We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South
Ranked #36 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed at this hotel while travelling to Edmonton for a family wedding. The hotel was close to the airport and to our family and the events. The people at the hotel were very friendly and nice. The breakfast has some good standard options for the complimentary breakfast. One of the workers also went out of her way to get something for my husband who mentioned he liked one of the breakfast items from the previous day that was not available the next day.
We did find that the room for breakfast was very warm and did not seem to be air conditioned.
The room we stayen in was clean and adequate. The only complaint we had about the room was that the bathroom door closed automatically and there was no way to keep it open if you wanted to. This is an issue because there also is no fan to turn on to take out the steam during a shower. We eventually worked around this by putting a hanger in the door to hold it open.
Overall it was what we expected from a Holiday Inn Express and we had a good stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMAC1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Dear LMAC1967,

We appreciate your time to write us a great review about our friendly and nice team at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

Congratulate to your family wedding, we are glad that you are able to enjoy the hotel, complimentary breakfast with your husband and our breakfast server has taken the initiative to make your breakfast experience an unforgettable one.

It is great that our hotel is in a perfect location for your family wedding events, conveniently located to and from airport and your family in Edmonton.

We have noted your comment that the breakfast room was too warm for you during your stay. Our maintenance man has checked the air conditioning to be in working condition at a pre-set temperature. Should you find same situation on your next visits, please do not hesitate to let the duty breakfast staff knows and they will be very happy to adjust the temperature to your comfort level.

We are sorry to hear that the bathroom door did not stay open at your preference. Please call the front desk to see if a door stopper is available or our maintenance man will assist you.

We apologize for the inconvenience of the bathroom fan has caused you. We do have a switch for a fan in the bathroom but there is actually not a fan in there. This might sound confusing. Our hotel has decided to put HVAC's in the bathrooms as a replacement to the fan and you will notice this on the ceiling in this room. The HVAC works the same way as a fan, unfortunately sometimes a steaming hot shower might leave the bathroom mirror with more fog than we would like. We appreciate your understanding of this and would be happy to show you how this system works on your next visit.

We look forward to your next and future visits so we could be of service to you and your families again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

189 - 195 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014 via mobile

Great hotel!
Its what you expect from a holiday inn express, the room was clean and the front desk was polite and helpful. I needed a place to have dinner and the staff gave me directions to the restaurant of my choice.
Great place to stay if you're ever in town.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
Thank Curtis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 July 2014

Dear Curtis N,

We are so grateful that you have taken the time to write us a great review.

Your review based on your recent personal experiences at our hotel has provided an insight on our staff performance as well as the facilities that our hotel has to offer.

It meant a lot to our staff team and validates their hard work being recognized. Review like yours is so powerful and encouraging and we will definitely share it with our entire team.

We are so glad that you found our room clean and our staffs are polite and helpful. On behalf of the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, we would like to THANK YOU for your kind support and generous recommendation of our hotel to the readers at trip advisor website.

We hope to welcome you back to Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South in the not so distant future so we can be of service to you again soon.

Yours sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights at this hotel in the first week of June 2014. My rating for the hotel would probably be a 4.5, if not for the callous behavior of one breakfast staff employee. My following description may not sound like a big deal to some; but, it is a big deal for people with special diets. I am on a gluten-free, low-sugar diet. For my first breakfast, I ate the non-flavored oatmeal mixed with some peanut butter. On the second morning, I wanted to eat the same thing. However, there was only a handful of oatmeal packages left in the tray and only flavored oatmeal remained (i.e. oatmeal with a lot of sugar). I then asked one of the breakfast staff employees to see if they had any more unflavored oatmeal packages. Without checking, or flinching, she looked me straight in the eye and told me that was all they had. Because the hotel is quite large and busy, and because there was still more than another hour left for breakfast, I had a feeling that she was not being forthcoming . So, I decided to come back and check 15 minutes later. Sure enough, when I returned there was a full rack of oatmeal, some unflavored, some flavored. In my opinion, that employee needs some extra training about how to behave in the service business. Alternatively, the hotel should instead hire someone else who is happy to please customers who have reasonable requests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Marie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Marie F,

Thanks for your review about your early June stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We understand how disappointing it would be when we were falling short in our service. We hope for your kind understanding and excuse us for not paying sufficient attention to your needs.

Our breakfast attendant did not mean to be callous or unhelpful, she was just panic knowing we were lack of plain oatmeal at the time. When she said to you we had no more plain oatmeal was very true. That morning, the demand of oatmeal was higher than usual and we were running out of stock in our storage, except the few bags left in display. One of our staff had already gone out to purchase more supply so we could replenish our tray afterwards.

We are sorry that the breakfast server was not able to explain to you a bit more to avoid the confusion. She could have been more attentive to ask more questions, and then she would probably learn more about your diet requirements and could offer more efficient assistance.

We are glad that you are able to go back to the breakfast bar to enjoy the unflavored oatmeal
.
Please accept our sincere apology for the miscommunications and misleading response that had caused your distress. We hope for your consideration to come back to our hotel again so we can show you our true hospitality.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Good location with clean rooms. We really enjoyed the free breakfast. Waffles, sausage, bacon and all the goodies for a good breakfast. Much better than the usual continental breakfast you get in most hotels.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank h c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear a c,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South as your home away home during your recent visit to Edmonton.

We cannot say “Thank you” enough for your wonderful review and in recognizing us as “One of the best free breakfasts” in the hospitality industry. Your words mean a lot to us in a good and encouraging way.

We are proud of our great location, being centrally located in the heart of south Edmonton. We have a lot of restaurants nearby offering different ethnic cuisines, and are also nearby the Cineplex and the South Common shopping area, and the Southgate Shopping Centre.

Thanks to our professional housekeeping team who work their best to clean and maintain the rooms and premises. We will definitely pass on your kind comment to our staff in order to make them motivated and continue to provide exceptional services.

On behalf of our team here at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South, we would like to extend our appreciation for your thoughtful compliments. It is delightful to receive such praise from you, one of our valued guests.

We look forward to the opportunity to have you stay with us again.

Sincerely,
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I used to work in the hotel industry so it is rare that I am WOWed by a hotel... This hotel is average. The queen suite we stayed in was a nice size for a family, although a bit noisy as all of these rooms face Calgary Trail. Otherwise, we heard no noise from within the hotel. I appreciated the separate sink in the kitchenette area so I could wash fruit/veggies and do some dishes (our own waterbottles/etc.). It would be nice to have door that separates the sleeping area from the sitting area. The sofa in the sitting area needed replacing or recovering. There were obvious dried on stains on the sofa. The room was "surface clean" -- meaning when you first walk in it looks tidy, but upon further inspection it needs deeper cleaning -- my husband found a bottle cap under the bed and there were a few crumbs on the floor. To be honest, I've come to expect this level of cleanliness (or lack of) from hotels (and I usually stay at well rated hotels). The beds were ok...lots of pillows to choose from. The breakfast had lots of selection (egg choice, waffles, pancakes, sausage, bacon, yogurt, oatmeal, juice,coffee, muffins, bread/bagels, etc.), but I think a few more fruit options would be nice (a fruit salad??). We stayed 4 days and every day the only fruit choices were apples and bananas. Access to the hotel is only from the North, but it is possible to take the service road South and get on 23 Ave (I think..). The pool was cool, but ok ... small but during the week it wasn't busy when we used it.

Housekeeping staff were very friendly...the manager and staff. I always refuse room cleaning during my stay (for security reasons) so I can't comment on that. One housekeeper, Olga, was particularly friendly and inquired about my stay. I did have a small incident, when returning to my room and rummaging for my key, a housekeeper offered to open the room for me (no verification of name, etc.) -- I assume to be kind and helpful; however, this is a major security issue and I did mention to the front desk upon check out. I didn't have a need to interact with the front desk except for check-in and check-out...both of which were very efficient and quick. However, on passing through the lobby, the staff seem to almost avoid eye-contact with guests. A stark contrast to the housekeeping staff.

Overall, I would stay here again, but with the expectation that it's an average hotel.

Room Tip: Rooms on the west side would be quieter than at the front of hotel facing Calgary Trail -- we stayed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lavadog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear lavadog,

It is very kind of you to take the time to write us a review about your recent stay at Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South.

We are glad that you like the room size of our queen suite with separate kitchen sink and our great selection of breakfast options. We apologize that you had experienced noise from your room on the sixth floor that could possibly be the exterior daytime rush hour traffic at that moment.

We felt embarrassed that your husband had found a bottle cap under the bed. We hope for your understanding and excuse us for the oversight due to human error on our part.

All our housekeeping staffs have worked their best to remove and disinfect any stains on the sofa though occasionally small faint marks might be left visible. Our hotel cares about the safety and hygiene of our guests very much. Besides the everyday cleaning of each and every room and suites, we will also conduct regular deep cleaning according to schedule set. Please be rest assure that our hotel facilities are not just surface clean but true clean.

Thanks for your compliments to our friendly housekeeper, Olga. Beata, another housekeeper was also working on the 6th floor during your entire stay from June 2 to 6, recognized you as the guest of room. Beata was trying to be helpful as she coincidently saw you looking for your room key and had therefore offered to open the door for you without a doubt. This was a very rare situation and is not our usual practice. This had happened only at the right time in the right place when Beata absolutely known who you were. Otherwise, she would have questioned you and notified the front desk for any suspicious intrusion to the room. Again, if Beata could not recognize you, she would not open the door for you even if you asked her to do so. She would definitely follow our hotel policy and procedure to send you to the front desk to get a new key and identity verification.

We fully understand your concerns and we have noted all your comments. It is review like yours that give us an opportunity to understand our guests more and be able to reflect and improve our policy and procedures to better serve our guests in order to achieve a total hospitality satisfaction.

We thank you for your continuous support and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights with our daughter and her son. Rooms were clean , spacious and very sound proof. Nice to have a fridge in room. We used the pool area which was enjoyed by our grandchild. The breakfast had lots of choices and well attended by staff. Lots of parking. Have stayed before and will stay again.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OliveM12_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear OliveM1 2_13,

Thank you for choosing Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South as your family hotel.

We appreciate your time to complete a nice review for our hotel superb facilities and fabulous staff.

Thanks to our professional housekeeping team for maintaining the cleanliness of the guest rooms. We are glad that you have enjoyed the spacious – clean – quiet room with a fridge, and ample parking spaces.

It is lovely to learn that you and your daughter and grandson were able to spend time in the pool area having fun.

Our breakfast servers are thrill to know that they have made an unforgettable experience to you and your family. Our complimentary breakfast is truly very popular as there are lots of different hot and cold goodies to choose from every day.

We are so excited that you will stay with us again on your next trips. It is always our mission to enable our guests staying at our hotel to feel like a second home away from home. We look forward to be of service to you and your family again soon.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

We visited Edmonton for a family wedding this past weekend. This hotel was great. The room was fine, clean, comfortable beds. The fridge and microwave were nice added touches for kids. The pools was great, very clean with great hours. But the key reason we would be back in a second is the breakfast. GREAT VALUE. There were eggs, sausage, bacon, pancakes, waffles, cereal, yoghurt, juice. Well worth a visit

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kidtripping
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
General_Manager_HIEX, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2014

Dear kidtripping,

Congratulations to your family wedding. We would like to thank you for taking the time out of your busy travelling schedule to write us such a wonderful review.

We all cheer up when reading through the happy lines of your review. We are so glad that you and your family members were all enjoying the hotel facilities and room amenities. Our housekeeping team will be so proud that you felt comfortable in the clean room, your kids able to use the fridge and microwave. Our maintenance team will feel fantastic that you found the pools great and clean as well.

Thanks indeed for your appreciation of the GREAT VALUE of our hotel and complimentary breakfast with a great selection of hot and cold food and beverage items.

It is an honour to serve you and your family during your family occasion. All of us here at the Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South cannot wait to welcome you and your family back to our hotel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Holiday Inn Express & Suites Edmonton South

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Calgary Trail South
Sawridge Inn and Conference Centre Edmonton South
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Calgary Trail North
Radisson Edmonton South
Radisson Edmonton South
#23 of 91 in Edmonton
854 reviews
Downtown
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South

Address: 2440 Calgary Trail NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6J 5J6, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton > Calgary Trail South
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £61 - £87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South 2.5*
Number of rooms: 191
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton South reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton South

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing