We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay on Whyte Ave!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great stay on Whyte Ave!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2014

We wanted a hotel right on Whyte Ave close to the bars and restaurants. This hotel was recommended to me and it was great! The room was a comfortable size for 4 adults, and within walking distance to everything on Whyte, even in minus 20 weather! Hotel is clean, everyone was very nice,parkade close by. There is a Second Cup coffee shop attached, but the breakfast room offered a great variety of flavoured coffees and teas.
I look forward to coming back - hopefully when itis warmer!

Room Tip: Clean, comfortable, good-sized room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

992 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    582
    324
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
189
281
93
326
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2014

Nice location, lot's of amenities nearby (restaurants etc.) and shopping. Great place to stay if you're going to the university or the Stollery. Nice hotel, clean, well appointed rooms, front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful, and they have a nice Second Cup in the lobby, and Murriettas is next door. Rooms are well glazed so there are no issues with noise from Whyte, which can be busy at night. Valet parking was prompt and efficient. We'll certainly be back when we're in Edmonton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

Despite being only a 2.5 star hotel this hotel gets the simple things right. My room was spacious, clean and very quiet. My experience here has been better than some 4 star hotels I have stayed at. The location is great as it is right on Whyte and is also close to UofA. I definitely recommend staying here if you're visiting Edmonton.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SamO104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Sam O,

Thank you for your wonderful review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your visit and we hope to see you again soon!

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
50 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2014

Right on Whyte Avenue (Edmonton's small entertainment district), this is a high-end hotel at midrange prices. It is clean, modern, quiet, and provides immediate walking access to many great restaurants and bars and shops. I recommend the Continental Treat for authentic European meals, Yanni's for the best Greek you will have in Western Canada, King and I for Edmonton's best Thai. Also nearby is Maki Maki for excellent sushi (believe it or not), and New York Bagel Cafe (maybe a 10-minute walk) for breakfast. Parking can be a nuisance here, and on Friday and Saturday nights it can get loud, but polite Canadian loudness, not boorishness. Excellent hotel. If you can't get in here, the Metterra just down the street is equally good.

Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Scott B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 December 2013

Easy check-in, accommodating, comfortable room and clean facility. The hallway to the parking garage could use a larger sign for direction to the parking facility off the second floor....I took the wrong door and ended up outside having to walk back around to get inside...despite this small inconvenience (of not looking at the sign on the wall)...the location is great and the hotel is quite nice.... "I'll be back".

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Rob L,

Thank you for your review! We are sorry you were confused about the parking sign. In future, our lovely bellmen would be happy to bring your car around for you or escort you to your vehicle.

We are thrilled our hotel lived up to your high standards and hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creston, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 December 2013

My stay here was really great. It was nice to have valet parking, as there was such a snow storm that night. The staff were very helpful with me, and the rooms were modern had a cozy effect. The beds were very comfortable as well. It was nice to be close to many stores and restaurants. I will defiantly stay there my next time in edmonton.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vannessa F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Vannessa F,

We are so happy that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for such a positive review!

We are proud of our hotel and glad that you were able to enjoy it as well. We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

This hotel has potential, but attention to detail is required. It is on a trendy street close to the University of Alberta, so there are a lot of small shops and restaurants close by. The free valet parking is good.

The lobby is very welcoming. The rooms are just average, which is fine, but I was quite disgusted when I laid on the bed and had a view of the ceiling. The ceiling was black with dirt from the vent. It looked like they need to desperately clean the filter and then clean the ceiling! I wonder what the air quality was in the room when the ceiling was such a mess. I have never seen this in any of the numerous hotels that we have stayed at in the past.

They have a nice wine tasting between 5:30 and 6:30 pm in the hospitality suite. Cheese and crackers are also served. They have a nice continental breakfast with make your own waffles, oatmeal, cereals, toasts, pasteries, fruit mixture, yogurt, coffee, juice, ect.

It was also kind of odd that there was no pop machine in the building and you had to get ice from the workout room. Also, never ever encountered this in all the hotels we have stayed at. It seems like they are trying hard, but they seem to be overlooking the small items that should be standard in even a Super 8 Motel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Calgary149
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Calgary149,

Thank you for your feedback. We are so happy that you enjoyed our amenities such as the complimentary valet service, the evening wine tasting, and the complimentary continental breakfast.
We are so proud of these features and love our guest feedback on them.

We apologize that you found the details lacking attention. We are very excited to have a refresh of the rooms planned in the near future, which will address those issues.

Thank you again for the feedback, we always welcome any input from our guests to help us make your stay more comfortable. If you would like to discuss this further, please contact me directly.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,262 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Property: Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing