We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Parkesburg, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
78 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

You can not go wrong staying at this beautiful hotel. It's majestic structure sits on a high hill overlooking the river and surrounding city scenery. The staff was extremely courteous, welcoming and friendly. The lobby/entrance grand and luxurious. We had a basic room which was very clean, comfortable and luxurious as well as a very nice bathroom. We enjoyed a swim in the pool downstairs which was very nice and seemed well maintained. We had a nice stroll in the gardens/courtyard after dinner. Highly recommended!

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Spencer R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 23 January 2014
Thank you for staying with us at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald and for taking the time to share the comments of your recent visit.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. In addition, thank you for the compliments on our products and service. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

933 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    257
    83
    37
    17
See reviews for
176
313
53
284
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2014

I booked a hotel room for my boyfriend and I to stay in for his birthday last year.
Being a resident of Edmonton for my entire life, I'd never been in or stayed at the hotel, so this was a nice treat for the both of us.
It's a beautiful hotel. Authentic and historical and I felt like we were treated like royalty. The level of service is amazing. It's service that you just won't get at any other hotel.
The only complaint I have is, the door to our room was EXTREMELY close to our neighbours door. And, with a screaming baby all night long, we had a really hard time enjoying the comfort of our room.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeffsJess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moncton
Level Contributor
139 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent location in downtown Edmonton. It seemed a good city centre hotel, but not the best I've stayed in. Many of the amenities were closed down due to some ice damage. The room was very nice, but could use some updating. I found the bathroom very dark. I would stay here again if I came back through Edmonton.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mpjotraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very pleasing to hear you enjoyed your stay. I was not sure of your comment regarding our property having outlets closed in the hotel as we do not have any ice damage. I would be pleased to speak to you further so I could have some clarification. Please contact me directly at the hotel at your earliest convenience.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 January 2014

We had an excellent time at the hotel macdonald! The service is more than we hoped for and a fantastic room with a great view! We were visiting Edmonton for the west edmonton mall. From the very start the valet were helpful and friendly. Front desk were amazing also! Thank you to everyone there and will be back soon!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2014

I stay at the Hotel Macdonald often when I am in Edmonton. The staff are always very friendly and do what they can to make my stay great. The hotel is one of the grand old railway hotels. Rooms have interesting nooks and crannies. The hotel has a great lounge.

Room Tip: ask for a riverview room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank highflier2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

Very high quality hotel in prime location. Particularly good if you are attending a conference as you need only walk 5 minutes. Lobby and bar are classic Fairmont with all the wood, stone and fireplaces. Rooms have a classic feel and are smartly appointed. Strongly suggest a river view (corner if possible) - beautiful. Gym is a bit of a disappointment but breakfast is outstanding.

Room Tip: River view is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent visit.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay especially our Breakfast. We are continuing to enhance our Breakfast offering to ensure we are delivering an outstanding product. It was disappointing to hear the feedback on our Health Club. However we are completing a renovation on our product in the Spring.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

My Husband and I were attending a family wedding and the wedding was held at the Fairmont. We made the long journey from the UK to be there and what a welcome this hotel is!
The room was very spacious, air con, lovely bathroom, all mod cons (a handy coffee machine too we a selection of coffees which we enjoyed every morning) and a heavenly large bed - so comfortable.
The view from the room was overlooking the pretty gardens below and further across the river. the view, particularly at sunrise or sunset was rather spectacular
We ate breakfast every morning - a wide selection of goodies ! we went for the buffet every time as there is such a great choice of cooked breakfast, cereals, fruit and pastries there was no real need to order off the menu. The eggs Benedict was out of this world good, and the sausages in maple syrup were a favorite of my husbands.
We stayed in September and were lucky enough to enjoy some lovely warm weather so usually took breakfast outside on the terrace.
The staff during the wedding and throughout our whole 4 day stay were so very attentive and bent over backwards to provide excellent customer service. Everything is to the highest quality, and although we found the drinks from the bar a little expensive, it would have been cheaper than going out for drinks in london !
Its definitely a special place to stay, makes a wonderful location for a wedding, was close enough to town to explore ….and the doggy in reception is very cute !
the only slight negative thing

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and it was very pleasing to add to the joy of your trip from the UK.

We were very happy to hear that you were able to enjoy our facility and take advantage of all that we have to offer and that you felt our service and product is of the highest quality. That being said, I will ensure a review is taken on our beverage pricing to ensure we are in alignment with the local area.

I will ensure your comments are shared with my team and we hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald the next time you are in the Edmonton area.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,363 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,257 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#22 of 93 in Edmonton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 319 reviews
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel
#13 of 93 in Edmonton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 916 reviews
5.1 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100th St, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing