We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #5 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Fort Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

For the price you will not do better on whyte ave. Includes valet parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Walking distance to any restaurant or night spot you would want. Shopping or just sitting on a park bench enjoying the ambience. A good place to stay with friends or your loved one.

Room Tip: They have CAA rates and will give you a better rate if you just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear Dennis F,

Thank you for staying at the Varscona! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will get to enjoy your company again soon!

Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

989 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    580
    323
    60
    17
    9
See reviews for
189
281
93
323
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014

My wife and I booked and stayed at the Varscona Hotel on Whyte Ave. in Edmonton in March of 2014. We come into to town a couple of times a year to see some outstanding blues performers on Whyte Ave. We have stayed at other hotels and enjoyed them. I booked this one for a change and thought, "we shall see" it is a lot less expensive than others but lets try it. Well the staff were very friendly and helpful. The location was great and the parking was free and close by. The room was nicer than some of the more expensive. There was a great wine and cheese tasting that the hotel puts on every evening from 5:30 - 7:30 P.M. at no charge.
We enjoyed to show two blocks down the street (easy walking) and the quiet night of sleep. We then got up for breakfast (continental is what we thought). We arrived at the hospitality room to find that they were serving eggs, cereal, muffins, toast, and freshly made waffles, along with gourmet coffees and various juices...all at no extra charge.
My wife wanted to go shopping on Whyte Ave and awhile. They held our bags in security and allowed us to continue to park in their parkade for as long as we wanted...again all at no charge. This little hotel and staff went beyond the average into the exceptional. I would highly recommend the Varscona Hotel for anyone going to the Whyte Ave. area or even just staying in Edmonton. I know that we WILL be returning in the future.

Thanks to the Staff.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank danieldoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 4 April 2014
Dear danieldoyle,

Thank you for your very kind words on your stay! We are so happy that you were able to experience all our amenities and found your time with us enjoyable. We are thrilled you were able to experience the culture of this one-of-akind neighbourhood and hope you will be able to return soon to enjoy more!

Thank you for your review, we hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

The Varscona on Whyte is located in a trendy area of Edmonton, where there is a good selection of boutique shopping. The hotel staff is very welcoming and helpful. Amenities included a small business center, fitness facility (fairly decent!), and breakfast service. The breakfast service was good, but I would have liked to see more selection of hot items such as scrambled eggs. There is a conveniently located Second Cup shop on the main floor which is nice if you want to take a break and grab a cup of something soothing. The staff service at this location is excellent as well! The location is also within walking distance (15 mins.) to the University of Alberta. Rooms were generally nice, but the wall in my room was looking a bit shabby and the lighting could have been a bit better as well. Even so, it was a pleasant experience, and I would return again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vantourista
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tumbler Ridge, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 March 2014

Have stayed twice at Varscona for Medical procedures for my hubby and they gave us hospital rates during our stay. Being from way, way, way out of town was nice to know that hotels provide this. A pretty and comfortable hotel in the heart of hustle and bustle of Whyte.... numerous eating and watering holes.....OByrnes being my FAV and a coffee shops on every corner...my hubby loved Second Cup. Rooms were clean and comfy and the continental breakfast was plenty and staff were great. Hopeful they put my pillow aside(I forgot mine there) so next time I will get it....their pillows are way to soft for me, so I bring my own. Was not disappointed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karen g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2014

Have stayed there for business a number of times. Very friendly, quick service. Good price and includes valet parking and breakfast. Location is in the heart of old Strathcona. Spacious, new rooms that are comfortable. Couple of missing items would be shoe shine kits and mini bar.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LJGMJLAJAI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

Staff were friendly. Carpets need cleaning. Furniture looking a bit tired. Bed and linens were excellent. Continental breakfast was very good. Sound transmission OK, could hear a bit of hallway and outside noise. Otherwise a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Rod M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Rod M,

Thank you for your review! We are happy that you found your stay with us to be pleasant. We are very excited to announce that we are implementing a refresh this spring to remodel and update our guest rooms, which should address your concerns regarding the carpets and furniture. We hope that you will enjoy them on your next stay with us!

Thank you for your comments and your review! We hope to see you again soon!

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

I took my wife and kids her in January for a weekend at the waterpark!!! The hotel was amazing! We stayed in a suite that they upgraded us to for nothing and we loved it!! Big spacious rooms, great hot breakfast include in the rate, and amazing staff!!! We would return for sure!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this review, 25 February 2014
Dear Julie F,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We are happy your family were able to take advantage of the suite and enjoyed all the space it provided. Thank you for your review and for staying with us. We hope to see you and your family again soon!

Dawn Li
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#4 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,261 reviews
Matrix Hotel
#9 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Union Bank Inn
#26 of 93 in Edmonton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Property: Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing