We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful heritage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #13 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Lovely, old, majestic hotel in the middle of the city. Rooms are beautifully appointed and very clean. Staff very accommodating. Enjoyed the Harvest Room and the Lounge area. Could not have been better stay. Would definitely return and would recommend to friends.

Room Tip: River View. But any room is excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travel09Ontario
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to review your recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay and felt out team was very accommodating. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

775 - 781 of 1,154 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

The room was exceptionally nice. Got upgraded at no extra charge to a suite. The staff were so nice and accommodating. Right in the middle of the city so you have to be careful about where you walk. Beautiful old hotel; quite majestic. Would recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a suite overlooking the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Had a fantastic time at the hotel Mac celebrating our 20th wedding Anniversary. What an incredible view from the deck looking out over the river valley. Highly recommend it. The room was perfect, the ambience was fantastic and the staff were very professional.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Larry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

I can see why this is for rich people because they charge you for everything. I had some points from aeroplan saved up to get a nice room and the pictures that they put up makes you think you are staying in a newly renovated room and that is far from that. Before we check in we are charged $25 for parking, then we go inside and they say so you booked with points and we say yes and you would think that it would not matter how you book but it does. We were put on the 5th floor which is fine but they stuck us waaaay down the hallway, and we walked in our room you can tell that they just did cheap patch work, and our beautiful view was of the hotel a parking lot but if you look to your right you can kinda see the river valley. We went for supper i had a plain burger with cheese which i wanted but they didn't even offer fries because they don't make it in this kitchen they make it in the other kitchen. At the end of the meal it was $90.00 for 2 burgers 15 fries 3 drinks and a slice of chocolate cake. Oh did i forget to mention the hot tub and pool is under construction and if i would of known that i would of never booked it. Then the next morning we had the housekeeping checking to see if we were still there at 8am!!! Check out was not till noon. We go for breakfast and silly me there is no free complentary breakfast, it cost $28.00 for a buffet but what really got me was i wasn't even finished my meal, not even half way and they brought my bill. Really??!!?? I can't finish eating then they put a big family next to us when there wasn't a big spot to begin with. It was like because we are not rich and we used points that they stick you off into a cheap room but they want you out right away. After all this i didn't have to pay for breakfast geez thanks. We were not rude we were like everybody else but because we didn't "look rich" it was just horriable experience and i will never stay there again. Here is a tip, call a head and find out if the pool is in working order and is there free parking, wifi, and breskfast. Yup no free wifi either. Sucked big time.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Christine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank for choosing to stay with us. We appreciate your time to relay your feedback.

It was very disappointing to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. With regards to your arrival experience, I will ensure that follow up occurs with our Front Desk team, however we do not have any way of knowing if a reservation is booked on points if we are not advised. For the parking facilities at the hotel, we do not own any parking and are bound by the prices around the hotel. We do our best to ensure we find the best value for our guests however parking in downtown Edmonton is quite expensive. Our Health Club is currently under renovation and we are sorry that this was not communicated to you. This information is on our website and on our guest confirmation letters as we do want to ensure our guests are aware. In addition, we do have alternative arrangements established at another facility for our guest to utilize for the remaining duration. Finally, I will ensure I follow up with our Housekeeping team to ensure we are following procedures as this is out of the ordinary.

We do believe in our hotel and brand that all guests are treated equally and I will be sharing your comments with my team to ensure any shortfalls are corrected.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future so we can restore your faith in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Got married at the hotel. Great event and great rooms. Memorable for everyone.
Recommend to one and all. Food and service was excellent.
Staff friendly and knowledgeable and was always smiling and helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Harvey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Congratulations and we are very happy that we were able to add to the joy and memories of your special day.

We are very happy to hear that we that our team was knowledgeable and helpful and I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont for 2 nights on a recent stay in Edmonton. The hotel is elegant and stately with beautiful views over Edmonton and the River Valley. Service was friendly and impeccable. We loved having Smudge, the lab/welcoming committee, hanging out in the lobby. It really gives the hotel a nice, welcoming touch. We spent a lot of time on the patio of the Confederation Lounge; we even dined there one night. The food was absolutely delicious and the drinks were amazing. We really felt spoiled while we were there and will definitely stay here again on a return visit to Edmonton!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VancouverTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 4 July 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for taking the time to share your comments.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and your comments on our team being impeccable and friendly. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team and will make sure Smudge gets a special scratch as well.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Edmonton.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The Macdonald is a stately hotel with magnificent lobby. When you walk in, it immediately feels like you've stepped into another era where elegance and grandeur were the norm. I received a free upgrade and my room was huge. A tip about internet: if you are staying at a Fairmont, before you leave home, sign up online for their free "frequent stay" card - show the card and the internet is free - otherwise it's pricey. Staff were very professional and friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 2 July 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to upgrade your room to enhance your visit. Finally, I will ensure your comments are shared with my team regarding our team being professional and friendly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#27 of 93 in Edmonton
361 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
2,860 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 93 in Edmonton
1,356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 93 in Edmonton
1,560 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £122 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fairmont Hotels, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing