We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two times = garb”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Murrieta's - Bar & Grill - CLOSED

Murrieta's - Bar & Grill
Price range: US$17 - US$21
Cuisines: American, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighbourhood: Strathcona
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Two times = garb”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2014

Living near Whyte Ave, I have been to Murietta's twice.. and certainly my last visit confirmed my initial feeling. The menu is huge, so how fresh or good is everything realistically going to be? What a shame because it is a prime location with a beautiful decor.

First visit was a breakfast on Sunday. Brown, rubbery omelette with hard, under ripe fruit for 15+ dollars? Jesus. Second visit was lamb meatball app, oysters and carrot soup... where to begin. The lamb meatballs were flavourless, rubbery balls with a tomato sauce that did not taste like tomatoes at all.. a shame especially considering the amount of beautiful product in the area. The carrot soup was appalling... I believe it was called Moroccan carrot soup.. it tasted like muddy water with cumin & gritty texture. What a pretentious place oozing of snobbery. For dessert I witnessed a female (manager?) berate her staff openly in the dining room. Well played.

Maybe the 'shirt & ties' of this place need to exercise their quality control a little bit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BodumBiscuits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    19
    13
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“NOPE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

A nice looking place...not busy...possibly due to the fact that it is WAY TO EXPENSIVE and I would NOT recommend. But serving portion was good and dish was tasty even though I threw it up later. I will not go back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Good food, poor service, dead astmosphere”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

The food was hit or miss. The calamari was great but the heavy, spicy sauce on the side was overwhelming and way too much for the delicate calamari. The steak was delicious and perfectly cooked and the sides were yummy. Dessert (Bananas Foster) was a disappointment - it tasted like a Jo Louis on top of a tiny little pile of diced bananas. The creme brulee was much better.

Service was extremely slow - we waited ~15 minutes for a server to greet us and take our drink order - I eventually gave up waiting and tracked someone down to come serve us. The wine recommendation (after prodding and getting someone who was comfortable with wine recommendations to come over eventually) was great.

The facility is beautiful - great furniture and decorations, but the lack of people made it feel dead inside. We had made a reservation but clearly didn't need it since there were only about 6-8 tables of people eating dinner at 7:30 PM. The bar area seemed to pick up later in the evening (after 10 PM) with people lounging and mingling. Perhaps it is better as a late night lounge instead of a dinner place.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank floatie43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Valentines day”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2014

We went here for valentines, environment was very inviting. Service was great food was so so, I had the butter milk chicken, it was kind of dry. However, the mushrooms and potatoes around it where amazing! Wine recommended was great, and desert was delish! It overall was a great experience:)

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank SarahandMarcel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
157 reviews
103 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Food, server all far above expectations; will return”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2014

We frequently visit here, it is convenient for family visits and last two visits have far exceeded our expectations. Tonight we had the Arctic Char as recommended by Maude our server. We have has Char before most recently in Yellowknife, and this was fresh, and beautifully prepared and presented. The char was prepared in a miso sauce with just the right amount of heat to make it interesting. One of our guests had a chorizo sausage pizza with the sausage from a farm in Canmore. Including ingredients from Albertan producers is an added benefit and much appreciated.
The server was Maude who was not only knowledgeable about the food on offer but is a trained sommelier and offered very good advice on the wine. Servers such as her are rare in any restaurant and was greatly appreciated.

Bottom line, we will return and will look forward to so doing
Yes we will retun

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DavidatV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Murrieta's - Bar & Grill also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing