We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strathcona History Revealed...”

High Level Bridge Streetcar
Ranked #5 of 184 things to do in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Open May Long weekend to October each year, the streetcar's views of the city and the river are absolutely amazing. This is also the best way to get from the farmer's market to downtown.
Cleveland, England
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Strathcona History Revealed...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

This is a MUST if you are staying in Strathcona. This wonderful piece of history is well worth a visit and the views from the bridge are breathtaking. The lovely driver and conductor on the journey were very well educated in the local history, but what impressed me more, was the passion they had for the local community. They were friendly, approachable and professional and gave an authentic feel to the journey. My only suggestion would be that they install some kind of hearing loop for the hearing impaired, as there is a lot of background noise during the trip and though the conductor had an excellent speaking voice, it was a little hard to hear over the train. I will take some very special memories away from this trip, as its a piece of history right in the middle of a busy, bustling city.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Springlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

370 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    228
    117
    19
    4
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
162 reviews
72 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
“High Level Streetcar Ride”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

Despite quite a few years living in Edmonton I never took the time to ride the High Level Street Car, until just recently. I boarded on the Jasper stop for the street car which is in quite a secluded area that can be a challenge to find if you're unsure of the area, so I recommend researching it's location first online instead of 'winging it' and heading downtown to find it. I researched the schedule beforehand and it arrived right on the mark, the street car was quite busy as it seemed a lot of riders had got on at the other side of the streetcar line (Old Strathcona) and intended to remain on for the return trip as well, the inconvenience of this being it can be tricky to get a seat when you get on the train from the downtown side. According to the conductor this is quite normal too, so if you're concerned about getting a seat or having mobility issues, it's probably best to get on at the Old Strathcona side of the Streetcar line.

I found the ride itself quite smooth, there is no commentary by the driver or conductor but they are very receptive to any questions you may have. It's also a very affordable little ride, only $5 for a return trip and less if you wish to travel one way. I'd also argue it's the best way to get to the Old Strathcona neighbourhood from this area of downtown (west side) which would take a train ride and a subsequent bus connection through the conventional method.

The type of streetcars used on this line also vary, when I rode there was an old Melbourne, Australia street car being used still containing decals from it's time in Melbourne which was a unique touch.

One of the primary highlights of the ride, despite being on a novelty street car, is the gorgeous view of the river valley you get from it. It travels across the bridge at a slow pace which allows for great viewing of the river valley and surrounding cityscape.

All in all, this is one of Edmonton's most quaint and nice tourist attractions but also a practical one for locals too during the summer months. It also offers quick access to the Old Strathcona Market on Saturdays for those traveling from downtown. Just be prepared to stand and also it is not 'disabled' friendly although I did notice the conductor helping an elderly couple onto the tram who were using walkers.

So all in all, check this out, it's a fun ride!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
880 reviews
664 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 390 helpful votes
“Roll back the years”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

The ride was spectacular and exhilarating. It was a nice feeling crossing the North Saskatchewan river from a high bridge. One does not see many of such streetcars in the world anymore.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank GAN L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pontypool
Level Contributor
73 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“what a view”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

a short but interesting ride on the Australian street car across the river to Strathcona where some of the buildings reminded me of the wooden buildings in old cowboy movies.if you go there visit the thousand villages shop for presents or a treat for yourself.it is run by volunteers-good work boys.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank PontypoolSophie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Travel in time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2014

This ride featured the way it was in early 1900's crossing the North Saskatchewan river. Stories and facts given by the conductor. See the difference on the return ride.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed High Level Bridge Streetcar also viewed

 

Been to High Level Bridge Streetcar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing