We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey steaks that weren't that great”

Nick's Steak House & Pizza
Ranked #36 of 3,537 Restaurants in Calgary
Price range: US$20 - US$25
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Pizza, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Business meetings, Child-friendly, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Neighbourhood: Northwest Calgary
Medicine Hat, Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pricey steaks that weren't that great”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We thought we'd be sitting down to a nice meal. It ended up we couldn't eat fast enough and get out of there.. There was a large group of parents three tables down from approx. 10-12 children..
One of the Adult males who looked like he was on a 5 day bender kept coming back to their table and getting them to yell at the top of their lungs " lunatics"!! Chairs tipped over, drinks spilled, yelling and screaming, jumping around... No thanks. Kudos to the Management for not even attempting to quiet it down just a tad for the other 30 customers that looked like they also had enough. If I wanted to go to chuck e cheese we would have. Would certainly not make a special trip just for steaks at this establishment again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    103
    37
    19
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Always a Good Choice”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

We have been going to Nick's for many years. The Pizza is one of the best in Calgary. There is also a wide selection of other food on the menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Calgary149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
calgary
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Delicious and Friendly too”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

What I like about Nick's is NICK and MARK (Nick's son) are usually at the site. They make you feel welcome. I haven't tried most of the entrees as the PIZZA is delicious. Definitely one of the best. The Ambrosia is my fav but I am sure they are all equally good. The crust is light as a feather and the topping generous. Service is excellent as well.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank weddingd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very salty food!”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

My husband and I stopped in to have a great steak dinner. Unfortunately, Nick's Steak House did not deliver. The steak was overly seasoned. So salty we drank a number of glasses of water. The quality of the steak did not match the high price tag. The salad was primarily iceberg lettuce. We will not visit again for steak.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cr2005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT!”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

One of the best meals I have had. Older atmosphere with mature servers - the owner even seated us. Food is good and authentic, Italian. Try the hand made pizza, it is to die for!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank MissesHlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Nick's Steak House & Pizza also viewed

 

Been to Nick's Steak House & Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing