We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It has wonderful charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Ranked #13 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 18 August 2014

A great older hotel with old world charm , a great bar and helpful staff , the rooms are fine and comfy and location is hard to beat , Bathroom could use a redo but it has so much going for it just the way it is if you like a classic this is it . The breakfast is as good as it gets in Major hotels . You have to enjoy a drink in the Bar which has an indoor and outdoor patio and a great bar Tender do create your beverage .

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sam K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,132)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

731 - 737 of 1,132 reviews

Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

We arrived after a long trip, our room was not ready yet, we did check in but we need to wait for hotel call to advise for our room ready while we were around the city, our luggage were supposed to be already in the room, we came back to the hotel and our room was ready (Why none calls?!?), we need to do another check in, go to the room and call for having our luggage. No free wifi and obliged to become Preferred Guest!!!! And the furniture are old... No way! Only brand reputation but no content!!!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Frecch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for providing your feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very disheartening to hear that you did not enjoy your stay. We do our best to provide early check in for our guests and I apologize as it appears in your instance our system failed. I will ensure follow up with my team to ensure our standards are followed for the future.

We do hope to see you again at The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald so we can restore your faith in us.

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

As with many hotels in the Fairmont Chain it is what I like to call a character hotel. The hotel is in good condition very clean and decently maintained beds are comfortable linens are excellent quality, wifi was solid, TV was decent bathroom was a little small but I did not have a suite, I had a city view little disappointing considering hotel was not full and I am a long standing platinum member. Noise from the outside was noticeable not sure what it was mostly white noise but I think if you were higher up this would have been better. Parking is always an annoyance for me not convenient here and to make it convenient you pay too much, would like to tip the valet more but I feel the hotel takes too much for this already.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank oakvilleadvisor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for sharing your feedback.

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. With regards to your room we do try to upgrade however our suites and view rooms are very popular and are quite usually purchased in advance. As for our parking, we do not own any parking at the hotel and are bound by the local pricing. We do our best to work with the near by parking lots to provide the best value for our guests.

Thank you for your loyalty to the brand and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

We stayed as part of a wedding party, and had a lovely time. The hotel is centrally located and has quite an imposing view over the river valley. The room was spacious and clean, although the bathroom did not have a fan. The bar and outside seating areas were lovely with great views over the valley and prompt service. Front office desk staff were very helpful. The only challenge was working out the selfpark. This was located in the car park next door, and wasn't immediately clear if we should pay in the carpark itself, but on going back into the hotel, the front desk confirmed that by giving them the registration details of the car, that was all that was needed. Breakfast was not included in our room price, and was a little pricey, however the food range was quite good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Travel_BlackCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

grounds are wonderful; the hotel services need effort and the management needs to pay more attention to rooms and requests. Food is too expensive to consider worth the price, especially off the menu. The waiters do not ask questions so make sure you are exact with your order. Be sure your room is in proper as our toilet almost overturned when used & no fan...our TV remote did not work nor the telephone properly; our friends' closet door would not open and the rooms were not conducive to the price. Check other hotels first. Price & reservation request doesn't always agree with the photos on the internet.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
2  Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for taking the time to share the feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very disheartening to hear your comments regarding your stay. I will ensure follow up with our Food and Beverage Director regarding our servers engagement. We do always confirm orders and any dietary restrictions so it was very disappointing that this was not completed. We do compare pricing in our marketplace and I will ensure a further comparison is completed so our pricing is aligned. With regards to your guest room toilet and remote these are to be checked daily and I will ensure that our hotel is double checked to ensure everything is in working order.

We take all feedback and constructive comments seriously as we are known for and pride ourselves on a very high level of service and attention to detail and I can assure you all shortfalls will be removed.

We do hope to welcome you back to The Fairmont Hotel Macdonald in the near future so we can restore your faith in us.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2014

I love this hotel, great downtown location. Walking distance to restaurants, shopping. Staff is fabulous and very courteous. I recommend requesting non street facing, traffic can be loud. Rooms clean.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Fairmont Hotels & Resorts
Thank Kelly W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

The Fairmont Edmonton is a lovely, historic hotel located in the center of town. The hotel is beautiful and our room was very comfortable and pretty spacious for a hotel of this age. The bed was very comfortable and service was excellent.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GarrettTurta, General Manager at Fairmont Hotel Macdonald, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Thank you for your feedback of your most recent stay.

It was very pleasing to hear the positive feedback regarding our property. I will ensure your comments are shared with my team.

We do hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Regards,

Garrett Turta
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.1 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 91 in Edmonton
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,842 reviews
1.6 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 91 in Edmonton
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Westin Edmonton
The Westin Edmonton
#17 of 91 in Edmonton
1,325 reviews
5.8 mi away
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
0.5 mi away
Coast Edmonton Plaza Hotel by APA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Hotel Macdonald? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Hotel Macdonald

Address: 10065 100 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5J 0N6, Canada
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Edmonton
#3 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#8 Family Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £122 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Hotel Macdonald 4*
Number of rooms: 198
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stately Downtown Hotel located 30 km from international airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Fairmont Hotel Macdonald reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Edmonton
Fairmont Edmonton
Edmonton Fairmont

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing