We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Italian Sandwich ”
Review of Peppino

Peppino
Ranked #385 of 3,547 Restaurants in Calgary
Cuisines: Delicatessen
Neighbourhood: Hillurst
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Hillurst
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
217 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Best Italian Sandwich ”
Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We went here the other day with my wife and kids. This has been one of my favorite lunch places in Calgary for some time and decided to take the kids.

I always get the Joe's special and my wife gets the Tuscany Turkey. I love the owners and when you walk in you almost feel at home. The prices are reasonable and they have a huge selection of frozen pastas and sauces to take away and I will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank powelj1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    7
    0
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Mighty Meatball!!!!!!”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

So I head here on a whim. I try "Joe's Special". It's my first time and I'm not lookin to get too into this newly formed relationship, so take the easy route. It was absolutely a great sub sandwich. Zesty and tasty, filling every tastebud I needed to be filled with satisfaction.

A couple of weeks later my better half and I decide to come back on my recommendation. She gets the Spicy Meatball Sub and I repeat my first visit with Joe's Special. One taste of her meatball sub sends me into a state of bliss. These meatballs are packed full of insane flavour!! So much that I ended up buying 20 frozen ones from their Market stock.

I'm looking forward to trying more subs on their vast list of great looking foods!!! Check it out!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Canadian_Food_Guy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
39 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Must be under new management ... Not a good thing”
Reviewed 26 August 2013 via mobile

Used to be our favorite place for shwarma, now horrible. Used to have condiments like pickled radish etc, now just hot peppers. Too salty, wasnt able to eat it all because just wasnt as tasty as it used to be.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank gmd_Ca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreal
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“terrible gelato”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

Perhaps you will enjoy this place if you have no conception of what real Italian gelato is. Yes, the ice cream was home-made, and the effort is appreciated, but it was not good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ale_Viola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Really Tasty Sandwiches!”
Reviewed 15 March 2013

A family run store with very yummy sandwiches. Before visiting Peppino, I never imagined that a vegetarian sandwich could be tasty too. Have been here multiple times for both breakfast and lunch. Love their vegetarian sandwiches and the sauces they offer as well. My favorite is their Bocconcini sandwich. If you like spicy stuff do ask for their special garlicky hot sauce.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Raveena S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Peppino also viewed

Calgary, Alberta
 

Been to Peppino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing