main courses and you could tell 1 or 2 of them had been sitting under a heater for quite some time.
As for the food, the oysters and hamachi were great appetizers. The crab salad was alright and the foie grois was yummy. We were all a little disappointed with our main courses, especially the lamb & skirt steak. The halibut was okay. The dessert list was not very appealing, and the very poor descriptions of them left us wondering what they were!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spooky C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
W0rldTraveller4Life, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, 31 August 2013
Dear Spooky C, On behalf of Muse Restaurant, I would like to thank you for your review and for dining with us. Your comments about the food and service are very important to us and have been discussed with the Muse team. Our goal is to make sure every guest is served great food in a casual, relaxed atmosphere. If you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to email me directly, contact@muserestaurant.ca. I do hope that you will give Muse another try. Sincerely, Heather Wighton, Owner, Muse Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    27
    11
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
110 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2013

I expected much better based on reputation.
My duck breast had been salt and sugar cured so had the taste and texture of a salty piece of ham. Happily, they comped my dish after I commented.
My wife's pear and blue cheese salad was small, and uninspired. Her lamb dish was also salty and did not have any of the advertised fava beans.
Our son had the best dishes: rabbit tortellini and roasted suckling pig.
We were seated at the top level - kind of loungey feel with low backed chairs. Thankfully no big screen tv.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Forever_Fifty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, 5 June 2013
Dear Forever_Fifty, On behalf of Muse Restaurant, I would like to thank you for your review and for dining with us. I spoke with you the night you dined at Muse about your duck dish. I’m very sorry that you did not enjoy your meal and you felt it was too salty. The Chef and his team were made aware of this issue and are making appropriate changes. If you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to email me directly, contact@muserestaurant.ca. We do hope that you will give Muse another try. Sincerely, Heather Wighton, Owner, Muse Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
148 reviews
76 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Meh...price:food ratio is off”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2013

Nice decor and good service. The food was good, but no 'wow's from me or anyone else around the table. The pear salad had a blue cheese pate or mousse or something that I did not think was any improvement over regular blue cheese. My tuna main was on the fishy in a not totally fresh sort of way. I feel no need to return....even if I win the lottery.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Cowtowners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear The_Cowtowners, Thank you for your Trip Advisor review and for dining with us at Muse Restaurant. I am sorry that you did not enjoy your meal. I do want to assure you that our Chefs use only the freshest product when plating their dishes. Our kitchen team is constantly striving to give our guests a unique dining experience by using different preparation techniques when it comes to specific food ingredients. We do know that this may not be to everyone's liking. I am happy to read that you enjoyed both the atmosphere and your service. If you have any further comments, please feel free to email contact@muserestaurant.ca. Sincerely, Muse Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Food & Wine is Over-priced but with very nice atmosphere.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2013

Saturday evening was our second time eating at Muse but our first time under new management. We will not be back as the portions and quality of food & wine were poor while presentation was ok. The only positive was a very nice atmosphere. We eat out frequently throughout this city but were sadly disappointed.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gstauf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear gstauf, Thank you for your comment and for dining with us at Muse Restaurant. Our guests are very important to us and your opinion on the food, service and atmosphere are most valuable. I am sorry to read that you felt your meal and wine selection did not have value. If you would like to share any further comments, please feel free to email Muse at contact@muserestaurant.ca. I am happy to read that you did like the atmosphere and we do hope that you will give Muse another try in the future. Sincerely, Muse Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
256 reviews
144 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 368 helpful votes
“Terrific tasting menu”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2013

I love Muse. I go there whenever I get a chance. Thier tasting menu is always creative and delicious, but their wine pairings always seem to be lacking a bit. They're OK, but nothing that ever seems to impress me so much I want to go out and buy a bottle. They do have a good wine list though and I always seem to find a good vintage when I order a la carte.

I like how they incorporate local cuisine and ingredients and give them a european twist. The decore is very versatile with areas suited for a business meal or a romantic dinner. Muse is a can't miss.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BrWayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MuseCalgary, Owner at Muse Restaurant, responded to this review, 2 June 2013
Dear BrWayne,
Thank you very much for your Trip Advisor review and for dining with us at Muse Restaurant. Muse is known for our Chef's Tasting Menus and I am happy that you enjoy this dining experience. While I am happy to read that you feel we have a good wine list, I am sorry that you do not always enjoy your wine pairings. We do try to pour wine that is unique for our guests. Please feel free to email us at contact@muserestaurant.ca with any further feedback and we hope to see you again soon. Sincerely, Muse Ownership
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Muse Restaurant also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing