We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place to get away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #11 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Slave Lake, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Awesome place to get away”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We went to the fairmont on our anniversary. What a place. Beautiful setting. Gorgeous gardens an patio.. The deluxe rooms are luxurious an spacious. We had an absolutely fabulous time. Would recommend it to anyone looking for a romantic get away or even jus a relaxing weekend.. The food is a little pricy but really good!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to spend your special occasion with us.

We are very pleased that you were able to take advantage of our gardens and patio. In addition, we are pleased that we were able to add to the enjoyment of your special get a way weekend.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

986 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    269
    88
    37
    18
See reviews for
186
337
56
295
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for one night for business. Arrived and attended the tea on Sunday afternoon. Waited 15 minutes to be approached at the table to get something to drink. When service did come I had tinfoil piece in my perscutto and my plate was dripping wet. It appear that they didn't have enough waitstaff for the people booked and reserved. The food tasted like it had been sitting out for sometime.

At check-in they couldn't find my president reward number and told me to go find it myself on my computer later and let them know. I don't know why they couldn't find it on their actual computer system.

I have stated the Banff location and found this to be not up to the Banff standard (and I have attended their tea), although the room was better decorated.

The room in Edmonton had fingerprint marks all over the mirrors and windows and as I was entering the room for the first time the housekeeping stopped me so that they could check the room. I'm not sure why this wouldn't have been done upon my gaining access to the room.

For $650 a night I would've expected more.

Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
2 Thank DragonSamurai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very disappointing to hear the service you experienced as this is certainly not indicative of the level we provide. I can assure you that your comments will be shared with my team to ensure any deficiencies are corrected for the future.

Please contact me personally so I can gain further details to ensure actions are taken to follow the vision we want to provide for our guests for a positive memorable experience.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
278 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

This is a great hotel located on the hill overlooking the river valley. Located in the center of downtown Edmonton with outstanding rooms with views, great restaurants and bars, very nice spa facilities . A great hotel for business or just a fantastic weekend as we did. The staff are very helpful and polite. The garden at the back of the hotel is breath taking, fountain, flowers, views, pathways. terrace dinning. Go I know you won't be disappointed

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 281bob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very gratifying to hear your feedback on our hotel. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Niagara Falls, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
443 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 683 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Stayed here for two nights on business. I love the old Fairmont hotels across Canada. Earlier this year I had stayed at the Fairmont hotels in Quebec, Montreal and Vancouver. This was the first time I stayed at this one. I found it to be on a much smaller scale than the others I've stayed at. The lobby area is small and they do not have a Gold floor although are apparently working on one.

The friendly young lady at the front desk went out of her way to help me with directions, etc. I typically book my reservations directly on the Fairmont site; for this stay I used Expedia. Sadly, this did not fair well for me. I ended up with I think the hotel's smallest room possible, on the third floor, directly across from the elevator, overlooking a roadway between the hotel and an adjacent building - it felt like a punishment for not booking directly with Fairmont. The other disappointment was as it ended up, I did not receive my President's Club points. When I called, they advised it was because I had booked on Expedia.

I returned to the front desk to ask for a room away from the elevator; they only had a river view room to offer me at an additional cost. I took it to avoid having to stay in the less desirable room. The room I ended up with was larger and the view was indeed nice. I would recommend if you can, that you chose a river view room when booking. Or at least ensure you don't end up in one of the tiny rooms. My king bed, the bedding and the pillows were all very comfortable.

I ended up having dinner by myself in the lobby bar restaurant one night. There had been some light entertainment earlier in the evening. As most lobby bars, I found the prices to be high, but the menu is extensive enough as is the drinks list, comparable to the other Fairmont's I've stayed in price wise. The lobby bar restaurant had plenty of seating and a warm and cozy atmosphere. Service was good as was the food and drink I'd ordered.

I would certainly recommend this Fairmont if you happen to be in Edmonton on business. If you have found this review helpful, please let me know by clicking below.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BahiaDelray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riverside
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

staff blaming the corporate office and most likely corporate office blaming the staff however lots of hidden charges which they never explain at the time of the check in and they charge for internet could you believe that I stay in many hotels last year the hole year spend it in the hotel and it was first that I was asked to pay for the internet

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Valentina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the comments of your most recent stay as we are always looking for ways to improve.

It was very disappointing to hear your comments on our team blaming corporate office. I can assure you that I will be following up as this should never be the case. With regards to our internet, we do charge. However, if you sign up to be a President’s Club member this fee is waived. I will ensure follow up with my front office team to ensure clarification of charges.

We do believe in our product and service and do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
Level 6 Contributor
432 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 305 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

From the moment I arrived in my car, to the departure two days later, the vast majority of the staff were polite, helpful, and efficient. Dave greeted us and promptly took care of our car and luggage, and even had a good conversation about the other Fairmont hotel we were both very familiar with. At check-in, we encountered friendly and personal front desk staff, including Anna who is the prototype for being a good front desk personnel. Alex , who manages the dining room and lounge, is a most promising rising star.

We felt we were being taken care very nicely. So why not 5 star rating? To begin with, the lobby can feel crammed at times when it gets busy. The space between the reception desk and elevator can be tight during busy times. Our room, while is situated exactly where we had requested,( thanks again to the excellent front desk staff who we spoke with a day prior to arrival) has an odd configuration with slanted ceiling at a corner due to the architecture of the exterior. The wall between us and our neighbor has to be the thinnest of all the Fairmonts we have stayed in, as we could hear the small child next door talking to her parent .

Our experience at the three food services were mixed. We were here for a wedding. The Empire ballroom was elegant, good acoustics, nice size, and service was good. Harvest room supposedly for fine dining turned out really bad due to a poor server and , in my opinion, an inexperienced chef. The situation was rescued by Alex the manager, who made sure we were taken care of properly the next day when we went back to lunch at Confederation lounge.

Would I stay here again? Yes. The staff try to uphold the Fairmont reputation for service and they have done a marvelous job. Certain structural things cannot be changed and I can understand that.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tak3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to share the comments of your most recent stay.

It was very nice to read the comments regarding our superb service, however disheartening to hear the service you received in our Harvest Room. I would appreciate if you could contact me personally so I could learn more of your experience to correct any deficiencies. With regards to the shape of our rooms and building, the architecture is sometimes challenging however, does create unique rooms as well.

I will ensure your comments are shared with my team and will give a special recognition to the colleagues mentioned.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at this hotel on our wedding night, and chose this hotel because of the beautiful architecture and rich history of the hotel. The staff were friendly, but upon entering our room, I had stumbled upon a dog bone (or so we think) near the window sill. We called the front desk and they immediately switched us out to another room, and the night shift managers apologised and asked if he could do anything to make our stay comfortable. The rooms are quite outdated, and the washroom in both rooms we had entered looked like they weren’t clean. The housekeeping service wasn’t up to the standard of the Fairmont, as we’ve stayed in others Fairmont’s and have seen cleaner rooms. The breakfast was delicious in the morning as well as the view, which made our stay a little better. You would think with a pricey hotel such as the Hotel Macdonald that the value for your buck would be great, we were disappointed to say the least.

Room Tip: Not sure what tip we could give, we've seen two of their upgraded rooms and they were both disap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MimiC337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Congratulations and thank you for staying with us and for taking the time to share your feedback.

It was very disappointing to hear the comments of your stay with us. We pride ourselves on ensuring a very high level of attention to detail and it appears that we have failed in this instance. I have personally followed up with my Housekeeping team to ensure cleaning standards are reviewed and quality checks completed so this does not occur again. It was nice to hear that you enjoyed our food and beverage offering and I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future so we can reinstate your confidence in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,523 reviews
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#25 of 93 in Edmonton
335 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#21 of 93 in Edmonton
1,202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#6 of 93 in Edmonton
1,374 reviews
0.2 mi away
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
Chateau Lacombe Hotel
#44 of 93 in Edmonton
479 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Property: Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#2 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Fairmont Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing