We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great 2 night stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Ranked #26 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Maryland
Level Contributor
75 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Great 2 night stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2012

Wife and I stayed 2 nights in the Roman themed room and had a great stay. Staff was very polite and professional. The roman theme room was unique and enjoyable. Very nice having ur own jacquizzi in the room. Only thing we might have done differently was choose a differt themed room for the 2nd night, but who wants to be moving your luggage around. As well as a guest of the hotel, you get discounted tickets to the Amusement and Water park!! We had a great 2 night stay.

Room Tip: Check the Online specials as they are often cheaper than just getting a theme room on its own!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank flames9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 19 July 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience; we are glad you enjoyed the Roman Theme Room. We do offer a room move service for guests who want to stay in more than one theme room. Pack your luggage, go enjoy the day, and we will move it so it is waiting for you in your new room. Please let us know if we can be of any assistance planning your next trip to Edmonton.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,057 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    337
    198
    147
    120
See reviews for
465
277
20
93
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mississauga, Canada
Level Contributor
133 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

There is no airport shuttle for the hotel. The hotel has a slightly dated feel to it. The "theme" of each floor is generally limited to the hallway. The rooms were large and nice. The elevator got stuck for about 2 minutes on our floor (the doors didn't open), and when we got off on the next floor and tried to walk down, foud the stairs were for emergency only. Wireless was an extra $10 charge: I understand not everyone uses it, but really? Speaks to the mindset.

We picked the hotel because it was at the mall - you pay for the location.

Room Tip: WE had the 7th floor - I can't speak to any other.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MeadowvaleON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We are in the process of modernizing our elevators and apologize for issue you encountered. The theme of each floor matches the theme room on that floor and we do provide daily room tours for anyone interested in viewing them. Edmonton Sky shuttle is available from Fantasyland throughout the day. We apologize that your stay did not meet your expectations. Please contact gm@fantasylandhotel.com so we can ensure your next visit meets your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prince George, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2012

The room was so outdated and the price was high. Stayed in a similar theme room in N Vancouver Holiday Inn and it was amazing. This hotel really needs to update. I would not recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't waste your money on a theme room see if they have any regular rooms that have been renovat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob-Jane R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We apologize that your room did not meet your expectations. Our Superior Rooms and Hollywood Theme Rooms have recently been renovated with more scheduled for the future. We would love to have the opportunity for you to experience one of our renovated room on your next trip to Edmonton. Please contact gm@fantasylandhotel.com so we can ensure your room meets your expectation on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2012

We just checked out from this hotel a day ago and I still have a sour taste in my mouth.
We checked in at around 7 or 8 pm , so no lines ! The front desk attendent gave us three different codes for free wireess internet ( he explained that we have to use different for each device) At the end neither of our cellphones could connect to the wifi. Laptop did however stayed connected for sometime.

The rooms were clean and housekeeping department was very efficient ( had to ask for extra shampoo and it was delivered in about 3 min.!!!! WOW!!!

On the arrival we were given bunch of coupons - 15% for the red piano restaurant - very nice restaurant ! I would very much recommend.

Breakfast at L2 Grill was quite nice, though the selection was nothing out of the ordinary.
We also had a lunch there - we did not try the stir fried dish, but the salad bar and the soups- were very delicious !!!!! Oh yeah and the desert - mouthwatering !!!!!!!

The service - was very pleasent.

The bad taste we had when we went to L1 lounge. Tastefully renovated, but lacks appropriate level of service. The servers were taking shots while we were waiting for service.

THE COUPON REDEEMABLE FOR ONE BEVERAGE OF YOUR CHOICE AT L1 Lounge IS ACTUALLY ONLY $5.75 OFF YOUR DRINK SO I SAY IT'S THE BIGGEST SCAM I'VE EVER ENCOUNTERED.

I was thinking it was a mistake and took it to the front desk, who weren't sure either and went to ask the manager - Thomas Atkesone - who said that in fine print it says : beverage selection is restricted.
I read the coupon one more time and while it does say "the beverage selection is restricted" it DOES NOT SAY " $ 5.75 OFF your drink.

So with such GOOD BYE we left FANTASYLAND :)

Room Tip: Our room was quite noisy ( because of A/C unit) , when we were opening the window. The window was fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tami07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fantasyland H, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 18 July 2012
We apologize for the concerns you experienced at L1 Lounge and regret that it soured an otherwise great stay. This coupon is given to our guests at no charge so they can experience L1 Lounge and is in no way meant to trick or upset our valued guests. Please contact gm@fantasylandhotel.com if we can be of assistance in planning your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Was there for a conference, had great time, however ($9.50 per day for internet seems to be outrageous, even worse went to Business Centre $4.95 for 15 minutes, just wanted to book seats for return flight. Most Hotels/Motels have free internet, and provide you with a code., at least Business Centre should be FREE. Would not stay again if I had to pay, but guess you pay for location. We did however check in at 1PM , One great thing the soap is fantastic

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank COP3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
YLW
Level Contributor
58 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

Good value. Beds were pretty comfy. Recently renovated but can't hide that that this place was once an 80's theme nightmare. I think it's time they did away with the mirrored jacuzzi beside the bed look-so not sexy.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jfuller77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2012

I realize this review is old (when we stayed it was a few years ago) but I will say we stayed in the Imperial Suite and it was dated back then and the shower was borderline frightening (and I've read it's only gotten worse)... I would say decor/atmosphere in general is very sub-par, the staff was less than average but what did make me very mad is the fact that one of our last nights, the cops came to the room next door and there was screaming and yelling and alot of banging and it went on for a LONG time.. By about 3am I called front desk to complain and they didn't offer to give us a free night, a discount, or even a free dinner - NOTHING! I mean, for the price you pay to stay there, I would have expected better service from the staff... And I certainly wouldn't expect such a terrible ruckus in a family hotel! You expect things like that from cheap motel's, not from what we thought was a reputable hotel! I was very disappointed. We were planning to bring the kids down for a week and stay here but after reading all the reviews and remembering the lack of service we received the last time, I think we will pass and spend our money elsewhere.
(and as many people have said hallways are dingy, small, not lit very well; elevators are outrageously slow and the valet is quite sketchy)

All in all, for the price you pay I would expect a decent staff, average (if not better than average) accommodations, more extra's (free wi-fi, water in the fridge, mints on the pillow.. anything really) - - You are literally ONLY paying for the location... You WILL walk away feeling highly disappointed! I have stayed in hotels a quarter of the price that were better taken care of, FAR superior staff and no cops have ever shown up!
Save your money, go to a different hotel and use the money you saved to shop till you drop at the mall!

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brad b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, General Manager at Fantasyland Hotel & Resort, responded to this review, 13 July 2012
We apologize for the issues you experienced during your last stay. We have made many changes over the past few years. We would appreciate the chance to speak with you about the concerns you experienced during your last visit and have the opportunity to show you the changes we have made. Please contact gm@fantasylandhotel.com so we can address your concerns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
West Edmonton Mall Inn
#70 of 93 in Edmonton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fantasyland Hotel & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fantasyland Hotel & Resort

Property: Fantasyland Hotel & Resort
Address: 17700 87 Ave NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5T 4V4, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fantasyland Hotel & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 355
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Fantasyland Hotel. We're located in the heart of North America's largest shopping and entertainment complex, West Edmonton Mall. The hotel features classically decorated rooms with TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, hairdryer, voice mail, clock radio and air conditioning. Choice abounds when it comes to dining with L2 Grill providing culinary creations that feature the freshest ingredients found between the East and West Coasts of Canada. If it is just a drink you are after, the L1 Lounge provides a relaxing environment to sit back and enjoy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Hotels.com so you can book your Fantasyland Hotel & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fantasyland Hotel And Resort
Fantasyland Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing