We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall a great hotel!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ramada Edmonton West
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Coaldale, Ab
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overall a great hotel!!”
Reviewed 20 February 2014

We stayed as a family with 3 children under 7. We booked the 2 queen bed suite and were very impressed! Great layout, rooms well insulated. Could hear some noise through the hallway door but not a big deal. The hotel was clean, and staff very friendly. The pool at the hotel was closed for renos, but arrangements were made for guests to use the pools at the hotel across the street, however when I went across, the pool was quite crowded.
Breakfast left a little to be desired. The precooked, boxed eggs were horrible!! On a positive note, there were quite a few other options so we didn't starve.

Beds were very comfortable.

Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!!
Only a couple blocks from West Edmonton Mall (5 min away), close to lots of other shopping, restaurants, etc.

Room Tip: Suites are great for families with small children
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sja454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    87
    48
    27
    24
See reviews for
111
32
7
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We stayed here for one night and were looking forward to it as we had stayed here several years ago and quite liked it then. This time was disappointing. There was constant noise between the traffic outside and noise from other rooms and the hallway inside. And the heater/air conditioner was quite noisy.

Breakfast included ham and eggs that looked like they were prepared the day before. We stuck to toast and yogurt. The pool was closed and the staff offered the use of the hotel on the other side of the parking lot but with the parking lot covered in ice we did not risk walking over.

Staff are quite friendly and called a cab for us which arrived quickly. If you're going to the mall, the cab ride is $7 and is worth it as there is a lack of cleared sidewalks in the area. There are tons of restaurants around and pizza delivery available.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, 26 February 2014
Dear Amy H,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We are sorry for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay. Your comments are highly valuable and will assist us in our continuous efforts to maintain and improve the service level we aim for. Rest assured, your comments will be used for review and actions will be taken accordingly to ensure similar incidents could be avoided. Thank you for staying and we hope you give us another chance to make your stay as best as it can be.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel previously for business purposes. I was recently here for a 4 night stay in January 2014. I had a smooth easy check-in. Room was large and very clean. Bed and pillows were comfy. No complaints!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ammorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I stayed in this hotel January 16th and 17th. Upon returning home by January 21st my husband started to see bite marks on his body. As we have never been exposed to bed bugs we were not sure what was causing it we did not become concerned until it continued. By Thursday he was covered in bite marks. After examining our own residence we contacted the hotel immediately and was told someone would contact me on Friday. By Friday my husband went to the doctor and found out it was bed bug bites. Thank goodness so far we have confirmed we have none in our home but the hotel still has not contacted me. I would not recommend this hotel as it appears they don't take bed bugs seriously and don't feel a need to respond to concerns of customers.

Room Tip: Our room was on the main floor but does not mean the entire hotel may not be covered in Bed Bugs
See more room tips
Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
6 Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, 13 February 2014
Dear Kim M,

Thank you for taking the time to convey your comments regarding your recent experience with us. Providing excellent customer service is one of the things we pride ourselves on. We would love to regain your faith in our hotel and would welcome the opportunity to discuss your stay in further details. We have sent you a private message to obtain additional detail regarding your stay.

We look forward to hearing from you and being of further assistance.

Sincerely,

Janice A
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
Level Contributor
107 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We spent another night here on a recent quick trip in and out of Edmonton (have stayed before). It's a convenient location for West Edmonton Mall and other services and shopping in the west end of the city. Prices are creeping up at the various west end hotels though and I think they're getting to be a bit much for what you get. The hotel across the street was $7 cheaper, but doesn't include breakfast, which the Holiday Inn does.

Speaking of breakfast ... they have the grossest sausages I have ever tasted! Super greasy but with no flavour - ugh! One bite was enough. The manufactured cheese omelets were also pretty bad, rubbery egg filled with a small blob of processed cheese, however, the rest of the self-serve breakfast was ok. There is a machine that makes pancakes, two at a time, cinnamon buns and muffins, yogurt, cereal, toast, juice, coffee etc.

The other complaint I have about breakfast was their choice of television programming in the eating area. It was a Sunday morning and instead of a news or weather channel, which could offer useful information to travellers (especially since the weather was bitterly cold and road conditions had been really poor the day before), the TV was tuned to evangelical religious programming. In my opinion, this is in very poor taste in a public area, given that even among people who are nominally Christian, church-goers are a very small percentage of the population and those of this particular persuasion an even smaller one, and that many people come from other faith traditions. Why choose programming that would be of interest to only a very few, not inclusive of many, and possibly even offensive to some?

However, a staff member came to get a cup of coffee at the same time as I did, and when I asked if the TV could be changed, it promptly was.... to CNN. :-P (There are two national news networks in Canada, as well as a weather channel.)

On the plus side, our room was clean and comfortable. Our room was quite chilly when we first entered, only 63F, but the heating system was easy to adjust (and not too noisy) and the room warmed up quickly. The bed was very comfy, with good quality linens, and a choice of soft or firm pillows. The curtains block out light very well - we overslept a bit in the morning because our room was so dark! WiFi was good. The shower had one of those "rain shower" (wide circle) shower heads and had decent water pressure, although it was a bit hard to adjust the water temperature by just a little bit. I had forgotten to bring shampoo - the amenities provided were nice, with a fresh, citrus-y scent.

The pool was out of commission when we stayed - a sign said they'd had a broken pipe.... not surprising, given the extreme cold weather Edmonton had had for weeks.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank krp329
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear krp329,

Thank you for leaving a comprehensive review, highlighting not only the bad but also the good. We are so pleased you liked the fine location of our hotel and the room accommodations you had. Please allow us to apologize for the issues you had in our dining area and our food selections was less than satisfactory. We also apologize our pool is closed during your stay. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. Your review will be used to consider improvements needed and we hope that you can give us a chance to show what we have done.

Sincerely,

Anthony M
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ROCKY RAPIDS
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

We stayed in a King Size Jacuzzi suite so there were 2 separate rooms. The size was ok and the kitchenette (microwave sink and mini fridge) was nice. The décor looked like it was from the 60's the couch had the same material (brown, shiny) that my Grandparents use to have. The bedroom area was cramped, there were doors missing from the TV stand/dresser and the Jacuzzi, although nice had only a hand held shower. There was no shower curtain and no place to hook the shower onto the wall. As a result it was very difficult to shower in the morning. For $200/night a person should be able to expect a proper shower. With a slightly different design there was room for one. The breakfast was fine as was the rest of the hotel. I have stayed at many hotels and we picked this one for our 10th anniversary due to wanting a Jacuzzi tub. Will not stay there again,

Room Tip: If having a stand under shower is important to you make sure you ask for a room that has one.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank returning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Ramada Edmonton West, responded to this review, 12 January 2014
Dear returning,

Thank you for taking the time to write your comments. It was good to read you found the breakfast choices commendable. I am sorry to see that you did not fully enjoy your stay with us due to the room decor and bathroom facility. Your comments are appreciated and will be used to ensure these areas will be improved on.

Thank you again for your review. We would cherish the opportunity to have you as our guest again so you can see how we are constantly working to improve our services and facilities.

Sincerely,

Zelyn N
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

Stayed in a kings suite and the room was amazing..very clean and spacious. It was a plus to also have a microwave available in the room. The front desk staff were very friendly and professional. Continental breakfast was great (had different selections of hot/cold items). Excellent location as well since its close to West Edmonton Mall, Anthony Henday and various dining options.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ikee_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Edmonton hotels
Place LaRue
Wingate by Wyndham Edmonton West
Place LaRue
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
Hyatt Place Edmonton-West
#12 of 93 in Edmonton
156 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Place LaRue
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
Comfort Inn Edmonton West
#61 of 93 in Edmonton
195 reviews
Place LaRue
Executive Royal Hotel Edmonton
Place LaRue
Hampton Inn and Suites by Hilton Edmonton/West
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Edmonton West? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Edmonton West

Property: Ramada Edmonton West
Address: 10017 179a St NW, Edmonton, Alberta T5S 2L4, Canada (Formerly Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Edmonton at the Mall)
Phone Number:
Region: Canada > Alberta > Edmonton
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #56 of 93 Hotels in Edmonton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ramada Edmonton West 2.5*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Edmonton West reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Hotel And Suites Edmonton At The Mall
Holiday Inn Edmonton
Holiday Inn Express Edmonton

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing