We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very cool place” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Strathcona

Old Strathcona
Ranked #14 of 181 things to do in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Historic neighborhood containing buildings dating back to 1891.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very cool place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

lots of great shops and places to eat!! really enjoyed the atmosphere and people!! Beautiful architecture in some of the old buildings as well

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank kulishkittie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

221 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    102
    87
    24
    6
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Buzzing on Whyte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2013

Friday night on Whyte Avenue was buzzing with characters and people seeking a fun night out. All the venues seemed busy. Book ahead for the popular restaurants.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MelaleucaPhil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary
Level Contributor
57 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Olde Time is Calling1”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

Now we're talking! See, I am a blues fan for sure and if you are a fan of the olde time then I definitely suggest a visit to Whyte Ave! All kinds of shops and little mom and pop stores, things you don't see much of anymore. We visited Blues on Whyte bar and enjoyed the band which happened to be Liz Mandeville that night. She rocks! The only thing about the place is that is run down and one of the staff overpriced me a couple rounds. It is a seedy place so you may want to keep your guard up against people who like to stir up contention with other patrons. Other then that, we will be going back to Old Strathcona for sure.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great old buildings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2013

We thought it was going to be bigger than it was. Still had a drink on a patio and looked out at street action. Quaint but not a must see.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank LarsViking1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Whyte Avenue and area”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

So many things to see and do. There are festivals throughout the summer months. Restaurants, bars, stores, farmer's market, antique shops, grocery stores, theatres and so much more can be visitied all year round.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shirley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Old Strathcona also viewed

 

Been to Old Strathcona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing