We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #40 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Great stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Checked into this hotel this weekend without a reservation on a Friday. Check-in was quick and easy and staff was polite. The only room available was a suite with a king bed. The room was spacious and just as the pictures show. Our room was clean and the bed and pillows were very comfy. Although the hotel was booked, it was quiet on the 6th floor. Vending machines have a nice selection of treats and drinks. The free breakfast was decent with a good selection. I would recommend more fruit if possible. There was at least one girls hockey team there during our stay, but we didn't have any problems with noise nor was there a lack of food in the morning! For someone that doesn't know the area, getting on and off Gateway Blvd. might be a bit confusing, we have stayed here a few times before and were aware of the route. There is plenty of parking in the back and with two entrances, it makes parking in the back more convenient. I would certainly stay here again and would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SherrieMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
Dear Sherrie S,

Thank you for taking the time to write a great review from your recent experience at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We appreciate the delightful feedback regarding our polite staff and efficient check-in desk service you received at the Front Office. I will definitely pass on your kind comments to our staff in order to make them motivated and continue to provide exceptional services.

Thank you for mentioning our clean quiet room with comfortable bed and pillows. It is very nice of you to describe how to get around to our hotel area. I am sure other readers will find it useful and easy access to our hotel.

We are glad that you found our complimentary breakfast with good selection. We apologize for not having more fruits in the breakfast due to high demand. Please do not hesitate to ask our duty breakfast attendant for any assistance.

Thank you once again for your feedback. We are grateful for your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express &Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

279 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    99
    47
    13
    20
See reviews for
95
40
15
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

I moved to this hotel after leaving another that I have reviewed also. I went there with no reservation no problem. Rooms are nice and comfortable lots of hot water in the shower. Only complaint here is the elevators move in slow motion. Will return

  • Stayed January 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Erin.miss C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 31 January 2014
Dear Erin.miss C,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South as your hotel during your recent Edmonton trip.

We appreciate your time taken out of your busy schedule to write us an incredible review.

Thanks for sharing your personal experiences with other travellers so they know that our rooms are nice with comfy beds and good water pressure shower.

All of our staff at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South are very guest oriented and focus on guests’ needs. We will do our best to accommodate our guests request to the best of our capabilities.

We heard your comments on our slow elevators and we will definitely inform our service provider to look into it on their next maintenance schedule. Occasionally the elevators might become slow due to high demands on different levels at the same time. We apologize for the imperfection and hope for your understanding in this regard.

Thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to your return visits in the near future so we can serve you better and best.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We had drove 12 hours to Edmonton and when we got there we had booked a reservation at holiday inn express but because our travel agent had screwed up on our dates so they canceled our entire reservation without even a phone call. We were in town for a medical appointment my friend had for two weeks and no one offered us anything not even an apology. I work in customer service and if I had dealt with us the way that they treated us I wouldn't have a job! Very disrespectful and from what I saw not really that nice of a hotel.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Suzie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Suzie C,

Reference to your recent review regarding your August reservations made through your travel agency was being cancelled due to a screwed up by them. We apologize that we were not able to offer any alternate accommodation at the time in August due to the full occupancy and all room reservations requires prior confirmation on a first come first serve basis.

We could understand the frustrations of yourself and your friends had to go through prior to your medical appointment in town. We could relate to your dissatisfaction and feel sorry for the confusion caused over the course of your reservations made via your travel agency.

We would like to inform you that any room reservations made with us through a third party, in your case your travel agency, meaning we will be dealing directly with the travel agency. We will follow their instructions to make room reservations, amendments and cancellations accordingly.
It is not our responsibilities to notify the customers of your travel agency that a booking was being cancelled by the travel agency. We are sorry of your confusion that you had been expecting our hotel personnel to contact you about your reservations cancellation with disappointment. As your travel agency had screwed up your room reservations, we suggest you channel your comments or complaints to your travel agency so they can rectify same.

In this scenario, your travel agency must have had contacted us to cancel your room reservations. They should have provided you with a hotel reservations cancellation confirmation instead.

We hope for your understanding of the above situation. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for any future hotel reservations so we can better serve you and your friends.

Yours sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelowna, Canada
Level Contributor
211 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

We enjoyed out stay here. We booked a king suite and the bed was comfortable and the room clean. We asked to be put in a quieter area of the hotel and the 5th floor facing the parking lot fit the bill. We had a good nights sleep. Due to the action packed nature of our trip we didn't avail ourselves of the free breakfast so we can not comment on it one way or another. We would stay here again. Very close to everywhere we needed to be and once we figured out exactly where we were we discovered that we could jump onto major roadways quite easily. We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Away from the elevators and facing the parking lot seems to be just the thing for a quiet night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Melody P,

Thank you so much for your kind comments and endorsement of your great sleep experience. We appreciate your candid review and recognizing us for very good value for money and our amazing hotel location with easy access to nearby major roads and highways.

We hope that you could spend more time with us on your next trip so you can enjoy all the other hotel facilities we have provided.

We have a nice refreshing pool, a fully equipped fitness centre, a business centre, complimentary breakfast and free WiFi so you could be in touch with your family and friends or business associates while you are on holidays or business trips. We also offer rental meeting rooms for occasions such as business meetings, family gatherings, seminars, etc. on site.

It would be nice to hear your experiences on how we perform in our complimentary breakfast service, as well as our other facilities set up. Please do not hesitate to contact us for more hotel information and room reservations.

It is fantastic to see our guests so happy and supportive and understanding the concept of Holiday Inn Express and Suites Edmonton South.

We look forward to welcome you again in the near future

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
192 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

Made a return visit for 4 nights at this hotel in September 2013. Usual Holiday Inn Express standards. Clean and comfortable room. Good internet included in the price. Elevators are very slow and one was broken during part of our stay. Breakfast room is over-crowded almost every day. The hotel allows smokers to gather outside the rear entrance, which appears to be immediately below an air intake that then funnels cigarette smoke into the breakfast room. Management could easily fix this by preventing smoking in that area. Hotel is very well located to the huge South Edmonton Common big box centre, although the hotel street location requires some convoluted driving to get in and out on the roads. For some reason on the second day our room was not cleaned. At 3:30 pm we asked a housekeeping supervisor in the hall if the room was going to be cleaned. It was done by the time we returned at 5:00 pm but should have been cleaned much earlier as we were out all day.
When we checked in we tried to give our IHG rewards number but the front desk clerk refused to take it because he said (in a not very pleasant way) that we wouldn't be getting IHG points because the room was booked through a third party (Air Canada). He was right, but this is not explained on the hotel's website (at least we couldn't find it). Make sure you book directly with the hotel or on the IHG website if you want the Holiday Inn points. Would we stay again? Maybe. But there are lots of other similar hotels in the same area with similar features and prices (and maybe more pleasant and efficient staff).

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foulaman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Foulaman,

Thank you for your time to post your review on your September stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We appreciate your compliments on our well location near the South Edmonton Common.

Please accept our apology for the heavy traffic of the elevators due to the maintenance of one of the elevators during your stay with us in September. We would like to inform you that the elevator is now in excellent condition.

We have noted your comments regarding the designated smoking area at the back exit and our maintenance team will look into your suggestions to rectify same.

We are sorry that our housekeeping service was not as efficient as you expected while your stay in September due to a lot of stayover guests in house. Our housekeepers worked diligently and had tried their very best to clean each and every room according to the order. We are glad that our housekeeping supervisor was able to make special arrangement for your room to be cleaned up promptly before your return at 5pm.

It is the IHG standard that IHG reward points could only be honored to guest whose bookings were made directly with the IHG hotels. We regret that your bookings made through a third party could not be honored.

We value your patronage and sincerely hope that this incident would not deter you from giving another chance to stay with us in the near future.

Sincerely,

Holiday inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

There were both positives and negatives to staying at this hotel.

The negatives first- the elevator is very slow, breakfast is ok but not much fresh fruit at all and I found the meat quite greasy and waffles cold, the beds were not very comfy and i found even the pillows labled "soft" were too firm, the room and hallways were always quite hot, the view from the second floor leaves something to be desired, it is in an awkward location to get in and out of if you do not know where you are found, the price for the second night changed and it was quite high. I did not think it was worth $163 dollars a night and would not have paid it if i could have found another hotel in then area for two nights, and I found it VERY loud, especially tonight. I am still in the hotel and there must be a sports team here or something because people are running up and down the hall all night (still happening at 11pm) and the walls and doors are not blocking much noise.

Now for the positives- the staff is very friendly, the rooms were clean and tidy, there is a microwave and fridge in the rooms, WIFI signal is strong and does not disconnect, there is ample parking, breakfast was more impressive than many hotels I have been to, there are large flat screen TV's in the rooms, and they had Bath and Body Works products in the bathrooms.

I would stay here again if I could get a discounted rate and maybe a room where it would be more quiet.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KaraL1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 26 October 2013
Dear KaraL 1,

Thank you so much for your time to write a review on your recent stay at our hotel. We are happy to learn that our staffs have made a friendly impression to you, you have found our clean and tidy room well-equipped with microwave, fridge, large flat screen television. We do have excellent wifi connections and ample parking space here along with a great complimentary breakfast that all our hotel guests enjoyed.

The elevator is very slow occasionally due to high volume usage simultaneously during peak occupancy. The interior temperature is set to a standard temperature at 21 degrees Celsius in cold weather, at 19 degrees Celsius in warm weather. All rooms have an individual thermostat that you can control the temperature to your needs.

We have a food warmer to hold the waffles, please inform our breakfast staff should you find them to be cold, they will check if the warmer is malfunction and will replace them with hot ones.

We would have given you another room or replacement pillows should we know the problem during your stay. We will investigate and replace beds that are reported to be uncomfortable at once.

All noise should be quiet down at around 10.30 pm to 11.00 pm. Please report any noise issue to our front desk clerk who will go to the scene to control and calm them down. Please accept our sincere apologies for any shortcomings you experienced during your stay with us.

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South is committed to provide our guests with the highest quality of hospitality services and facilities. Our team of staffs will do their utmost to ensure your stay with us a comfortable and relax one.

Your comments are important to the success of our organization, thanks for telling us how we are doing and how we can be better meet your needs. We sincerely hope this incident will not deter you from giving us another opportunity to serve you in the future.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2013

I stay in the Holiday Inn Express simply because it is usually clean, comfortable and breakfast is decent. This one in South Edmonton was disappointing. We usually get a king but this time booked a 2 queen bed suite. The beds were uncomfortable and breakfast was over crowded. It was thanks giving weekend . They kept the eating area clean and well stocked, everyone was friendly. The Holiday Inn Express in Kelowna was great this one could use some work.

Room Tip: Get a king. The queen beds are nit comfy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank misskelli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this review, 23 October 2013
Dear misskelli,

Thank you for your time to write a review on your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We feel terrible to learn that you did not find our queen beds to be comfortable. We apologize for your disappointment and for not able to meet with your expectations. This is certainly not the type of impression we want to give to our hotel guests. We would definitely try our very best to get you another suite if we had known about it during your stay.

All Holiday Inn Express hotels are using the same IHG corporate brand standard of amenities and utilities for good quality control. We constantly receive favorable comments from our guests in the past that the rooms are nice and comfortable. We will definitely go through our queen beds suite to ensure they are in good shape again.

Thanks very much for your compliments to our clean eating area and well stocked complimentary hot/cold breakfast. It was indeed a busy thanksgiving weekend at our hotel. We value your comments and we thank you again for your review so we can constantly improve our services and facilities.

We look forward to seeing you and your family back to our hotel in the near future so we can show you our true hospitality services.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Delta Hotels Edmonton South Conference Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Property: Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 131
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), HotelsClick, Hotel.de, HRS and Ebookers so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing