We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs to improve washroom sanitation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Ranked #15 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Needs to improve washroom sanitation”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

This is my third stay at this Best Western Plus. The staff are as always friendly and helpful. The facility is overall quite update. However, I find that washroom is progressively getting worse. The caulking is full of mildew .. quite gross. When my husband first got into the shower, he thought there was an army of ants crawling on the caulking along the edge of the bath tub. We're staying under Hotwire deal. Wonder if we're placed in a sanitation-wise inferior room because of that! A bit disappointed! By the way we're staying here until next Wednesday. Hope I can muster some courage to take the shower tomorrow morning.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Merchandiser3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Merchandiser3,

Please accept my sincere apologies for the issue that you had to face.

I would like to thank you for bringing it to our attention and since you had been staying with us I appreciate that you got back to us with this medium so fast and on letting us know where to improve and make our process stronger.

I have personally checked your room and I am with you that we have missed out on this and I have realigned the whole process to ensure that this problem no other guest face in future.

My apologies again and thank you for patronizing our hotel and I assure you that it won't be repeated again.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

843 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    493
    232
    74
    24
    20
See reviews for
319
162
42
229
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grangeville, Idaho
Level Contributor
70 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I stayed here during a recent trip to Edmonton. I was traveling with 3 teenages and wanted a place that had a swimming pool. Upon arriving in Edmonton we experienced trouble locating the hotel due to bad GPS directions. I called the hotel and the young man working the front desk gave me turn by turn directions and stayed on the phone with me until I arrived in the hotel parking lot. What a huge blessing his willingness to help us was. Upon arrival our reservations and check in was accurate and swift. The same young man checked us in. He provided us with dining options which were very helpful as well. The kids loved the pool and waterslide. I enjoyed the hot tub. Our room was very nice, roomy, clean, and quiet. The beds were extremely comfortable, and the wifi worked very well. There is a Tim Horton's adjoining the hotel which was a huge plus. Our drive to the West Edmonton Mall from the hotel was very easy. The only negative was no complimentary breakfast other than paying at Tim Hortons. With 3 hungry teenages to feed breakfast, that was a real bummer. All in all, we enjoyed out stay, and would definately consider staying here again if we are ever back in Edmonton.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel on the inside parking lot are very quite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear Sue L,

Thank you so much for your lovely review and I am happy that you and your kids loved the pool and other hotel services and amenities.

I will convey your appreciation to my team for assisting you.

I assure you that we will keep doing our best and keep on exceeding our guest expectations.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was absolutely shocked to find a complete lack of customer service and dirty room etc at a hotel rated 4.5 on this website. Staff were unfriendly and rude at check in. After first night, came back to hotel in afternoon to find bed made with dirty sheets (stained with blood - disgusting). Hotel pool deck was dirty, with clumps of hair and band aids everywhere. Never enough towels provided when room was cleaned for number of guests staying in room. Vending machine on main floor broken - when I asked staff if there was another vending machine in hotel to use they looked at me like they had no clue what I was talking about. I could go on - but really to sum it up I would never stay in this hotel ever again.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suki7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear suki7777,

Thank you for your candid feedback and positive feedback assist us in delivering better customer service to all our guest.

Please accept my sincere apologies if we have not met your expectations during your stay with us and I do see that lot of things happened which made you unhappy. I have noted all your feedback and assure you that I will speak to the concerned department and ensure that these issues are being taken care on priority.

We are ranked well in our Customer Service in all web site by our guest who stay with us and in our internal guest survey and we take pride in delivering our best to all our guest and as a one of instance we missed on making you happy.

I am also proud that in different guest reviews, my team had been appraised for the concern and care we show for our guest and my team can never be rude or arrogant to our guest and I can assure you on that.

I can accept that we did missed out on towels and vending machine faulty which is mechanical and takes time to get rectified as it depends on the vendor to come and rectify it and we are not qualified to do it our self.

I have also checked the sheets myself as I do remember your stay with us and it was not a blood stain and was a normal stain and our linen go through proper washing to make it hygienic for our guest. But yes my housekeeper should not have used this linen if there is small spot and I have briefed the concerned employee.

Our hotel is busy year round with lot of families using the pool and slide so I can also understand that one point of time it does get a bit messy but I will see that we clean it more often.

I am also unhappy that we were not able to make your stay better and if there is anything you want me to do to make you come back and make your stay special; I would be more than happy to hear from you at sandeep@bestwesternsouth.ca

Thank you again for this review and I appreciate that you took some valuable time out and let us know where we can improve.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bonnyville, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 11 August 2014

Hotel was very clean, beds were very comfortable, friendly staff at check in / check out. Breakfast was very convenient. Only concern was trying to find the hotel. Was surprised to see it located near a car dealership, so getting to the hotel, direction wise was not good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Cheryl B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Cheryl B,

Thank you for your review and I am happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

I am happy that we were able to meet your expectations and assure you that we will keep delivering our best.

Since this area is fairly new so direction wise you have faced some issues.

Look forward to see you with us again.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cold Lake, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2014

We stayed many times in this hotel and as usually the service from ALL the staff was outstanding. We stayed in many Best Western in Canada and the USA but the BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites should be an example for many Best Western out there. The kids love the pool with the waterslide and the breakfast is excellent. The staff was every time sooooo helpful when we had a question. This was the first time for my Parents to stay at a Best Western and they could not believe how clean and well maintained the hotel is as well how helpful and friendly the staff was. I recommend this hotel to many of my friends and they told me that they will be going back whenever they in Edmonton. It is nice central between the airport and the West Edmonton Mall many restaurants are close by. If you looking for an outstanding Hotel with a good price to service ration stay at the BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites.
Thanks again to the staff for making our stay so enjoy full. Your loyal customer Ulrich

Room Tip: The best Best Wester in Edmonton for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ulrich W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Ulrich W,

First of all thank you for this lovely review and always patronizing our hotel.

It is always our pleasure to have you with us and we feel proud that our guest have so high regards for the product and service mix our hotel provides.

I am thrilled to know that your parents loved there stay with us and I look forward to welcome them again with us soon.

See you soon.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 July 2014

The Best Western plus south Edmonton is a great hotel !

I am a sales representative for Alberta an B.C I have been to many hotels and this one for quality price is very hard to beat !

The staff is amazing, clean rooms, pool including water-slide, located right next to Chop steakhouse and other great restaurants.

Great place !

Room Tip: ask the staff they will help you
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellsback
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear bellsback,

Thank you for your review and staying with us.

It is great to know that you have rated us the best in Edmonton and enjoy staying with us.

I am sure that in future too we will keep on doing our best always and keep on delivering great service to all our guest.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

Among the many hotels in Edmonton we reviewed, we chose this hotel because it was ranked high in Tripadviser; it offered free parking, free breakfast and free in-room wifi; and the room seemed to provide more space for our family of four. Added to the above, the price was reasonable. It turned out we were not disappointed. We will recommend this hotel to friends when enquired.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 953francish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandeep G, General Manager at Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear 953francish,

Thank you for your review and choosing our hotel for your stay in Edmonton.

I am pleased to know that you enjoyed our hotel product and service mix and I assure you that we will keep doing our best to ensure that our guest have a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you again and look forward to see you with us again.

Regards

Sandeep Ghosh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites

Property: Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites
Address: 1204 101 St SW, Edmonton, Alberta T6X 0P1, Canada
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Edmonton
#4 Best Value Hotel in Edmonton
#5 Family Hotel in Edmonton
#6 Business Hotel in Edmonton
#11 Romantic Hotel in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 105
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sleek, stylish and contemporary, this Edmonton, Alberta hotel is located close to the city center's most exciting dining and shopping district and features easy access to the Edmonton International Airport and the University of Alberta. The BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites is in the Top 20% for Quality Assurance Scores for Best Western hotels.This hotel in Edmonton is located just off of Highway 2 and offers spacious, well-appointed guest rooms that feature upgraded amenities - like comfortable pillow top mattresses, an in-room microwave, personal refrigerator, flat screen televisions with cable satellite and free high-speed Internet access. Start each morning at this BEST WESTERN PLUS South Edmonton Inn & Suites with a complimentary full breakfast before heading out to enjoy a swim in our indoor saltwater pool - complete with water slide and hot tub - or break a sweat in our fitness center. This hotel in Edmonton is also 100% non-smoking and Eco-Friendly. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Plus South Edmonton Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western South Edmonton Inn And Suites
Best Western South Edmonton Hotel Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing