We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Varscona Hotel on Whyte
Ranked #5 of 91 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 19 May 2014

Varscona definitely gives you value for your money. Rooms were clean, well equipped and the staff was friendly. The parking garage next door is an added bonus, since we did not have to squeeze into a narrow parking with our truck and we never had to struggle to find a spot. The hotel is slightly less luxurious than some of the other hotels we've stayed at, but we had no complaints whatsoever.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank happyann3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear happyann3,

Thank you for your review! We were so thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,095 - 1,101 of 1,272 reviews

Reviewed 24 April 2014

Couldn't have been happier. The staff are that great combination of friendly and focused. My bed was to die for. Premium linens, perfect pillows for side and back sleep, lovely, light warm comforter. The air was fresh, place was super clean, good supply of toiletries. Free Wi-Fi and breakfast. How can you go wrong? I also enjoy the eclectic Whyte Ave.

Room Tip: Was on the quiet side facing away from Whyte, didn't hear a thing
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Junkaholic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 20 May 2014

Dear Junkaholic,

Thank you for your review! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to see you return soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

I have been to many hotels before and none come close to Varscona on service quality! The staff were incredibly accommodating. Valet parking was efficient and done quickly to accommodate my needs. Breakfast and wine-and cheese were great perks and helped me feel at home. I had a stressful 3 days of work to do, but the work-trip was very easy as the staff made me feel at home. Rooms themselves were neat and tidy. Big and comfortable beds. Pillows that help you melt away to sleep. There was no late-night food options, but plenty of fruit around the hotel to have if a snack was needed. Other perks included the business center and the free shoe-shining machine! Overall a great stay!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ADAM H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear ADAM H,

Thank you for staying with us at the Varscona Hotel on Whyte! We are so happy that we were able to make you comfortable during your business trip and that you were able to enjoy many of complimentary amenities! We hope to see you return soon!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

There is absolutely nothing bad to say about this hotel. Complimentary valet parking; quick and easy check in; clean, quiet, and comfortable rooms (yes, including the beds); and it's on Whyte Avenue, which is always fun. Professional and friendly services all around.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yellowknifer73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Yellowknifer73,

Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you found your stay to be comfortable and pleasant and hope that you will return soon!

Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

As always I stayed at the Varscona, like I do every time I visit Edmonton. As Always, It was a wonderful experience, and made the holiday to Edmonton pleasant. Rooms are very comfortable, and seem to have been renovated since I was there last. I don't know what kind of beds they have, but it is the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in. I didn't want to leave. I was dreading coming home to my own bed to sleep once the weekend ended ;) I highly recommend the Varscona on Whyte, for it's exceptional location near restaurants, bars and shops, as well as their wonderful rooms, and excellent service

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ace B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Ace B,

Thank you for your kind review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and found our beds to be comfortable, if a bit difficult to pull yourself out of! We hope to see you again soon!

Thank you for choosing the Varscona Hotel on Whyte!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li,
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

My husband had been transported via ambulance from cold lake (4hrs away) to the hospital in edmonton. The kids and I had not slept for over 36hrs when we checked in. The staff was welcoming, warm, helpful and soooo pleasant! They came to my car, unloaded all the luggage while i dealt with my two little ones (4 and 8), took our luggage to the room, unloaded it and I HAD NOT EVEN ASKED THEM!!!! They had valet service and they did NOT give attitude or show ANY signs of being bothered when we had to get our car 3 times that same day! The room was big, very clean, they brought us a microwave, there was a fridge and a keurig machine in our room! The towels were huge, and they even had robes. The breakfast in the morning was PERECT!!!! They even had a machine that made hot chocolate and warm milk for the kids!!!! In the evening they had complimentary wine and cheese! When we checked out, they took our luggage from the room, loaded it in the car and without me asking! They also had a treasure basket full of toys for each girl to pick out when we arrived and when we checked out! How sweet was that?
THE SERVICE at this hotel was OUTSTANDING!!!!!!!!! We have travelled a lot, and have stayed at many hotels (big named chains) but have NEVER received the kind of service we did at the Varscona. The staff here was exceptional, and clearly know what customer service entails. I would HIGHLY HIGHLY recommend it to anyone.....Next time we are in Edmonton, no matter where ...we are definetly returning back to the Varscona Hotel.....by the way....there is even a Starbucks attached to their lobby and the shopping is great in the neighbourhood....Chianti Restaurant and the Happy Family Chinese Restaurant delivered and were DELICIOUS AS WELL!!!!
Thank you for making our stay during a very difficult time in our family, pleasant and relaxing and hassle free.

Room Tip: if you choose room 210 where we stayed on the second floor, the breakfast as well as the wine and ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lounleah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear Lounleah,

Thank you for your sweet review. We are relieved we were able to provide your family with comfort in a difficult time and hope you enjoyed your stay with us as much as possible given the circumstances. Please give your husband our best wishes for a speedy recovery.

We hope to see you again soon under more pleasant circumstances.

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

For the price you will not do better on whyte ave. Includes valet parking. Rooms are spacious and well appointed. Walking distance to any restaurant or night spot you would want. Shopping or just sitting on a park bench enjoying the ambience. A good place to stay with friends or your loved one.

Room Tip: They have CAA rates and will give you a better rate if you just ask.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Denis F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dawn L, General Manager at Varscona Hotel on Whyte, responded to this reviewResponded 4 April 2014

Dear Dennis F,

Thank you for staying at the Varscona! We are so happy you enjoyed your time with us and hope that we will get to enjoy your company again soon!

Thank you for your review!

Sincerely,

Dawn Li
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
0.2 mi away
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
Metterra Hotel on Whyte
#7 of 91 in Edmonton
1,546 reviews
1.6 mi away
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
Fairmont Hotel Macdonald
#13 of 91 in Edmonton
1,132 reviews
1.4 mi away
Matrix Hotel
Matrix Hotel
#10 of 91 in Edmonton
2,842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Union Bank Inn
Union Bank Inn
#28 of 91 in Edmonton
358 reviews
5.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites West Edmonton
0.7 mi away
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
Campus Tower Suite Hotel
#4 of 91 in Edmonton
490 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Varscona Hotel on Whyte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Varscona Hotel on Whyte

Address: 8208 106 St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T6E 6R9, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#7 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
#15 Business Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range: £93 - £127 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Varscona Hotel on Whyte 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We believe all travelers deserve exceptional value, service and comfort and quality should come standard with every room. We offer guests a complimentary and extensive breakfast buffet each morning in our Hospitality Suite. Guests can choose from an array of both hot and cold breakfast items, prepared by our in-house chef. Piping hot oatmeal, home cooked egg dish and accompanying meat for those who appreciate a hearty breakfast to start their day. On the lighter side we offer a cold selection of cereals, yogurt, fruit, pastries and juices. Touch of a button barista worthy cappuccinos, espressos and lattes along with a variety of specialty teas are available all day. To end the day, complimentary wine tasting and assortment of appetizers are offered between 17:30 and 18:30. Also complimentary to our guests is parking, Wi-Fi and bicycle rentals. Varscona provides a warm and comfortable hospitality experience to travelers looking for a home away from home in a unique neighbourhood near the University of Alberta. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Varscona Hotel on Whyte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Varscona Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing